Posted
8 minutes ago, Macca said:

Dallas have really dropped away ... the Eagles stepped it right up though (as they have done all season)  The NFC East is decided unless something extraordinary happens.  For the Eagles,  it's all about their seeding now. 

The Vikes with Keenum are playing great too ... I keep expecting them to hit a snag in the road but it ain't happening.  They are @ Detroit on Thanksgiving (next Friday our time) and if they win that,  the NFC North is almost certainly done as well. 

Your playoff predictions enjoyed some vindication. Saints were pretty amazing. And Vikings looking pretty terrifying really.

And yeah. 6 games left. Eagles ahead by 4 games. That's the kind of thing you just never see. Especially as Eagles fans. They can't miss now.

Posted
1 minute ago, Dappa Dan said:

Your playoff predictions enjoyed some vindication. Saints were pretty amazing. And Vikings looking pretty terrifying really.

And yeah. 6 games left. Eagles ahead by 4 games. That's the kind of thing you just never see. Especially as Eagles fans. They can't miss now.

We're starting to see some real separation now ... and a number of teams have run out or are running out of games to catch up.  Packers are cactus,  Dallas are staring down the barrel and Atlanta need to win tomorrow to keep in touch.  If Seattle win tomorrow there will be 6 teams in the NFC on 7 wins or better.

Over in the AFC KC have got the staggers whilst the Pats & Steelers remain dominant.  Jags at 7 & 3 are a feature. 

Posted
14 minutes ago, Macca said:

We're starting to see some real separation now ... and a number of teams have run out or are running out of games to catch up.  Packers are cactus,  Dallas are staring down the barrel and Atlanta need to win tomorrow to keep in touch.  If Seattle win tomorrow there will be 6 teams in the NFC on 7 wins or better.

Over in the AFC KC have got the staggers whilst the Pats & Steelers remain dominant.  Jags at 7 & 3 are a feature. 

KC have surprised the hell out of me. Only team to beat the Eagles. They look impotent.

Posted
53 minutes ago, Dappa Dan said:

KC have surprised the hell out of me. Only team to beat the Eagles. They look impotent.

Their schedule isn't tough though ...

vs Bills,  @ Jets,  vs Oakland,  vs Chargers,  vs Miami then @ Denver.  They should win most of them ... 4 wins would get them to 10 wins and that would win them the division.  Reid's teams generally can find winning sequences so I reckon they'll still find a way.

However, they can almost certainly say goodbye to the 1 or 2 seed in the AFC.  And that would mean they'd have to visit Pittsburgh and/or New England in the playoffs.  

Posted
Just now, Macca said:

Their schedule isn't tough though ...

vs Bills,  @ Jets,  vs Oakland,  vs Chargers,  vs Miami then @ Denver.  They should win most of them ... 4 wins would get them to 10 wins and that would win them the division.  Reid's teams generally can find winning sequences so I reckon they'll still find a way.

However, they can almost certainly say goodbye to the 1 or 2 seed in the AFC.  And that would mean they'd have to visit Pittsburgh and/or New England in the playoffs.  

Ah I see.

Yeah. The gulf between the top few teams and the rest, in both conferences, is starting to show.

I think Rams aren't what we saw this week. They've been a lot better. I expect them to lift. Otherwise though there's a lot of NQR. Dallas type teams.

Posted (edited)
On 11/20/2017 at 7:05 AM, JV7 said:

Bit like the Falcons last year.. We hit form at the right time of year, snuck into the #2 seed by a missed XP & went on a run.. I can see a side doing that this year in both conferences in an open race 

The Falcons might have just kick-started their season after today's win.  You'll know your schedule for the rest of the season JV but for the benefit of others,  here are Atlanta's games from here on in ...

vs Tampa,  vs Vikes,  vs Saints,  @ Tampa,  @ Saints,  vs Carolina. 

Atlanta's destiny is in their own hands in terms of gaining a wild-card but they'd need to win at least 4 or 5 of those 6 games. 

Win-out and the Falcons definitely win the division (they'd end up with a 12 & 4 record with a better head-to-head record against the Saints and a better divisional record than the Panthers would have)

I reckon you can get to 10 wins and that should be enough for a wild-card.

It's do-able but Atlanta will have to recapture last year's form and have a fair bit of luck on their side as well.  Every game is like a final from here on in.  But right now,  the Falcons are the 6th seed in the NFC. 

I'm forever surprised how just one win can change the fortunes of a team in this league.  A week is a long time in the NFL!

Posted
9 hours ago, Macca said:

The Falcons might have just kick-started their season after today's win.  You'll know your schedule for the rest of the season JV but for the benefit of others,  here are Atlanta's games from here on in ...

vs Tampa,  vs Vikes,  vs Saints,  @ Tampa,  @ Saints,  vs Carolina. 

