Nicknames

Posted

Hi there,

it's been a while since we have seen Melbourne play in fact 1 game in 4 years due to other commitments I have lost track and was wondering what the latest nicknames players are being called. Any help appreciated :-)

Can not wait until Saturday very excited and more so excited about the future of this club, a lot of that I believe has to do with the positiveness that Jimmy has bought back.

Regards Darren

Jame McDonald - Junior

Mark Jamar - The Russian

Aaron Davey - The Flash

Jack Trengove - I've hear a lot of Trenners coming from the crowd

James Frawley - Chip

Liam Jurrah - The Jurrah-caine (amongst many others)

Jack Watts - The Messiah

Michael Newton - Spud

• Author

Thanks for those, the ones I remember were

James McDonald - Jnr

Newton - Juice

Bruce - was either Cameron the Bruce or a deep slow "Broooooce" as he kicked

Davey was the same

I believe Bate gets - Master

Regards Darren

Thanks for those, the ones I remember were

James McDonald - Jnr

Newton - Juice

Bruce - was either Cameron the Bruce or a deep slow "Broooooce" as he kicked

Davey was the same

I believe Bate gets - Master

Regards Darren

Bate's is pronounced 'Mass - ta'

Add to you list

Jones - Nate Dog

Grimes - Franky

Bartram - Barts (although he did nickname himself the Junk Yard Dog )

Trengove - Trenners

Sylvia & Garland - Col

I call McKenzie Junior Junior for the way he goes about his footy.

I call Joel Macdonald Bruce because I swear they spend half the game passing to each other...maybe I should call him "the Old Brad Green'

petterd -the tard

spencer- spencil

Jones used to be the nuggest but me and my mates now belt out a deep Juuuuuuuuunes every time he gets it.

Jones = Chunky

Moloney = Beamer

Maric = Magic

Bell = Dinga

Trengove = JT

Scully = Sculls

Cheney = Fetta

Warnock = Knockers

Spencer = Pencil

Meeson = Moose

Bennell & Jetta = Benny & The Jet

Macdonald = Duke, J-Mac

Edited by Deefence

If you read the players twitters

Rohan Bail is Sword?

Watts is also Killer

Gawn is Gawn dog?

....from Ricky Petterd's and Jake Soencers' twitter

Bate - Master

Davey - Flash

Frawley - Chip

Jamar - Russian

Jurrah - Jurrahcane, Walpiri Wizard

McDonald - Junior

Scully - Sculls

Trengove - Trenners, JT

Wonaeamirri - WONNA

Jordie Mckenzie i call J D because we have so many bloody Maccas now

Don't forget Maloney-Beamer

Trengove = TRENNNNNNN in my books - just whenever he gets the ball.

Same for Scully - SCULLLLLLLLLLL.

Purely because they are both class.

Grimes is just an almost-orgasmic "oh yeah" or "Yes." whenever he goes near it.

Watts = Killa according to Jones' twitter - as in, I presume, "200 kilowatts... 200 killer wasps?!!?!?" add about that car.

Any idea why Moloney is Beamer?

Scully and Trengove are collectively known as the Pirates!

Scully is obviously SKULLS...

And Trengove is NO-R (say it with a pirate's accent and you'll get it)!

♥ THE PIRATES

I call Joel Macdonald Bruce because I swear they spend half the game passing to each other...maybe I should call him "the Old Brad Green'

LOL,,,, cute answer, Hasn't Greeny come a long way.

In his first game I accidentally called Trengove "Trenny", and now I can't get it out of my head, so everytime he gets the ball I yell out "go Trenny" and it feels kinda wrong :blink::)

My two cents worth

1 - "Knockers" Warnock

2 - "Chunk" Jones

3 - Clint Bartram "Simmo" Bart Simpson

4 - "Jesus/Messiah/Killa" Watts

5 - Gysberts "Giblets" or "Guts"

6 - "Masta" Bate

7 - Millsy

8 - "Chip/Chippa" Frawley

9 - "Noah" as in "no r" in Trengove

10 - "Bricks" as in: safe as bricks and mortar/Morton.. also built like a brick ****house.. or simply "Sticks"

11 - "Hightower" Johnson

12 - "Golden" Col... as in Gold n Silvia

13 - Jordie

14 - Dunny

15 - "Ricky" Bobby or "Diablo" (from the same movie lol)

16 - "Jackie Grimes/Frank Grimes"

18 - Greeny or Bradley

19 - "Maz/Magic" Maric

20 - "Judy" Garland

21 - "Dingdong" Bell

22 - "Beamer" Moloney

23 - "Junior"

24 - "Jurrah-Maaan" (I don't do Walpiri Wizard or Jurrahcane)

25 - "Fetta/Dick" Cheney

27 - "Jazz" Rivers

28 - "Joel MacDonald

29 - "Juice" Newton

30 - Tommy Mac

31 - "That's your ball Sculls!!" and "Hands Sculls!"

32 - Cam Bruce

33 - "Aussie/Wona"

34 - "Steffie" Martin

35 - "Tappy" our very own Chappy

36 - "Flash"

37 - Maxy Gawn

39 - "Nev" the "Jet"

40 - "Russian"

43 - Jamie "Benny" Bennel

In his first game I accidentally called Trengove "Trenny", and now I can't get it out of my head, so everytime he gets the ball I yell out "go Trenny" and it feels kinda wrong :blink::)

But oh so right!

Apart from the obvious which everyone uses,

we also use

Pettard - Number Plate since we own the MFC-15 numberplates.

Silvia - Roll used to go with (B)Rock before we lost him.

Grimes - Everyone's Favourite since everyone, commentators, reporters, fans, love him.

Jurrah - Walpiri Wizard we hate jurricane, cougar, they all sound fake.