View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Bailey v Neeld

The point was comparing the season where the coach was fired to this current season, but just for you princess I've posted the 2009 stats, which are STILL way better than this year.

See my post above - possession v pressure - possession looks better stat wise but did it really mean we won anymore games?

It still took 3 to 4 years to see any real improvement - and see above again I am not supporting Neeld - just trying to compare apples with apples and not promote hate

Edited by Unleash Hell

Beat me to it.

2008, 2009 were bad, but not this bad. Not without lack of effort. And, like, tackling and all that stuff.

Yep, in 2009 the highest losing margin was 66 to the pies. Melbourne lost 8 odd games by less tha 4 goals. Things were not as bad as they are today. Wins over tigers, eagles, port and freo... No GWS or GCS in the comp that year.

The game has changed, however, our coach has not evolved with the game.

• Author

See my post above - possession v pressure - possession looks better stat wise but did it really mean we won anymore games?

Ummm well we won 8.5 games that year, this year we've won 1. So, well yes it does....

• Author

Now thats better - cheers Stuie

How many games did we win in 2009? 4? (sorry what year are these stats?)

Stats really don't tell us that much - possession footy was bailey's game style (can you clarify when those stats are from stuie?)

I will say this - I agree we've been really poor, if we can' address the possession issue and inability to score then someone else will be brought in..... which i think is a formality anyway

Look at the average margins mate.

Ummm well we won 8.5 games that year, this year we've won 1. So, well yes it does....

So you compared year 2 for neeld with year 4 for bailey

do I need to say anymore?

Neeld is showing more effort in desperately trying to lower expectations to save his job then the players are showing on the field, this is a very sad day for the once proud Melbourne Football Club.

Just thought it would be interesting to do a comparison between the season that saw Bailey fired, and Neeld's 2013 so far.

I'm not a Bailey supporter, there were obvious problems under his reign, but this is a shocking comparison considering his fate.

stats_zps4b453d8a.jpg

The most important stat is the goal difference, goal difference of 2.5 goals compared to 7.3, seriously is Neeld a used car salesman?

Look at the average margins mate.

We still got flogged under Bailey mate

I cbf - continue promoting your hate

Edited by Unleash Hell

• Author

The most important stat is the goal difference, goal difference of 2.5 goals compared to 7.3, seriously is Neeld a used car salesman?

It's actually 2.5 compared to 9.0

• Author

We still got flogged under Bailey mate

I cbf - continue promoting the obvious

Not on average, especially compared to Neeld.

Look. At. The. Stats.

Take the expansion teams away from Neeld, and things look really bad... Really bad.

• Author

The year he got sacked...

And I added 2009 just for you ya sook.

Edited by stuie

It's actually 2.5 compared to 9.0

Opps wrong number, well that just makes it even more depressing.

Whilst these stats look damning, don't be too taken in. A sample size of 22 matches (for DB) compared to one that is 7 matches (for MN) won't give you fair statistics: the larger the sample size, the more reliable the results (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Law_of_large_numbers). Because MN's sample size is so small, we can't really trust those stats when comparing to DB's, even when looking at averages, and even when looking for trends. Can anyone post the same stats for the 2012 season, so we can have a fair comparison?

The year he got sacked...

And I added 2009 just for you ya sook.

Haha i did laugh at that

Also consider GWS and GC last year. I imagine that would bump up possession, goals for/against count.

• Author

Also consider GWS and GC last year. I imagine that would bump up possession, goals for/against count.

We've played both of them this year already. GC beat us by 10 goals.

• Author

Can someone puta s**tload of gifs in here to stuff up the thread for Stuie?

Babu-Finger-Wave.gif

Edited by stuie

• Author

Are you racing to get post 5000 Stuie? Whatever "Conan" rubbish you've put above wont open for me.

Broken link, replaced it with similar just for you handsome

Stuie - you are having an argument with about 5 people on here.

If things continue the way they are Neeld will be gone.

You continually pointing out the obvious is not doing anything for this place.

Am I a Neeld defender because I would prefer his dismissal come later in the season?

Because I think that is where a number of posters are at right now.

Neeld has fans?

Well might you ask that.

Stuie thinks that anyone who disagrees with him loves Neeld.

So I guess we are all Neeld fans at times...