Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Farewell Clayton Oliver

Man of a poor ilk.

1 hour ago, Mickey said:

Clarry was not close to BOG. He had it 27 times (if he did that in 2021-23 wed be wondering what he was carrying) for a grand total of 270m gained. He'll cover Tom Green's contested possessions but not much else

He was good and was BOG, he was clean and made good decisions with ball in hand, he may not have been as dynamic as Trac was last night but plenty of contested possessions and set them up. Fonti and Callahan also good bu Clayton was BOG

Edited by Pennant St Dee

His 2-way running today was outstanding and his in-and-under work was classic Clarry. I still admire his footy, remain disappointed he left, but know he had to go. I don't reckon he was BOG today, but definitely in the top 5 on the ground. The hardest thing in footy is to actually get it and he remains brilliant at it.

As the year progresses my interest in him will fade a bit but just like Hogan, Harmes etc.. there will always be an interest.

42 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Haha yeah nah Pickett..

You have got your bias lense on with this one once again.

He played the stock standard 2024-2025 Oliver game of 17 handballs and just the 9 kicks to go along with just the 274 metres gain meaning he he barely drove his legs to burst out of stoppages or get on the outside for transition.

According to AFL ratings was the 5th rated Giants so not even close to BOG.

The game has moved past contest and all about transitioning and ball movement. Saw none of that. The long bombs to contest was still there so nothing has changed.

At least we saw a completely different Petracca the other night being so dynamic where as Oliver just did his normal thing which in all honesty he didnt hurt the opposition that much.

I disagree Daz, I reckon he was very important inside and unlike us of the last few years the Giants have plenty of outside power runners who fed off him.

Just MO

7 minutes ago, Temporarily Hopeful Demon said:

So he's not a supporter just because he said that Oliver wasn't BOG for a side that we don't even support? Lol

There was literally no hate in his post at all. Believe it or not, our club doesn't revolve around one player who isn't even with us anymore.

I Did say SOME posters THD. I did not specify this particular one. There are many haters however sadly enough.

10 minutes ago, Temporarily Hopeful Demon said:

So he's not a supporter just because he said that Oliver wasn't BOG for a side that we don't even support? Lol

There was literally no hate in his post at all. Believe it or not, our club doesn't revolve around one player who isn't even with us anymore.

7 minutes ago, Temporarily Hopeful Demon said:

1 hour ago, Mickey said:

Clarry was not close to BOG. He had it 27 times (if he did that in 2021-23 wed be wondering what he was carrying) for a grand total of 270m gained. He'll cover Tom Green's contested possessions but not much else

Spot on. These were the numbers he was putting up the last couple of years. Looks better when the side wins. It was a very solid first game at a new club. He didn’t break the game apart like Tracc. Lots of extraction handballs. His DE % looks decent because it’s all handballs. His handballs were stifling our need to play faster. I wish him all the best, but the media are just circle jerking because it’s a narrative that’s easy. They were the one with the torch on him for three years. It’s like they forgot all their reports on his misbehaviour and culture issues. The f..wi.t on Fox footy just said he must have been “miserable at Melbourne”. They never miss the chance

1 minute ago, Trident22 said:

Spot on. These were the numbers he was putting up the last couple of years. Looks better when the side wins. It was a very solid first game at a new club. He didn’t break the game apart like Tracc. Lots of extraction handballs. His DE % looks decent because it’s all handballs. His handballs were stifling our need to play faster. I wish him all the best, but the media are just circle jerking because it’s a narrative that’s easy. They were the one with the torch on him for three years. It’s like they forgot all their reports on his misbehaviour and culture issues. The f..wi.t on Fox footy just said he must have been “miserable at Melbourne”. They never miss the chance

The MFC have to be seriously competitive this year and win games, otherwise the Media will pound into the Club unmercifully all Season…

1 minute ago, 3KZ is Football said:

The MFC have to be seriously competitive this year and win games, otherwise the Media will pound into the Club unmercifully all Season…

I’m not so sure about that. They seem to be complimenting our reset.

No stressing everyone. I’m sure the future third round pick we received will be a ripper.

6 minutes ago, 3KZ is Football said:

Really? I thought most of the media had us around bottom 6.

19 minutes ago, 3KZ is Football said:

why are posters so fixated on the media. who cares what they say

19 minutes ago, BDA said:

why are posters so fixated on the media. who cares what they say

Well there is a 29 page 'Media Madness' Thread still floating around on here from last year..

So yes, I would suggest there are many folks on here who are still pretty sensitive to what gets said in the media going off that thread.