Anyone for cricket?

You dont know and its not being argued that he is not good enough. The issue is there is no ready replacement.

Selection is a process not based on the number of head you chop.

The contracts are given to the ACB assessed 25 best players in the country. The selectors can choose a Test side from that group or from outside that group. The last one was Peter Siddle.

The rest you write is crap based on your own lack of understanding of the process. The current Test team is a reflection of the stock of players in Australian cricket.

Mental toughness??? I would have thought Hussey has show more mental toughness than most others. Which raw kid has developed mental toughness at 20 or younger?? :wacko:

What you write above RR is no more than your own opinion, once again & not the Gospel. Unless of course you are an ACB selector yourelf, and therefore happy to protect your own position!! B)

Michael Hussey has always had mental toughness yes, hence the name Mr Cricket-but that does not mean he is immune from retirement when the time is right. Totally separate situation there RR

You say above Hauritz is not good enough, but because there is no ready made replacement he should keep his baggy green. Is that the fault of 20/20 rubbish or has sheffield shield stocks fallen away??

Because i haven't thought Hauritz is up to it for quite a while. Not a good outlook for the country is it. Pakistan have these problems because their country is stuffed, Australia is not in that position.

Say what you like about the Golden Contracts, i still do not agree with the concept of creating Fat Cats. Not healthy in the long term.

What you write above RR is no more than your own opinion, once again & not the Gospel. Unless of course you are an ACB selector yourelf, and therefore happy to protect your own position!! B)

I am not. But if I am going to criticise. I make sure I have a sound grasp of the facts. You dont and repeatedly reflect it.

Michael Hussey has always had mental toughness yes, hence the name Mr Cricket-but that does not mean he is immune from retirement when the time is right. Totally separate situation there RR

You value toughness. I dont think there is a mental tougher cricketer around despite his indifferent performances. I have never said he was immune from the axe. You cant follow another person's point of view.

You say above Hauritz is not good enough, but because there is no ready made replacement he should keep his baggy green. Is that the fault of 20/20 rubbish or has sheffield shield stocks fallen away??

Wrong again. Australia has decided it needs to play a spinner. Hauritz is the best credentialled out of an ordinary bunch. I have already said he has bowled himself out of the team. But who reasonably replaces him? The issue preceeded 20/20. Its gthe quality of the top level in the Shield.

Because i haven't thought Hauritz is up to it for quite a while. Not a good outlook for the country is it. Pakistan have these problems because their country is stuffed, Australia is not in that position.

No one think Hauritz is up to it. i dont know why you tried to ping other posters with favouring. I am not sure what long bow you are trying to pull with the Pakistan comparison. The quality of your Test side should not be a factor of the economic well being of the country.

Say what you like about the Golden Contracts, i still do not agree with the concept of creating Fat Cats. Not healthy in the long term.

It does not create fat cats at all. Its provides fair rewards for the sportsman that bring the spectators through the turnstiles. If it was not for the rewards in the game players would not stay in it. Keep that fat cats view for talk back radio where they will think your perceptive with high values if you spout that. Couple it with Play the Kids. Eureka that caller has all the answers! :wacko:

In general, Australia have bowled poorly in this Test. Hauritz the worst of them. George did little to excite. Johnson was hit and miss. Hilfy had some flat spell.

Harsh on Hilfy who at times looked the only bowler likely of taking a wicket.

Time some heat was put on Johnson IMO. Far too erratic, sprays it too wide too often. Relies on his angle and pace, doesn't have a lot of variation (e.g. in/out cutters, slower balls, swing). Isn't taking the wickets we need him to. Wastes the new ball.

Edit: And his batting has gone nowhere. There was all this (premature) talk about him batting in the top 6 after the South Africa tour. But he's hardly scored a run since then. Not that he's there to bat, but it isn't helping.

I am also concerned about the middle order. Not just Hussey and North but also Clarke. Clarke is a VG bat and made a century on debut in India. He did not look like it this time around. He has not been the same since he had that bingle in that car.

Yes but there's a big, big difference between Hussey/North and Clarke. Clarke has been in superb form for most of the last 18 months. Through the Ashes he was our leading run-scorer, and through the home summer he was in command of WI and Pakistan (not the highest quality opposition, but North struggled against them). He scored back to back 160+ scores earlier this year. Whether it's the move to 4, the Indian conditions, the upcoming Ashes or something else, I have a lot more confidence in Clarke making runs this summer than North or Hussey.

