stevethemanjordan 6,952 Posted August 25, 2010 Posted August 25, 2010 This celebration of MFC's mediocrity, an umpire cheating and a fluke goal makes me want to vomit even if we got Trengove. How about we see it as the crap it trully was rather than celebrating failure. I'm with you chief. Never will I cheer against a guy who kicked a winning goal for his side after the siren. Gotta love bitter Melbourne supporters. Richmond have got Dustin Martin who it looks like will be equally as good as Scully and Trengove. People forget that we had the oportunity of gaining Kreuzer by losing to Carlton all those years ago. Would have gone a long way to solving our ruck problems I would say ! People in glass houses shouldn't throw stones... Congrats Jordan McMahon on being chosen to play AFL. Great achievement.
Chook 15,080 Posted August 25, 2010 Posted August 25, 2010 Look at me, I'm a Meltank supporter! Go Jordan McMahon! :Puke:
Steamin Demon 401 Posted August 25, 2010 Posted August 25, 2010 I'm with you chief. Never will I cheer against a guy who kicked a winning goal for his side after the siren. Gotta love bitter Melbourne supporters. Richmond have got Dustin Martin who it looks like will be equally as good as Scully and Trengove. People forget that we had the oportunity of gaining Kreuzer by losing to Carlton all those years ago. Would have gone a long way to solving our ruck problems I would say ! People in glass houses shouldn't throw stones... Congrats Jordan McMahon on being chosen to play AFL. Great achievement. Yeah Chief !! But did they get two Dustin Martins ??? NO. FAIL.
Nasher 33,686 Posted August 25, 2010 Posted August 25, 2010 I thought the Jordan McMahon worship was amusing last year, but I reckon now that he gets way more credit than he deserves. It's just embarrassing now. I reckon we should just let this very forgettable footballer disappear in to history with the rest of all the other very forgettable footballers and leave it at that.
Carlos Danger 380 Posted August 26, 2010 Posted August 26, 2010 Look at me, I'm a Meltank supporter! Go Jordan McMahon! :Puke: Puke all you want kid, the fact of the matter is we could finish comfortably in the upper echelon of the bottom 8 with little gain and to keep folks like yourself happy. Or we could milk a bad situation for all it's worth and gain as much ammunition as possible for a premiership. You're chivalry sentiments are very nice, but me, I'd rather a premiership - by any means necessary.
Demon Tragic 0 Posted August 26, 2010 Posted August 26, 2010 Wow! The serious brigade are out in force today! I'm sure those same people will be cheering from the stands when we win a Premiership! Or would you all prefer we hand it back? Thanks for the help Jordie - your contribution to the future success of this football club will not be forgotten. Perhaps an honorary foundation hero title could be bestowed upon him. Lighten up folks!
Red Sox 2 Posted August 26, 2010 Posted August 26, 2010 I'm with you chief. Never will I cheer against a guy who kicked a winning goal for his side after the siren. Gotta love bitter Melbourne supporters. Richmond have got Dustin Martin who it looks like will be equally as good as Scully and Trengove. People forget that we had the oportunity of gaining Kreuzer by losing to Carlton all those years ago. Would have gone a long way to solving our ruck problems I would say ! People in glass houses shouldn't throw stones... Congrats Jordan McMahon on being chosen to play AFL. Great achievement. So, you denigrate so called 'bitter' Melbourne supporters and then totally contradict yourself by saying we should have lost to Carlton, to gain Kreuzer?
Chook 15,080 Posted August 26, 2010 Posted August 26, 2010 Puke all you want kid, the fact of the matter is we could finish comfortably in the upper echelon of the bottom 8 with little gain and to keep folks like yourself happy. Or we could milk a bad situation for all it's worth and gain as much ammunition as possible for a premiership. You're chivalry sentiments are very nice, but me, I'd rather a premiership - by any means necessary. I'm sorry, is it wrong not to want to advertise how great it was that we lost a game. Just as you all are, I'm glad we got JT, but I don't go shouting "ALL HAIL JORDAN McMAHON" from the rooftops because I don't want people to have any reason to illigitimize our Premierships in the future. And I don't think puking is chivalrous at all. And don't call me kid. And I hate being in the bottom 8. Wow! The serious brigade are out in force today! I'm sure those same people will be cheering from the stands when we win a Premiership! Or would you all prefer we hand it back? Thanks for the help Jordie - your contribution to the future success of this football club will not be forgotten. Perhaps an honorary foundation hero title could be bestowed upon him. Lighten up folks! I just think there's such a thing as taking a joke and milking everything you can out of it, to the point that it becomes a little bit much. And that point occurred about eight to ten months ago.
