URGENT ATTENTION: Major Site Update Will Require Email Address for Login and NOT Username. Please Ensure Your Email Address is Current.

Posted

Hey Qld Demonlanders, what's the best way to travel from GC to Brisbane for the game?

I was told that I should take the train from Nerang station to the Gabba. Which station do I get off at in Brisbane? How long is the trip? 

Cheers and thanks. 

Posted

Yes, take the train from any of the GC stations.  Get off at Southbank Station and walk across the road to the bus station.  Buses take you right to the Gabba.  Train trip is about an hour, and bus only about 10 minutes.

That mean you're gonna be up here, Andy?

Posted
10 minutes ago, Vagg said:

Yes, take the train from any of the GC stations.  Get off at Southbank Station and walk across the road to the bus station.  Buses take you right to the Gabba.  Train trip is about an hour, and bus only about 10 minutes.

That mean you're gonna be up here, Andy?

Yep. First Dees game at the Gabba. Saw Brisbane vs Bulldogs a number of years ago but was driven there by my wife's family. 

How long is the train trip from Nerang Station approximately?

Posted
5 minutes ago, Demonland said:

Yep. First Dees game at the Gabba. Saw Brisbane vs Bulldogs a number of years ago but was driven there by my wife's family. 

How long is the train trip from Nerang Station approximately?

Nice.  It's almost exactly an hour from Nerang to Southbank.

How long are you gonna be on the Coast for?

Posted
1 minute ago, Demonland said:

Thursday and Friday for business and then staying on for the game. 

That was well planned!  Don't s'pose you'd have time and inclination to catch up for coffee?  You may recall I was involved in hosting the Demonland website a few years back.  I got to meet your old man around that time at a practice match at Southport Sharks...

Posted
6 minutes ago, Vagg said:

That was well planned!  Don't s'pose you'd have time and inclination to catch up for coffee?  You may recall I was involved in hosting the Demonland website a few years back.  I got to meet your old man around that time at a practice match at Southport Sharks...

I have a pretty hectic schedule from Thursday to Friday but we could catch up at the game if we're near by. 

Posted
7 hours ago, Demonland said:

I have a pretty hectic schedule from Thursday to Friday but we could catch up at the game if we're near by. 

No worries.  Afraid I can't make it to the game.  maybe next time you're in town.  Enjoy your trip and the game.

Posted

Maybe email Deb at [email protected]

Quite a number of the Queensland Demons group live on the GC and you may he able to get a lift up.

Posted
23 minutes ago, ProperDee said:

Maybe email Deb at [email protected]

Quite a number of the Queensland Demons group live on the GC and you may he able to get a lift up.

I actually don't mind taking the train. I enjoy traveling a train route I've never taken before.

Posted
2 hours ago, Vagg said:

No worries.  Afraid I can't make it to the game.  maybe next time you're in town.  Enjoy your trip and the game.

Your Demonland Membership should be stripped for not attending a game in your state. ?

Posted (edited)
11 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

And importantly which establishment do all the local Dee fans celebrate (or commiserate) at after the game?

Pineapple? Woolongabba Hotel? Australian National?

Good question, Ive got some work up on the Sunny Coast the following week and am heading in on the saturday to brisvegas and staying the night... ill be hitting the German Club pre game, I do believe Darren Lockyers favourite haunt was the Pineapple...something to do with ...ahh lets not go there. I believe Hunt of the Karmichael variety attended there also.

Wouldnt mind catching up with some fellow Demonlanders...

Edited by Danelska
Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Demonland said:

Your Demonland Membership should be stripped for not attending a game in your state. ?

LOL.  Yeah, sorry about that!  I know I am a great disappointment to the D'land Brotherhood!

I went to the Bne-Melb game a few weeks back.  Nice to do once in a while for the atmosphere and to barrack for the lads in person.  Alas, the reality is that my poor old eyes aint what they used to be, and I really can't make out most of what's happening on the field, especially given they always seem to play most of the game on the opposite side of the ground from where I'm camped!  End up watching the big screen much of the time to try to see what's happening and, at the end of it all, I've concluded I enjoy watching the game a whole lot more from the comfort of my recliner in front of the big TV!  (Extra bonuses are no queues for the beer fridge or the dunny!  LOL)

Edited by Vagg
Posted

Helensvale station to South Wharf. 

New tram on Gold Coast takes you direct to Helensvale Station interchange. 

2 minute transfer from tram to train. 

Train about one hour. 

Walk from South wharf station to Gabba. No need for bus. 

BTW, your entry ticket also covers rail travel. 

Not sure about tram - I chanced it anyway. 

Posted

Myself and mate heading up. May catch the first 4 or 5 races at Doomben pre-match if I can figure out the easiest and cheapest way to get from The Pineapple Hotel to the racetrack.

I got my general admission ticket on-line ($28). You'll need a ticket if you plan to take the option of free travel. From the MFC website:

GETTING THERE
To help ticket holders get to and from the Round 8 match between the Gold Coast SUNS and Melbourne at the Gabba, free travel is now available on G Link and Surfside Buses, in addition to free travel on Brisbane Transport and Queensland Rail Services on match day. 

Terms – This offer is only valid for the Round 8 AFL Premiership Season Match between Gold Coast SUNS v Melbourne at the Gabba on Saturday 12 May. Valid entry ticket/membership card must be presented to obtain free travel.

My friends who attended the round 2 game at the Gabba had to queue as very few supporters pre-purchase. That will certainly be the case for Suns supporters.

Tips for Gabba-Doomben transport appreciated (train or bus).

Posted

The honest answer. If it were me I would hire a small car. Quicker,; you can take side trips if you want; no waiting; don’t have to put up with opposition supporters on the train if things go bad; not expensive or not a lot of frequent flyer points; keep the receipts and claim on tax........better ignore the last point. I would never, ever do that.?

Posted
2 hours ago, radar said:

Helensvale station to South Wharf. 

New tram on Gold Coast takes you direct to Helensvale Station interchange. 

2 minute transfer from tram to train. 

Train about one hour. 

Walk from South wharf station to Gabba. No need for bus. 

BTW, your entry ticket also covers rail travel. 

Not sure about tram - I chanced it anyway. 

Radar, the rail station is South Bank, not Wharf.  Also, given the bus station is just across the road from the rail station, Beats me why anyone would want to walk.  It's quite a long walk, and unnecessary with the buses so convenient...