Hussey is living on past credits, credits which he is rapidly running out of. According to the FTP, we have a series against Bangladesh in April/May next year. I seriously doubt Hussey will be there, and Hauritz and North might not be either.

Interestingly, the ICC has approved a Test Championship, whereby after a 4 year period the top four teams qualify for the 'finals'. Currently we wouldn't make the finals as we are 5th. Who'd have believed you if you'd told them that 2 years ago?

Edited by titan_uranus

Hodge hit his peak at a time when Australian cricket was strong. Unfortunately as the positions opened up, Hussey was well on the wrong side of 30. And they may have played a kid instead (Michael Clarke??)

I agree that timing is everything in terms of when positions become available. Hodgey was stiff, but was still disguarded very quickly (Jamie Siddons was even more stiff with his timing) What gets up my Cruits is that some players are given a lot more time to flourish than others? Thus my Selectors being more transparent comment. Tell the Cricket loving public what the long term plans are so that we can all understand the logic of decisions.

It is something that the MFC have done really well, we can still crack it from time to time, but yes we know and understand the long term Template. Cricket lags badly in this dept.

Harsh on Hilfy who at times looked the only bowler likely of taking a wicket.

Time some heat was put on Johnson IMO. Far too erratic, sprays it too wide too often. Relies on his angle and pace, doesn't have a lot of variation (e.g. in/out cutters, slower balls, swing). Isn't taking the wickets we need him to. Wastes the new ball.

Edit: And his batting has gone nowhere. There was all this (premature) talk about him batting in the top 6 after the South Africa tour. But he's hardly scored a run since then. Not that he's there to bat, but it isn't helping.

Hilfy was the best of the bowlers but a little short. Johnson is not a new ball bowler but did so because we played George. I am surprised about the bat in the top 6 comment. I have never hear that unless its a WYL special.

Yes but there's a big, big difference between Hussey/North and Clarke. Clarke has been in superb form for most of the last 18 months. Through the Ashes he was our leading run-scorer, and through the home summer he was in command of WI and Pakistan (not the highest quality opposition, but North struggled against them). He scored back to back 160+ scores earlier this year. Whether it's the move to 4, the Indian conditions, the upcoming Ashes or something else, I have a lot more confidence in Clarke making runs this summer than North or Hussey.

Hussey is living on past credits, credits which he is rapidly running out of. According to the FTP, we have a series against Bangladesh in April/May next year. I seriously doubt Hussey will be there, and Hauritz and North might not be either.

Interestingly, the ICC has approved a Test Championship, whereby after a 4 year period the top four teams qualify for the 'finals'. Currently we wouldn't make the finals as we are 5th. Who'd have believed you if you'd told them that 2 years ago?

Clarkes home form was patchy but he did have the 160 in England. But he looked awful in India. He is no douby better than Hussey or North.

Regardless of the Ashes outcome, Ponting Hussey and Katich would have been moved on regardless.

I am not worried about the Test rankings as the difference between 1 and 5 aint that much.

What gets up my Cruits is that some players are given a lot more time to flourish than others? Thus my Selectors being more transparent comment. Tell the Cricket loving public what the long term plans are so that we can all understand the logic of decisions.

It is something that the MFC have done really well, we can still crack it from time to time, but yes we know and understand the long term Template. Cricket lags badly in this dept.

Thats garbage. The ACB selectors have no need to tell the public anything as much as MFC does. MFC does not do it well. They fluff injury lists, give blank media conferences and mangle training times and venues. MFC have no need to tell us anything about selections, game plans or other strategies. The ACB have no need to do so either. Even if they did most cricket followers wouldn't have a clue.

If you really want to understand the issues faced by a Test selector, chase up a book by John Benaud (ex Aust cricketer, brother of Richie and ex Test selector). It might give you some insights that you tragically lack. And you might be a little more circumspect in making silly broad brush criticisms that lack any substance.

Thats garbage. The ACB selectors have no need to tell the public anything as much as MFC does. MFC does not do it well. They fluff injury lists, give blank media conferences and mangle training times and venues. MFC have no need to tell us anything about selections, game plans or other strategies. The ACB have no need to do so either. Even if they did most cricket followers wouldn't have a clue.

If you really want to understand the issues faced by a Test selector, chase up a book by John Benaud (ex Aust cricketer, brother of Richie and ex Test selector). It might give you some insights that you tragically lack. And you might be a little more circumspect in making silly broad brush criticisms that lack any substance.