Atlanta's destiny is in their own hands in terms of gaining a wild-card but they'd need to win at least 4 or 5 of those 6 games. 

Win-out and the Falcons definitely win the division (they'd end up with a 12 & 4 record with a better head-to-head record against the Saints and a better divisional record than the Panthers would have)

I reckon you can get to 10 wins and that should be enough for a wild-card.

It's do-able but Atlanta will have to recapture last year's form and have a fair bit of luck on their side as well.  Every game is like a final from here on in.  But right now,  the Falcons are the 6th seed in the NFC. 

I'm forever surprised how just one win can change the fortunes of a team in this league.  A week is a long time in the NFL!

Yeah big win yestrday to keep us right in the hunt... 5 of the remaining 6 are division games which is unusual but like you said we control our destiny. We hold tiebreakers over Seattle, Dallas, Lions & Packers so that's a help. Funnily enough we were 6-4 this time last year but we have been nowhere near as convincing, still think we'll struggle to make the playoffs. Have to get that 10 wins as you said Macca which means beating TB twice and finding 2 wins against carolina/saints or Vikings, I'm not so sure

Posted

Didnt expect the rams to win but wanted them to play well and the did early until the fumble on the 1yrd line. Once that happened the O went missing. Or secondary is our weakness wheb wet face a good Oline. If brockers and Donald are not getting instant pressure the recievers of our opponents can do damage. 

Eagles looked bloody great and should make the SB. Wentz is getting all sorts of protection for good amounts of time.

Posted

Leaderboard in the comp

9 - Clintosaurus

7 - Go the Biff

6 - Dappa Dan

4 - Macca

3 - JV7

2 - Gorgoroth

0 - The usual suspects

Guess the Lines Thanksgiving Week Special With Cousin Sal Podcast

Only 1 point on offer this week but every point counts ... all 3 of the Thanksgiving games are being covered by 7mate whilst the middle game is on ESPN.  The pick of the games are the Vikes @ Lions & the Saints @ Rams.  As for the road chances,  there's a few there.  Good luck!

image.thumb.png.7f8fe92c4589cf8adbd82ff1cec96a7f.png

Posted

Tennessee

Panthers

Seattle

Posted
48 minutes ago, Gorgoroth said:

Wow the chargers pulled the cowboys apart.

Yep,  and how 'bout those Vikings! ... 9 & 2 and eyeing off a 1 or 2 seed in the NFC. 

And it's hard to believe the transformation in Keenum as well.

Posted

Its funny.  Keenum has done ndy as well as Goff but at a team that was meant to do well. 

On NFL live a few weeks ago thru stung Keenums praises but then said is he the guy to win you a playoff? Most thought not.

I think that as long as the Vikes aren't chasing down a 2 score lead after half time he will do fine. Their oline is very good, good revievers and a very solid D.

Posted
13 hours ago, Gorgoroth said:

Wow the chargers pulled the cowboys apart.

I reckon we can put a line through dallas... They'v been blown out the last 3 weeks. Not that zeke is the sole reason but you'd wonder if they had their time over again they'd have started he's suspension from day 1, their season will be over by the time he returns

Posted (edited)

Have been watching the third season of Ballers which focuses on the pursuit of  a team for Las Vegas.

Some serious money in that sport but I had not appreciated how much

This little snippet from the Washington Post on my Redskins.

According to Forbes magazine’s 2017 valuation of sports franchises, the Redskins are worth $3.1 billion — trailing only the Dallas Cowboys, New England Patriots and New York Giants.

Redskins owner Daniel Snyder and his partners bought the team in 1999 for roughly $800 million. Snyder also owns FedEx Field, which is expected to be replaced in the next decade

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/football-insider/wp/2017/11/24/redskins-call-threadbare-condition-of-fedex-field-a-non-issue/

Edited by Diamond_Jim
Posted
On 23/11/2017 at 6:47 PM, Macca said:

Gee whiz the pack are putting up one helluva show. Lots of people have Steelers as AFC championship team.

Posted
1 minute ago, Dappa Dan said:

Gee whiz the pack are putting up one helluva show. Lots of people have Steelers as AFC championship team.

Could do with a turnover but the Steelers having the ball here doesn't fill me with any confidence that we can stop them.  They should be able to get within field goal range. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Macca said:

Could do with a turnover but the Steelers having the ball here doesn't fill me with any confidence that we can stop them.  They should be able to get within field goal range. 

Still. Manful performance. Hundley particularly.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Macca said:

WOW!