Posted

Dogs up by 7 and should be up by a lot more.

Lake gives a free in the forward line, Roo kicks it.

I'm trying to think of a worse free, and I can't seem to come up with any. He bumped him and Roo tripped and fell (kind of dived)... I can't believe it. Going for the Doggies here.

Posted

....and looks as if it may make the difference!

Posted

Anyone who thinks we're going to play finals next year and are on the way need to see a recording of this game. We're not in cooee of either of these sides. And they're not even at their best.

Posted
....and looks as if it may make the difference!

Aaah. Thanks for that. Was still 15 minutes to go on the TV.

Posted

I hate the bullies I really do but they were robbed, the frees went the saints way, the second boundary throw before roo's goal off the ground which was touched, should have been a free to hudson in the ruck, the saints player had his arm over his shoulder and it was clear, I think the cats or pies will beat the saints, they looked stuffed and I would smash roo's leg from the start, stuff getting weeks, I would be hitting it constantly and dropping on it at every chance.

Posted
Anyone who thinks we're going to play finals next year and are on the way need to see a recording of this game. We're not in cooee of either of these sides. And they're not even at their best.

Brisbane, Carlton and Essendon aren't either.

Posted

Tonight proved to me once and for all that you need one, just one good tall forward to give you any chance of winning a flag.

The Dogs were supremely good in the middle and down back, but just kept chipping the ball around the boundary line, never able to find a solid, reliable target to kick to. Minson is as useless as they come, and Higgins and Giansiricusa (no doubt I spelt that wrong), couldn't get near it. It amazes me that the Dogs never chased a quality established tall more ruthlessly. If we were in their situation I'd want illegal deals done under the table to get a Pavlich or a Fevola to the club. Do whatever you can to get that flag! Instead they went and got Welsh and Hudson, both duds of the highest order when it comes to playing attacking footy.

It is staggering that they keep using the same formula year after year when history proves they can't get past this stage of a season.

If Nick Reiwoldt wasn't such a tool, a sook and an umpire's pet, I'd be praising his amazing effort, but he is, so I won't :D

At least we have nothing to worry about. Jurrah would have tore up the G tonight and Watts is the second (read: better) coming of Reiwoldt ;)

Edit: that free kick to Reiwoldt against Lake was the biggest farce I may have ever seen on a footy field. It was an utter disgrace. Oh, don't touch little Nicky he might break and start to cry :rolleyes:

Posted
If the Bulldogs had Jurrah they would have won.

Pure and simple.

I honestly believe that he could have won them the game, and it has nothing to do with my bias or insatiable love for Liam.

I also think that Jamar could have helped them, which goes to show how desperate they are for anyone who is big and can take a strong pack mark. Even if said tall is a useless kicker, the ability to create a contest and feed the ball to their smalls is what they needed. I'm staggered that Will Minson is so useless that he can't even do that, then again, I've watched Paul Johnson play for 4 years, so I'm not really <_<

Posted
Tonight proved to me once and for all that you need one, just one good tall forward to give you any chance of winning a flag.

The Dogs were supremely good in the middle and down back, but just kept chipping the ball around the boundary line, never able to find a solid, reliable target to kick to. Minson is as useless as they come, and Higgins and Giansiricusa (no doubt I spelt that wrong), couldn't get near it. It amazes me that the Dogs never chased a quality established tall more ruthlessly. If we were in their situation I'd want illegal deals done under the table to get a Pavlich or a Fevola to the club. Do whatever you can to get that flag! Instead they went and got Welsh and Hudson, both duds of the highest order when it comes to playing attacking footy.

It is staggering that they keep using the same formula year after year when history proves they can't get past this stage of a season.

If Nick Reiwoldt wasn't such a tool, a sook and an umpire's pet, I'd be praising his amazing effort, but he is, so I won't :D

At least we have nothing to worry about. Jurrah would have tore up the G tonight and Watts is the second (read: better) coming of Reiwoldt ;)

Edit: that free kick to Reiwoldt against Lake was the biggest farce I may have ever seen on a footy field. It was an utter disgrace. Oh, don't touch little Nicky he might break and start to cry :rolleyes:

If it wasn't a certainty before after this game it's a certainty now that they will go for Barry Hall.

Forget about Judd and Ablett Riewoldt is the best player in the AFL by a country mile he is Carey like. If Watts can be a quarter as good as Riewoldt he will be awesome.

Posted
I honestly believe that he could have won them the game, and it has nothing to do with my bias or insatiable love for Liam.