RR you and i must come from different planets i think, If you don't believe the MFC has become more Transparent & open with its members since the new board took over, than before then we obviously follow different Teams.

I would prefer the ACB do the same type of thing, But it's just my opinion.

If the Cricket over this coming summer is anything like what we saw this week, then i & many others i suspect will not watch, as i would prefer to enjoy my summer than be [censored] off.

Ch 9 must be a tad worried as they have scheduled a lot of air time to cricket, & if the Poms start thrashing us, they will lose wheelbarrows of cash. So it may be in the ACB's interests to be a little more open. Let us see.

Btw. i am well aware of who & what John Benaud is....but i will keep an eye out for the book, could be a very interesting read.

Sportsbooks in the city have it, do you know??

RR you and i must come from different planets i think, If you don't believe the MFC has become more Transparent & open with its members since the new board took over, than before then we obviously follow different Teams.

I would prefer the ACB do the same type of thing, But it's just my opinion.

MFC like any professional sporting team do not reveal their selection and list planning strategies. MFC haven't done it , wont do it and shouldn't do it. If you have ever heard Bailey speak, he says nothing new in the press conferences. It got nothing to do with old Board vs new Board. Once again you try and divert the subject to avoid being shown up. BTW, I am from Earth, which galaxy are you from?

If the Cricket over this coming summer is anything like what we saw this week, then i & many others i suspect will not watch, as i would prefer to enjoy my summer than be [censored] off.

Best not watch what you dont understand.

Ch 9 must be a tad worried as they have scheduled a lot of air time to cricket, & if the Poms start thrashing us, they will lose wheelbarrows of cash. So it may be in the ACB's interests to be a little more open. Let us see.

Bullsh!t. It will be a ratings bonanza for them after the fluff and rubbish last summer. Its got nothing to do with transparency by the selectors. Its all about the win-loss on the field. Its going to be difficult no matter who the selectors choose for Australia.

Btw. i am well aware of who & what John Benaud is....but i will keep an eye out for the book, could be a very interesting read.

Sportsbooks in the city have it, do you know??

I thought I'd better explain anyhow on Benaud. Dont know where you get it..a library.. Explains alot about the opaqueness of selection. Its not as cut and dry as you try to pretend it is.

MFC like any professional sporting team do not reveal their selection and list planning strategies. MFC haven't done it , wont do it and shouldn't do it. If you have ever heard Bailey speak, he says nothing new in the press conferences. It got nothing to do with old Board vs new Board. Once again you try and divert the subject to avoid being shown up. BTW, I am from Earth, which galaxy are you from?

Best not watch what you dont understand.

Bullsh!t. It will be a ratings bonanza for them after the fluff and rubbish last summer. Its got nothing to do with transparency by the selectors. Its all about the win-loss on the field. Its going to be difficult no matter who the selectors choose for Australia.

I thought I'd better explain anyhow on Benaud. Dont know where you get it..a library.. Explains alot about the opaqueness of selection. Its not as cut and dry as you try to pretend it is.

Whiteboard Wednesday has been a revelation to me, You may have already known about a lot of those inner workings- i was not. Particularly the episode on list management.

That is the type of transparency i am talking about. Supporters feel way more involved now.

You can even read it on here. My Dad who is 75 next week loves getting Text messages from Stynesy.

Cam Schwab Twitters it all helps. The ACB selectors are in a Dark cave compared to this. It's just an observation i have been really impressed with over the last 3 years.

Let me say this. I really hope the Aussies fire up over summer. I want them to play well, but right now there doesn't seem a lot of direction, if i am wrong i am sure you and others her will tell me!! B)

Whiteboard Wednesday has been a revelation to me, You may have already known about a lot of those inner workings- i was not. Particularly the episode on list management.

That is the type of transparency i am talking about. Supporters feel way more involved now.

You can even read it on here. My Dad who is 75 next week loves getting Text messages from Stynesy.

Cam Schwab Twitters it all helps. The ACB selectors are in a Dark cave compared to this. It's just an observation i have been really impressed with over the last 3 years.

Let me say this. I really hope the Aussies fire up over summer. I want them to play well, but right now there doesn't seem a lot of direction, if i am wrong i am sure you and others her will tell me!! B)

Marvellous. But at these info sessions, they are not giving any secrets away. Much of this is the confirmation of the bleedin obvious.

Ok so you love the touchy feely texts and emails that actually say little.

