Posted

Forecast according to BOM: (but seriously, how often do they get it right... it'll probably be thunderstorms)

Sunny. Winds north to northeasterly averaging 10 to 20 km/h tending southeasterly during the afternoon.

City: Sunny. Min 17, Max 31

Could be a toasty one! :wacko:

• Replies 306

Posted
Forecast according to BOM: (but seriously, how often do they get it right... it'll probably be thunderstorms)

Sunny. Winds north to northeasterly averaging 10 to 20 km/h tending southeasterly during the afternoon.

City: Sunny. Min 17, Max 31

Could be a toasty one! :wacko:

if us demons can't take the heat, who can ?? :rolleyes:

will never forget the day we played when the bushfire toll was mounting beyond anyone's worst nightmares...

could not bring myself to post a match report that night... :mellow:

this sunday will be different...

every error, every shanked kick, every missed tackle etc etc (your faults are many) shall be reported and the miscreant exposed... :lol:

Posted
if us demons can't take the heat, who can ?? :rolleyes:

will never forget the day we played when the bushfire toll was mounting beyond anyone's worst nightmares...

every error, every shanked kick, every missed tackle etc etc (your faults are many) shall be reported and the miscreant exposed... :lol:

This must have been Jan/Feb this year? I didn't even think of that as was overseas in the snow at the time... wow, would have been 'hellish' (for lack of a better word)

Judging by your enthusiasm I'm not sure I'll want to read the match report now! :lol: I haven't played since the forum game before that! (where we beat the Saints) so fair chance I'll feature.

Getting very excited now, it's been a long Thursday - looking forward to some sporting relief from the grind.

Posted (edited)
Heading down to an oval for a practice run and kick this arvo. Anyone know if any of the ovals around albert park or the junction if they have goal posts up?

I get the tram passed the lake and don't recall seeing any goal posts, but a few of the rugby posts are up from memory, so you could have pot shots at those.

Or, if you venture a little further into St Kilda to the St Kilda footy ground (behind acland st) the posts are still up there

Edited by the_russian

Posted

I just wanted everyone to know that as the coach* I will be working on a brand new game plan for this week's Lightning Premiership which, I suspect will revolutionise the sport.

I've been getting requests from players to play them in certain positions and I've been generally well disposed to all of these but it has resulted in a minor problem that I'm sure is not entirely insurmountable.

It appears that everyone wants to play in the forward line.

That's fine by me. I can handle four CHF's, three FF's, seven forward pockets and five or six HFF's but it means my new game plan will have to revolve around not having a backline altogether. I've watched many replays of the Richmond v Melbourne game from July this year and I'm reasonably confident that it's possible to get by without a defence in today's modern brand of footy. In fact, I'm so certain that it's possible that I guarantee that I'll have it all fine tuned by early Sunday afternoon at the latest. What time does the game start again?

All participants, helpers, spectators and opposition please take note. The objective of the day is to have a couple of fun games of footy in a good social atmosphere and of course to win every bloody trophy on offer. Please leave the strategies, tactics and game plan to me but could someone kindly organise a decent drinking hole for after the game and my final word to the team is please get off the fags cigarettes by no later than 10pm on Saturday evening.

* Thanks kindly to the board of management that has put its support and its faith in my coaching methods and pledged that it was 100% behind me.

Posted
wonna, with your enthusiasm, I am sure you will get elevated...

to the centre of the bench...

Please leave the strategies, tactics and game plan to me but could someone kindly organise a decent drinking hole for after the game

At least the coach has the same priorities as me ;)

Posted

Your wish is my command WJ...

The drinking hole for after the game is The Park Hotel 191 Nicholson Street Abbotsford...

I have spoken to the pub and we can use the big screen to reply the game as long as we have the right cords etc etc.....

They have a good pub menu which I am getting emailed to me tonight and will post tomorrow (meals run to 9pm)... I'm trying to organize with the publican some drink specials and maybe a vouchers for the BOG etc etc...

I'm trying the old line of if we get 30 people back there they knock a couple of dollars off the cost of a jug etc.etc..

If you plan to attend could you let me know on here so I can give them some numbers, they may have to put on another staff member...

Posted

"Your wish is my command WJ..."

hey, wolf, just remember who is paying your salary, mate... :angry:

WJ is NOT a trustee of the demonology forum footy fund... <_<

mind your language, mate, or you will receive a visit from the benalla bikies... :rolleyes:

Posted

'thanks kindly to the board of management that has put its support and its faith in my coaching methods and pledged that it was 100% behind me."

HEY, WJ, without redleg, we said 1%...

demonologists may refuse to play under your coaching unless game time is fair... :unsure:

we want guantees that demonologists we will be treated fairly on Sunday...

all our guys play competitive footy, and we are supplying your number 1 ruckman... ;)

please get back to me soon...

(cautious) regards,

rollo

Posted

Rollo, Jako's in doubt for Sunday, he injured himself at our footy training today. We will let you know if he can defiantly play on Saturday. You might like to give a heads up for one of the emergencies.

WJ, because you have so many aspiring forwards ill nominate myself for the midfield, preferably the wing. I have already started my pre-season for my school so I’ll hopefully be able to run out the game

Posted

Hey guys...