I also think that Jamar could have helped them, which goes to show how desperate they are for anyone who is big and can take a strong pack mark. Even if said tall is a useless kicker, the ability to create a contest and feed the ball to their smalls is what they needed. I'm staggered that Will Minson is so useless that he can't even do that, then again, I've watched Paul Johnson play for 4 years, so I'm not really <_<

I'll give you a certainty. Hall will be in a Bulldogs jumper next year unless some other key forward jumps into their lap.

Posted

Agreed.

The Dogs would be absolutely stupid not to chase Hall. They should try and lure Lloyd as well.

Hopefully they haven't missed the boat, because while their list is not on the verge of falling over, it is very very difficult to keep backing up and there really are no guarantees. I'd have loved to see them win a flag this year, as they are certainly the lesser of 4 evils.

Here's to a Geelong premiership!

By the way, Brian Lake is one awesome footballer. He is geniunly amazingly good.

Posted
I hate the bullies I really do but they were robbed,

RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME! RIGHT, IN FRONT, OF ME!

I would say that Johnson was great tonight. He did his job, while not being "tall" like you say, he'd make fools out of a lot of bigger players. Like Kosi.

The Dogs were supremely good in the middle and down back, but just kept chipping the ball around the boundary line, never able to find a solid, reliable target to kick to.

Instead they went and got Welsh and Hudson, both duds of the highest order when it comes to playing attacking footy.

Welsh, fair enough. Hudson is a good ruckman though.

Unbelievable. Absolutely embarrassing. I hate it when fans get all up in arms about umpiring, but with that decision, I'd have been inconsolable.

All up, I have to say, great game and all. Unbelievably hard game too. But like Finey said on SEN, that was torture for fans. I actually felt glad for a few moments that my team wasn't playing that. I'd have lost 5 years off the end of my life.

I thought the Dogs were marginally the better side too.

Posted

Yep, Saints got the better run from the umpires overall, no doubt on it. I wouldn't suggest any bias at all there, but just that's how it goes and it's a shame there's that little niggle on such an impressive game.

Saints had a 'Star' tall, not a 'good' tall. Although I supose Koshitknee is a good tall, so I guess they had both.

While we may be a long way off either of these teams now... (cue the ritual listing of kids with obvious massive potential)

Posted
Would they go after Roboo now?

They don't need Robbo, they have Johnson (who is NOT a tall, will NEVER be a tall and CAN'T replaced a tall).

And it may sound crazy but I was happy watching this game, with Scully and pick 2 safe and sound. The heartbreak of losing a prelim again, because you can't push your list to where it needs to go to win a flag, is worse than finishing bottom with 2 top picks. We should know, we've been there in 2000/2002/2004/2005/2006, and look where it got us!

P.S.- Hudson may be a good ruckman be he gave the Dogs nothing that they really required today. In fact, all 4 ruckmen had no influence on the game. Grant Thomas must be spewing :lol:

Edit: if Milne wins a premiership I'll cry.

Posted

Jaded, you can't argue with the footy Johnson played. For whatever reason he did what a tall was supposed to do. And he's been doing this for years.

As for Robbo, I reckon he's a better option. He's still got enough... Hall doesn't, and Hall comes with a big question mark over his temper.

Posted
Jaded, you can't argue with the footy Johnson played. For whatever reason he did what a tall was supposed to do. And he's been doing this for years.

As for Robbo, I reckon he's a better option. He's still got enough... Hall doesn't, and Hall comes with a big question mark over his temper.

I never argued with Johnson's ability. He is a very good player, but he is physically unable to take pack marks, and that is exactly what the Dogs need. Johnson can be a second forward option, but if he's your first, you'll struggle under pressure because you just don't have the luxury of pin-pointing passes during a final when the pressure is on.

You need someone who will take a mark when the opposition comes flooding in, when you win a contested possession and just kick the hell out of it hoping you've got someone deep. That is exactly what Reiwoldt did today. Not once did he kick a goal from taking a mark on the lead, instead he helped St Kilda beat the very good zoning set up by the Dog's defence.

Robbo can play taller than he is, and can definitely play taller than Johnson, but he still won't give them the strength they need at FF. He still can't beat 2 defenders, and the Dogs can't rely on Robbo's speccies to win them a flag.

Hall is a proven premiership winner. He is a tower of strength and will, at worse, give the likes of Higgins, Gianciricusa and Aker (if he plays on) many more opportunities to get involved when precise ball movement is compromised under pressure.

Posted

This is true. Was going to say that, too.

Whatever though. The top handful of teams won't be a threat to us in 3 years.

Posted

Go Milney,

Go Sainters,

What a lot of [censored] and wind.

Posted

Nick Riewoldt is a superstar and the best captain going round

the dogs lost to the saints three times this year and lost thier first final to geelong and you people think they deserve to play in a grand final, i dont think so.