The ACB selectors have no such need to do that. If your gripe about "transparency" is about that then the slagging off at Test selectors/selection is at the far galaxy of the absurd.

And no one disagrees about Australia firing up this summer and that it is not playing well. Your delusional if you believe that your view here is different to what everyone else can see.

If Aust do perform badly or lose the Ashes at home, I'm sure you'll come out with some self stroking post that says " I've been saying this all slong". Fact you havent. You have said little of substance on the matter and have been pinged for it.

RR you and i must come from different planets i think

Crikey WYL, good for you. You've actually said something of substance. Pop the champagne ! I'm tipping you're from the milky way. ;)

PS. Still waiting on who you would replace for Hussey. And your own Australian XI side. You're awfully selective on what you intend to reply to. I won't say too much more because I really want you to focus on this task I'm setting you. If time permits give good reason as to "why" for your replacement with maybe some stats to support this. Cheers. In the meantime, I'll do mine and get back soon enough. :)

I am surprised about the bat in the top 6 comment. I have never hear that unless its a WYL special.

Talked about here: http://www.cricinfo.com/rsavaus2009/content/story/396407.html

Doesn't actually say he could bat in the top six, but I definitely remember reading it. Probably some knee-jerk reaction from a HUN journalist. Or WYL.

Either way, he's fallen a long way away from where he was back then.

Was anyone else watching Demon Brad Hodge tonight up at the Gabba?? One of the great innings in limited overs I`ve seen. Surely this bloke must get a call-up for either one dayers or 20/20. His form is as good as anyone in the world. Singlehandedly won the match tonight from a very precarious position

Crikey WYL, good for you. You've actually said something of substance. Pop the champagne ! I'm tipping you're from the milky way. ;)

PS. Still waiting on who you would replace for Hussey. And your own Australian XI side. You're awfully selective on what you intend to reply to. I won't say too much more because I really want you to focus on this task I'm setting you. If time permits give good reason as to "why" for your replacement with maybe some stats to support this. Cheers. In the meantime, I'll do mine and get back soon enough. :)

Maybe i am from the milky way HT i definately don't come from the same planet as the Australian Selectors, and for that i am proud..

Brad Hodge still Rocks, but sadly his address is Victorian.

Unreal mate, unreal.

140 (not out) off 121 balls. Sensational innings. All too familiar. Hodgy loves the Gabba.

He was dropped on 15.

Maybe i am from the milky way HT i definately don't come from the same planet as the Australian Selectors, and for that i am proud..

Still waiting WYL ....

My side for the Ashes:

Katich

Watson

Ponting

Clarke

Hussey

McDonald

Paine

Hauritz

Johnson

Hilfenhaus

Bollinger

*McDonald for North. Despite North scoring a century in the last test v India, I think McDonald can provide with the bat where North has failed on more occassions than not. McDonald also provides the Captain a bit with the ball, changes up the speed as a medium pace bowler that can create a bit of swing/drift and keep it tight, whereas I don't think North is anywhere near as potent, nor can he hold up an end like the Captain might want.

Hauritz for mine can stay in for now. Probably the best option at the moment as a spinner. Smith whilst great with the bat, needs to improve with the ball in the longer version. More consistency required. Hussey safe for now, not sure I want to disrupt coming into the Ashes now. Besides, no one in particular jumps out as a replacement, even though there may be some candidates.

Trying times for the Aussies this Summer, facing a calm and in form English line up.

Test record against top eight teams since Jan 2008

Team .............. Tests ..Won ..Lost ... W/L ratio

India ..................... 28 ... 13 .. 6 ..... 2.16

South Africa ......... 24 ... 12 .. 7 ..... 1.71

England ................ 32 ... 13 .. 8 ..... 1.62

Sri Lanka ............... 18 ... 8 .. 5 ..... 1.60

Australia ............... 35 ... 17 ..11 ..... 1.54

Pakistan ................ 17 ... 3 ..10 ..... 0.30

West Indies ........... 22 ... 2 ..11 ..... 0.18

New Zealand ......... 20 ... 2 ..12 ..... 0.16

*Australia's fall from first to fifth

Alright then HT, my side for Brisbane:

Watson

Katich

Ponting

Clarke

Khawaja

Hussey

Haddin

Johnson

Siddle

Hilfenhaus

Bollinger

Time for new blood. Instead of waiting for us to lose the first one or two Tests we need to be brave and make the call now. One of North or Hussey has to go. We can't carry both, and we need to get someone new in there. I've gone with Hussey as I think moving him down to 6 might work for him. That's where he bats in ODIs, and I know they're vastly different but I see him working well with the tail and hopefully doing better against the older ball.

