View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

NikNat

What a stupid thread!!!

He's a third gamer, a tall developing player. Much like Watts.

And I bet the footy club went into today with one clear instruction for every player on the list...GET INTO NIC NAT!!! The club had a lot to lose today if Naitanui dominated, it would have increased the pressure on Watts and on the footy department.

I think the instruction went out to one man, Mark Jamar, and he played him perfectly.

Physically dominated him from the first minute, which is exactly what someone like Jamar (huge, limited skills) should be doing every week.

By the way, it will be a long time before Naitanui dominates anything (same goes for Watts). He didn't touch the ball for 2 quarters, and couldn't master a kick today.

What a stupid thread!!!

Agreed.

And clearly you'll be so illuminating on every needless topic involving Watts.

I think the main point is that NikNat's game today demonstrates the impressive depth of stupidity of Matthews et al in their cheap shots at Jack. A kid in their second or thrid game is so easy for a cheap shot. Again, that was Matthews' playing style too - great player, but never could resist the cheap shot.

Can't take any pleasure in NikNat having a poor day. And I'd reckon WC wont be unhappy with the pick any time soon.

BUT

I can and will take a lot of pleasure from seeing a massive FAIL for all the bandwagoners who had been tearing at Watts with comparisons to a couple of good quarters from NikNat.

And clearly you'll be so illuminating on every needless topic involving Watts.

I can't recall bagging Watts.

I did say at the time I thought Matthews was intitled to his opinion, whether we agreed with it or not and that Watts was disappointing that night and he's paid to say what he thinks. But people shouldnt be personally attacked for having an opinion, should they H?

He is seriously fast, he easily ran away from Bennell!

Moving the thread slighty off (the unfair) topic...

There was another backup ruckman of the future that I was interested in - he can play forward, back, but may need some work on his kicking.

Stefan Martin could invaluable as a relief ruckman for Jamar/Meesen/Spencer for a decade.

Does not bode well for PJ though, who has equisite skills, but turns the ball over far more than Martin.

Yep, Stef showed plenty.

Strangest run in for a set shot on goal I've ever seen, though.

Yep, Stef showed plenty.

Strangest run in for a set shot on goal I've ever seen, though.

It was pure dressage that little 'kick-out.'

Work in progress is Stefan's kicking...

One Trick Pony ?

Thought everyone knew that even before the Draft

His effectiveness will be determined by how much he learns to play football

It was pure dressage that little 'kick-out.'

:lol::lol::lol:

After watching today, very very happy we took Watts over NikNat.

He looks like a one trick pony who has a leap and was able to use over the kids. A big strong bodied Jamar jumps into him at the bounces and he was flustered and had no idea how to go about rucking against a someone who uses their body. My thoughts are that he'll be a flash in the pan marketing tool and be chewed up, spat out and forgotten about in a short career (but then again....i could be wrong about him)

he's needs to lose weight, he's way to meaty and yes he will be a player but no-where near as good as Watts

I can't recall bagging Watts.

But people shouldnt be personally attacked for having an opinion, should they H?

I can't recall you finding the need to come on to any of the countless threads to defend him either.

Depends on the opinion. ;)

Second game I've missed this year in Melbourne, the other was Richmond, D'oh!

I was driving home from hol's yesterday and had the misfortune of hearing the Couldabeens on abc. Should be the neverwere's or the noidea"s. That talentless moron Champion had 3 songs spruiking Niknat as the most exciting thing to hit football, which wouldn't have bothered me on its own, but everyone of them had a verse bagging Jack Watts and usually Melbourne. He'd be right at home in the schoolyard with Jack, then again maybe not, he'd be more likely the victim than the bully in the real world.

Yesterdays game from Niknat just highlights the over reaction to Watts first 3 games.

Both have shown they have special talents, but surprise! they are both young and inexperienced.

he's needs to lose weight, he's way to meaty and yes he will be a player but no-where near as good as Watts

Bit early to call that isn't it?

Not knowing what the future holds for these two talents, I did feel relief yesterday for one thing...

We got the natural footy player. With the vision and footy IQ that comes with that.

I just feel that in the last 6 or 7 years there has been an unwarranted obsession with turning athletes into footy players, rather than footy players into athletes.

Not suggesting NN doesn't have footy nous, but it is somewhat below our number 4.

He would want to harden up after today's effort, he looked as if he didn't want to go near the ball at the centre bounces.

I love our Jack, but the same could be said for him on Queen's Birthday.

Have you seen Naitanui?

He is 100 kgs already, and just about the tallest player on the ground every week. He would eat Watts for breakfast.

It was amusing how the crowd seemed to enjoy it everytime Naitanui fumbled or got tackled or whatever. The kid's got all the physical ability, but his football ability is the question mark. To say his skills need some 'polish' is an understatement.

I don't think any of us should be concerned with the selection of Watts ahead of Naitanui.

According to Connolly it came down to a decision between Watts and Naitanui. After Watts tested very well at the draft camp in terms of speed and agility, I reckon it would have been a pretty simple decision. Do we take the exceptional athlete with questionable skills and questionable football ability or do we take the great athlete who has the skills and can play the game?

I'd take the athlete who can play the game any day.

He cant even bounce a footy.

And he barely gets any touches. Its a pattern going back to TAC Cup, then to the WAFL, and it will continue in the AFL.

Just doesnt get it enough.

Will never be a superstar.

And he barely gets any touches. Its a pattern going back to TAC Cup, then to the WAFL, and it will continue in the AFL.

Didn't you write that he was or will be a superstar last week.

We should wait 2 years before we compare the 2. Leigh Matthews should apologise publicly to Watts for the crap that he has caused. No wonder he got sacked at Brisbane.

What a stupid thread!!!

And I bet the footy club went into today with one clear instruction for every player on the list...GET INTO NIC NAT!!! The club had a lot to lose today if Naitanui dominated, it would have increased the pressure on Watts and on the footy department.

Agree with all of that. I was surprised he was given greater umpire protection because there was a number of times he was impeded in the ruck contest a player who was not the opposing ruckman.

I think the instruction went out to one man, Mark Jamar, and he played him perfectly.

Physically dominated him from the first minute, which is exactly what someone like Jamar (huge, limited skills) should be doing every week.

Check the tape and you will find that Warnock was into him whenever he was forward and regularly impeded him when Niknat was trying to ruck.

Didn't you write that he was or will be a superstar last week.

We should wait 2 years before we compare the 2. Leigh Matthews should apologise publicly to Watts for the crap that he has caused. No wonder he got sacked at Brisbane.

:lol: who cares, as if you really would want him to do that?

YM is right, (yeah, I'm surprised as well), Naita has always had issues with bouncing the ball. Basic skill error, bit of a worry.

I love watching him play but as well as the above one other thing stood out to me on the weekend, he doesn't know where to run. He's very reactive in he chases the ball around, he doesn't have the natural knowledge of where the ball is going to (or could) go. In comparison Watts is demonstrating even now that he knows when to lead and the right places to go. His timing is miles in front, even though he's far behind development wise (if that makes sense).

At the time I was concerned that we may have made an error, but since then nothing has happened for that reasoning to continue.