Neale Daniher returning to the Dees

Yeah i read this yesterday, unsure of what to make of it.

It's not really that surprising, from my understanding Neitz and Daniher have always been close, ditto with Riley and Daniher. Also considering Riley and Daniher continue to have weekly meetings it sort of makes sense in a bizarre type of way.

Go D's!!!!!!

Daniher and David!!!

• Author

It says a lot about the man Neale Daniher that he is able to return to the club - no Kevin Barlett style hissy fit from a ripper of a bloke.

Two quality MFC people. Neale was great for this club and continues to be.

He was on Sen's brekky show and for a second i thought he was still our coach with what he was saying about neitz, he will be at the game on friday but not go near the rooms.

When is daniher addressing the players?

Just answered my own question - thurs after training

Don't worry, it's when you talk to yourself and then answer yourself that is where you are in trouble.

Lol, thanks for the heads up :D

It says a lot about the man Neale Daniher that he is able to return to the club - no Kevin Barlett style hissy fit from a ripper of a bloke.

I reckon it says as much about Riley as anyone. I like the man.

I'm sure he is a lovely guy.

But can he coach?

I think he can, but he has been with us for 5 years, would his ideas be much different to ND? there lies the problem i think, but i think he is in with a decent chance.

I think it says bucket loads for all concerned. How refreshing in todays world to see an occasion where all parties rise above the menial and petty and treat an event for what it is with all parties savouring the moment.

Kudos to all involved. It would have taken many elements of character by many people to let this event be what it is.

Despite any misgivings about the bloke as a coach I always respected the man as a man. His ties and kinship with the man of the moment speak volumes.

There shoud always be place set at the table of the MFC for one Neale Daniher for when ever he wants to grace us with his presence. A class act...Too few of them.

I think it says bucket loads for all concerned. How refreshing in todays world to see an occasion where all parties rise above the menial and petty and treat an event for what it is with all parties savouring the moment.

Kudos to all involved. It would have taken many elements of character by many people to let this event be what it is.

Despite any misgivings about the bloke as a coach I always respected the man as a man. His ties and kinship with the man of the moment speak volumes.

There shoud always be place set at the table of the MFC for one Neale Daniher for when ever he wants to grace us with his presence. A class act...Too few of them.

Summed up perfectly!!!!!!

Might be the odd one out here but I absolutely hate the idea.

We all know that mentally our players aren't exactly known for their strength.

We also know that when Paul Salmon played his 300th for Hawthorn the Hawks players all admitted that being addressed by Kevin Sheedy before the game was odd, and threw them off a bit.

While this is a day before the game and not in the rooms before the game, I'm still not a fan of the idea.

With all due respect to Neale imput into the club, and to his influence and relationship with Neita, I don't think taking a step backwards is in any way going to help us take a step forward into the post-ND era.

If anything this says that Mark Riley knows he will not coach us moving forward.

I doubt Brett Ratten would get Denis Pagan back to address the players, or Mark Harvey get Chris Connolly, and I doubt whoever coaches Essendon will get Sheedy back no matter what the circumstances.

In a perfect world you would be able to do things like this, but it's not a perfect world....

While this is a day before the game and not in the rooms before the game, I'm still not a fan of the idea.

With all due respect to Neale imput into the club, and to his influence and relationship with Neita, I don't think taking a step backwards is in any way going to help us take a step forward into the post-ND era.

Hards, I'd agree with everything you said if Neale was addressing them before the game, but he's not.

In all honesty I think by the time Friday comes around the boys are going to be completely focused on the upcoming match and nothing else. I doubt they'll even remember anything Neale said. A Thursday afternoon address is not going to interrupt their focus on the upcoming match, which is why I have no problem with it.

Really well said Belzebub, I couldn't agree more.......

There is absolutely no hiding from the importance Neale Daniher would have had on David in his ten years at the helm and despite everything that has happened so far this year that connection should never be diminished or discounted in the development of Neitz as a player, and probably as a person as well.

As has been said before in this thread it is fantastic to see Neale address the players regarding this massive personal milestone this afternoon and it is a credit to him to actually come back to talk to them. He again shows his class and character as an individual, much as he did when he was shown the door earlier in the year.

Hopefully the message will not be lost on the rest of the team, and a big victory in an important game is on the way :D !!!