I've also gone with four pacemen, as I reckon Brisbane warrants that. Hauritz did OK there last year but that was the Windies. Furthermore I reckon we need Siddle in the side and hopefully if he gets his chance in Brisbane he takes some wickets and holds his spot for Adelaide and beyond. He did really well in last year's Ashes and does a lot of the bullocking, into the wind bowling that really no one else can do. It would be even easier to drop Hauritz if North played, but with Katich and Clarke, and Watson for back up, I'm not too fussed. Another option would be to drop Hussey for someone like David Hussey or Cameron White, who provide back up spin (D. Hussey's is better than White's).

Haddin plays over Paine by virtue of experience and surer batting, but he will know he has to perform. Paine is a goer and will be the permanent keeper within 18 months I reckon.

Yeah, I'm not sure where Haddin is at with the injury sustained. Is he back to full fitness yet ? I haven't read anything on him other than his rehabilitation a little while back.

Because of that, I left Paine in. Who is doing a fine job, mind you.

edit: Did a search, he is back playing....here is some articles: -

http://www.cricinfo.com/australia/content/story/479371.html

He is currently 10 not out representing NSW (opening the bat) against WA in the Ryobi One dayer in Sydney. Guess that means he is back. Will he have enough cricket for a return for the Gabba Test though ???

edit: make that 23 off 30 balls. Smashed a six. Batting with Khawaja. your man.

Edited by High Tower

He is currently 10 not out representing NSW (opening the bat) against WA in the Ryobi One dayer in Sydney. Guess that means he is back. Will he have enough cricket for a return for the Gabba Test though ???

I read in one of the papers that every Test player will be required to play at least one Sheffield Shield match before the Brisbane Test, so that should give us an indication of how Haddin's going.

Moreover, it means Ponting might line up for Tasmania. I wonder when the last time that was?

Meanwhile, New Zealand cricket is in turmoil!

5-20 against Bangladesh.

Now recovered to 6/118 but poor indeed.

For the Brisbane Test, my thoughts:

1. Whether you pick a spinner, depends on the weather. Unless its been damp and seaming, I think you play a spinner

2. I am not convinced at this point Smith is a more than a part time spinner and by default Hauritz gets the spinner's spot in a more friendly climate but I am not comfortable. Footnote: If you are not going to play to Smith then you are going to play North to back in the spin area. I cant see Smith alone on the 4th innings trying to bowl the Poms.

3. Johnson stays as first change but is burning tickets after his last couple of Tests. Could easily turn us to victory.

4. One of North or Hussey to...North for mine and put Khalwaja in.

5. Haddin (if fit) for Paine but he must produce.

Big Test on Clarke. If he is a future Test captain then he needs to fire. Ponting will be out of the role within 12 months.

Good articles in The Age by Roebuck and co on Saturday. Food for thought for some.

1. Whether you pick a spinner, depends on the weather. Unless its been damp and seaming, I think you play a spinner

2. I am not convinced at this point Smith is a more than a part time spinner and by default Hauritz gets the spinner's spot in a more friendly climate but I am not comfortable. Footnote: If you are not going to play to Smith then you are going to play North to back in the spin area. I cant see Smith alone on the 4th innings trying to bowl the Poms.

3. Johnson stays as first change but is burning tickets after his last couple of Tests. Could easily turn us to victory.

4. One of North or Hussey to...North for mine and put Khalwaja in.

5. Haddin (if fit) for Paine but he must produce.

Pretty fair summary. Hauritz is the no. 1 spinner but shouldn't be a certainty for Brisbane.

They lost by 3 runs - meaning they were swept by the Bangers.

How utterly embarrassing. 4-0 in a 5 game series. Bangladesh is now no longer the worst ODI side...they're the equal worst side, with the Windies!

I read in one of the papers that every Test player will be required to play at least one Sheffield Shield match before the Brisbane Test, so that should give us an indication of how Haddin's going.

Moreover, it means Ponting might line up for Tasmania. I wonder when the last time that was?

Tried searching for that answer yesterday, no luck as yet. Couldn't find it on CricketInfo.com. Anyone else know when the last time Punter represented Tassy in Sheffield Shield ?