Posted
1 minute ago, Coup Cooper said:

Just quietly.. Liam Hullet is bigger than Hogan!!!

Could you do a training report?

Posted

My Brother just rang me because he had to tell me how well Trengove was moving.  

He was moving so well he had to ask one of the assistants if it was actually Trengove.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Coup Cooper said:

Just quietly.. Liam Hullet is bigger than Hogan!!!

Nah, a fraction shorter and not quite as wide, but he's a lovely mature size already. 

Posted

Viney just ripped TMac to the ground, smashed his head face first ala Ablett tackles.. Tmac grabbed Vineys neck and told him that's stupid.. Viney "your a sook go play netball" God I love Viney

Posted
3 minutes ago, Coup Cooper said:

Viney just ripped TMac to the ground, smashed his head face first ala Ablett tackles.. Tmac grabbed Vineys neck and told him that's stupid.. Viney "your a sook go play netball" God I love Viney

I love Viney, but TMac is actually correct

It is stupid if Viney gives TMac a concussion, or worse, a neck injury. Then we are screwed! 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Coup Cooper said:

Stupid by Viney. 

Posted
8 minutes ago, ProDee said:

My Brother just rang me because he had to tell me how well Trengove was moving.  

He was moving so well he had to ask one of the assistants if it was actually Trengove.

giphy.gif

Posted
29 minutes ago, Jaded said:

I love Viney, but TMac is actually correct

It is stupid if Viney gives TMac a concussion, or worse, a neck injury. Then we are screwed! 

yes,  but we need full contact training to help ingrain the hard tough attitude into this groups culture.  it has to become an instinctive thing first,,,  then we can moderate it just a little, IF required.

this club loves to become  'soft & forgiving'  on the footy field.. leave that for off-field....   Viney is right to ruffle a few frills around the place.

Posted

Train as you want to play.

Posted (edited)
25 minutes ago, ManDee said:

Train as you want to play.

Theres a difference between training like game day situation and trying to literally injure your own teamate to the point he misses a couple of weeks through concussion. 

Again you want competitiveness out on the track but not to the point your trying to kill a teammate. If Tom Mac got a serious injury out of this then i would bet every dollar coaches would not be impressed.

Posted

Agree with all the above comments, but I also think it's not a bad thing for the boys to be training with an understanding that they're about to get nailed to hone their skills and instincts.

Posted
2 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Theres a difference between training like game day situation and trying to literally injure your own teamate to the point he misses a couple of wesdeks through concussion. 

Again you want competitiveness out on the track but not to the point your trying to kill a teamate. If Tom Mac got a serious injury out of this then i would bet every dollar coaches would to.

dazzle, this is how our players becomes 'the boys', 'the lads', we make excuses for not going hard as we might hurt someone,,,, & that would never Do! 

We have to get back to being warriors on the footy field,    & stop muzzling our players from they're own aggression.   let it all hang out,  & encourage the aggression.  We should not be afraid of our guys getting tough & hard.

Posted
Just now, dee-luded said:

dazzle, this is how our players becomes 'the boys', 'the lads', we make excuses for not going hard as we might hurt someone,,,, & that would never Do! 

We have to get back to being warriors on the footy field,    & stop muzzling our players from they're own aggression.   let it all hang out,  & encourage the aggression.  We should not be afraid of our guys getting tough & hard.

Completely missed the point.

Posted

Apparently, the coaches have already had a word to Viney about his aggression at training, but every now and then he's going to transgress.

I reckon it's fantastic.  Imagine Brayshaw and Oliver seeing how Viney goes about it and the type of training standards required to be an AFL equipped midfielder.  I hope he doesn't change a thing.

Posted
2 minutes ago, ProDee said:

Apparently, the coaches have already had a word to Viney about his aggression at training, but every now and then he's going to transgress.

I reckon it's fantastic.  Imagine Brayshaw and Oliver seeing how Viney goes about it and the type of training standards required to be an AFL equipped midfielder.  I hope he doesn't change a thing.

I that case let's also hope he doesn't cause a player to miss a year.

Posted
Just now, Baghdad Bob said:

I that case let's also hope he doesn't cause a player to miss a year.

He's about to enter his 4th season and would have trained literally 100's of times.

How many weeks have players missed through his aggression at training ?

Posted
1 minute ago, ProDee said:

He's about to enter his 4th season and would have trained literally 100's of times.

How many weeks have players missed through his aggression at training ?

I don't know, do you?

Posted
1 minute ago, ProDee said:

I think we would have heard, don't you ?

No.  Do you think that the club would say "player x is missing 3 weeks due to a Jack Viney tackle"?  I don't.  We didn't hear that Rohan Bail missed 4 weeks when Dunny hit him at training when he was wearing the yellow "injured" vest.

There is sensible tackling and aggression and then it just gets silly.  As you've pointed out, the coaches think Viney gets silly.  I hope he winds it back.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Baghdad Bob said:

No.  Do you think that the club would say "player x is missing 3 weeks due to a Jack Viney tackle"?  I don't.  We didn't hear that Rohan Bail missed 4 weeks when Dunny hit him at training when he was wearing the yellow "injured" vest.

There is sensible tackling and aggression and then it just gets silly.  As you've pointed out, the coaches think Viney gets silly.  I hope he winds it back.

I do wonder how instinctive it is...

Posted
Just now, Baghdad Bob said:

Nearly every training session is covered by supporters who watch with a keen eye and some are watched by those in the media.  We'd know if it happened once let alone if it was a frequent occurrence.  You're overplaying the handwringing card.

As I said, he's been asked to tone it down, but I reckon it's fantastic and I love the standard he sets for others.

I'm not fussed whether you agree or not.

Posted
12 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Completely missed the point.

No I didn't dd36.... we are talking about Viney roughing up TMac & he didn't like it,   so maybe he needed it.  Maybe TMac needs toughening up ???  You see Tmac didn't get injured, but just maybe his EGO got hurt???

we need the gloves off... injuries are mostly short term,,,  but soft cultures can ruin clubs for decades at one time...

Posted
2 minutes ago, dee-luded said:

we need the gloves off... injuries are mostly short term,,,  but soft cultures can ruin clubs for decades at one time...

its like the Da Vinci code.