So my mate put me down to play a while ago so to make it legit I thought I would register for the forum!

I was just reading through the thread and some of the other sides are looking a bit light on atm. Any idea what numbers there at now? I'm thinking of defecting if needed but the quesiton what trade bait are they offering at the moment? Game time? Beer?

Posted

I'm happy to go to the backline if required, but there are no guarantees of quality!

Posted
Is there any public transport near? If we're going to the pub after, neither me or my mate feel like being the D.D.

Victoria Park train station is right next door and the pub isnt a far walk away.

Posted
Victoria Park train station is right next door and the pub isnt a far walk away.

Also, the 246 bus runs down Hoddle Street from Clifton Hill or St Kilda, or bus number 200 or 201 down Johnston st from Lygon St is another option

Wolfmother, I will be at the pub

Posted
Hey guys...

So my mate put me down to play a while ago so to make it legit I thought I would register for the forum!

I was just reading through the thread and some of the other sides are looking a bit light on atm. Any idea what numbers there at now? I'm thinking of defecting if needed but the quesiton what trade bait are they offering at the moment? Game time? Beer?

hey, greg, welcome...

I think only talkingcarlton may still be struggling for numbers, but thanks for your offer, we'll work it out on the day...

Posted

sorry you have to miss, Benno, and sorry to hear that jacko is in doubt through injury... :mellow:

Here is the updated game post…

Date : Sunday, November 8...

Opposition : saintsational, talkingcarlton, nick's collingwood site...

Time : 1pm - please turn up at 12.30pm for a kick and a stretch and a pre-game talk...

Venue : Victoria Park, Lulie Street, Collingwood ...Melway 2C K7...Victoria Park station is the stop after Collingwood on the Epping and Hurstbridge lines...buses along Johnson Street from Carlton to Kew, and along Hoddle Street from St.Kilda to Clifton Hill...

Format :

each game 2 X 20 minute halves

1pm - saints v blues

1.50pm - dees v pies

2.40pm - losers play

3.30pm - winners play

4.20pm - bbq/social

later - Wolfmother has organised The Park Hotel, 191 Nicholson Street, Abbotsford...

Players from demonland : Deemitch, pringle, grant, Doggo, Toot182, Zarate Kid 20, Supermercado, the russian, funky41, Fuzz, wonnabeeri, Junior, Charles, Heater, melbournefc, scotty, jacko, Jo, david, greg, Scully to Watts + 1 mate, dazzledavey36, sean, grimes4 + 1 mate...

Players from demonology : ruzzier, The Stynes Factor, Tassie_Dee, mat, nat, adam, clarky, H, tom2, jas...

Emergencies TBC : benn and matt (mates of Doggo), Wolfmother, Cameron the Bruce, MelbournePassion, Carn dees, daniel, Oxxx...

Apologies (players) : Demon Tingles(injured), Wise, mickrocks1, B20, 45hotgod16 (injured), Bucks-Fan, Dappa Dan, deanox, BL3281, enforcer25, tom1, BattlerBailey (injured), WattsHappening, BennytheJet, Benno ...

Apologies (players) not accepted : Freak...

Captains : game 1, melbournefc and Tassie_Dee and game 2, funky41 and Wolfmother...

Coaches : Whispering Jack and his (adult footy-knowledgeable) son...

Goal umpires : Brettmcg plus one mate...

Boundary umpires : 1 mate of Brettmcg (so far)...

Field umpires : 2 quality umpy's from the southern football league (thanks to to Brettmcg)...

Helpers : rollinson 65 (from demonology), dandeeman, Joeyjimjams Bringbackbarassi, BennytheJet, Demon Tingles...

Apologies (helpers) : Dee Knees, george-on-the-outer, do it 4 robbie, redleg...

We need helpers to bring extra water, and players to bring extra jumpers, sunscreen, water, extra footy boots....

they tell me hundreds of collingwood supporters turn up for these games, so I hope we can mobilise lots of supporters from demonland and demonology...

Posted

hey, wolf...

here is the post I've put on the other forums' sites:

"We dees from demonland and demonology have organised an after-match get together at The Park Hotel, 191 Nicholson Street, Abbotsford…

This is to follow on after any bbq or whatever at the ground so as not to interfere with other forums’ plans…

Hope as many posters from here can make it for a drink and a chat…

Congratulations to all the organisers on all the forums…

This event is coming together really well…

There are always a few people in every team who suffer from white-line fever, but the umpires will have the power to order players off the field for dissention, fighting, shirt-fronts, and over-aggressive tackles that may be OK in competitive footy matches but don’t belong in social games…"

Posted

So I can now 100% confirm

2 x field umpires

2 x boundary umpires

2 x goal umpires

Depending on how hot the day gets, we may have to call on some reserve players to help out on the boundary. We are all looking forward to keeping you in line ;)

Posted

Impress with the Umps brett, make sure them come to the pub as I will always buy them a beer after the bake I give them in games :)

Thanks for posting on the other sites Rollo, remind them that the game will be replayed as well :) just to stop too much bragging