Guest Rojik of the Arctic Posted August 26, 2010 Posted August 26, 2010 This celebration of MFC's mediocrity, an umpire cheating and a fluke goal makes me want to vomit even if we got Trengove. How about we see it as the crap it trully was rather than celebrating failure. With you 100%. One of the darkest days in our history that the supporters of the MFC enjoyed a loss, and even worse, now celebrates the man that caused it. We should have been prouder than that. 150+ years demands it.
stevethemanjordan 6,952 Posted August 27, 2010 Posted August 27, 2010 Yeah Chief !! But did they get two Dustin Martins ??? NO. FAIL. Umm no. But neither did we..? We got Tom Scully and Jack Trengove. Time will tell Steamin'. I'm still not going to cheer Jordan McMahon for winning a game of football, regardless of the outcome. So, you denigrate so called 'bitter' Melbourne supporters and then totally contradict yourself by saying we should have lost to Carlton, to gain Kreuzer? Never have I stated that we should have lost to Carlton. I'm just confused as to why many on here aren't kicking up as much fuss about losing to Carlton if number one draft picks are such a priority. I'm sure we will end up a good side. Still takes more than high draft picks to win a premiership. Looks like Collingwood have a fair chance this year and I don't see too many top 5 draft picks running around their side. I just think it's sad mate. Everyone's counting their chickens before they hatch.
H_T 3,049 Posted August 27, 2010 Posted August 27, 2010 Everyone's counting their chickens before they hatch. I'm quite certain it's not "everyone" stmj.
Steamin Demon 401 Posted August 27, 2010 Posted August 27, 2010 There should be a medal struck in his honour! I agree, To be presented on national draft day !!!
stevethemanjordan 6,952 Posted August 27, 2010 Posted August 27, 2010 I'm quite certain it's not "everyone" stmj. Apologies. * Majority of this thread?
H_T 3,049 Posted August 27, 2010 Posted August 27, 2010 Apologies. * Majority of this thread? If you're talking about *here* (as in this thread), you 'might' be right. I interpreted *here* as in here at Demonland. Anyway, good luck to Jordan after footy. I'm sure the kick after the siren will be personally a *high* for him looking back on his achievements.
Crackers 67 Posted August 27, 2010 Posted August 27, 2010 I'm sure we will end up a good side. Still takes more than high draft picks to win a premiership. Looks like Collingwood have a fair chance this year and I don't see too many top 5 draft picks running around their side. I just think it's sad mate. Everyone's counting their chickens before they hatch. I agree that despite teh talent on teh list their is still a long way to go being a premiership side (as per St.Kilda's slow build up etc) but Collingwood do actually have quite a few high draft picks running around for them. They also have a couple of priority selctions as well. here is a quick look of some from teh last 10 drafts (4 priority selections) Josh Fraser: 1999 AFL Draft priority selection (Collingwood) No. 1 overall Luke Ball: 2001 AFL Draft priority selection (St Kilda) No. 2 overall; Dale Thomas: 2005 AFL Draft priority selection (Collingwood) No. 2 overall Scott Pendulbury: 2005 AFL Draft 1st round selection (Collingwood) No. 5 overall Alan Didak: 2000 AFL Draft priority selection (Collingwood) No. 3 overall Danny Roache: 1999 AFL Draft 1st round selection (Collingwood) No. 7 overall Ben Reid: 2006 AFL Draft 1st round selection (Collingwood) No. 8 overall Nathan Brown: 2006 AFL Draft 1st round selection (Collingwood) No. 10 overall Chris Egan: 2004 AFL Draft 1st round selection (Collingwood) No. 10 overall Steele Sidebottom: 2008 Af; Draft 1st round selection (Collingwood) No. 11 overall Richard Cole: 2001 AFL Draft 1st round selection (Collingwood) No. 11 overall