50 minutes ago, KozzyCan said:

He's a better mark than he's shown this year (still a double grabber) and Imo looks too bulky this year as opposed to how he looked the previous two years. Still reckon he'd be a much better player in basically any other team that can actually hit a forward target.

JVR doesn't lead or present

Flies from behind and won't play in front

Often attempts marks with one arm

He's a better ruckman than a forward but is not much of a ruckman

*Opinion*

26 minutes ago, Macca said:

I did, but my words have been twisted

Me saying ... "Goodwin was relegated to the bench" is not a statement of fact, it's an opinion

"Goodwin coached from the bench in 2021" is a fact

Can that brain of yours figure out what I've just said or is it too hard?

How were they twisted? Your message has been consistent until now. "It was an undeniable fact that Goodwin was relegated"

Going in circles now.

If Melky isn’t offered another contract (which would be stupid), he would be a bloody ripper forward coach with his craft and knowledge!

6 minutes ago, Bowserpower said:

Going in circles now.

You know what?

I reckon it was a fact but I can't prove it. So I suppose it's just an opinion

Anyway, where's my apology?

On 28/07/2025 at 11:55, SFebes said:

Max's tapwork has been overrated for years

The seven time All Australian ruckmen who's set to become this year's AA ruckmen?

5 minutes ago, Macca said:

You know what?

I reckon it was a fact but I can't prove it. So I suppose it's just an opinion

Anyway, where's my apology?

You want another apology? What for now?

4 minutes ago, lorn said:

The seven time All Australian ruckmen who's set to become this year's AA ruckmen?

The key word, was tapwork.....

For eg; on the weekend, 45 hitouts, 14 to advantage. Cant knock his around the ground domination one bit.

2 minutes ago, Bowserpower said:

You want another apology? What for now?

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

2 hours ago, rufus said:

I don't think I said he should stay. I think I might have said his position is probably untenable.

What I did effectively say is, I don't think he's the root of the problem. As a club and a supporter base we have made some of the most creative and bizarre excuses for straight up uncompetitive, soft and incompetent efforts from the playing group for way too long. If we think changing the coach is going to fix our problems then I reckon we're going to learn some really hard lessons (again) over the coming years.

He's made a litany of bad decisions since the flag. Last Sunday alone he used Spargo as the sub, played Petty up forward and put our two most dangerous forwards in Melksham and Pickett on the bench in the last quarter.

And who could forget that Schache debacle in the 2023 SF against Carlton. That was one of the most bizarre and bewildering coaching decisions I've ever seen.

Yes, our players should take a large portion of the blame but so should the coach. Those two things aren't as mutually exclusive as you think they are.

50 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Haha.. old mate Macca changing the goal posts and narrative on the run when called out.

Funny stuff.

Some people can't help themselves.

1 hour ago, Deebaser said:

What about the horrible long term contacts he has burdened the club with? Viney, Lever, Langdon are here until 2028.

That criticism is fair. Though I feel like the Viney decision was more of a PR one with him and Max commiting / extending in the middle of the storm at the end of last years season.

Having said that, Langdon is still playing at a decent level so with his fitness and speed, 3 years doesn't seem that bad?

Lever is young enough to still be playing good footy in 3 years time... I guess it comes down to if his body can hold up.

1 hour ago, Deebaser said:

What about the horrible long term contacts he has burdened the club with? Viney, Lever, Langdon are here until 2028.

That criticism is fair. Though I feel like the Viney decision was more of a PR one with him and Max commiting / extending in the middle of the storm at the end of last years season.

Having said that, Langdon is still playing at a decent level so with his fitness and speed, 3 years doesn't seem that bad?

Lever is young enough to still be playing good footy in 3 years time... I guess it comes down to if his body can hold up.

2 hours ago, ElDiablo14 said:

How come he couldn't bring a KPF after the flag? We knew it was the last piece of the puzzle, McKay was gettable. Yet not much fuzz or noise about it throughout the 2022 season.

I don't think that's Lamb's fault - we seem to have tried to lure everyone we can since 2019 when we realised post Hogan that Tmac and Weid weren't going to cut it forward. We are always linked to forwards but other than BBB we've never got one.

I think until this year, a manager would be in the players ear saying "mate have you seen how Melbourne enter's their forward 50?". I wouldn't have wanted to play key forward in those teams!

Potentially if we didn't have so much coin tied to May, Lever, Trac, Oliver, Max we might have been able to get one in... but I can't think of too many quality KPFs we've missed out on (we were never in the running for Lynch, Cameron etc).

And re McKay - would he have made much difference? He won the coleman medal in 2021 from memory so we would have been trading Oliver / Trac at the peak of their powers after winning a flag to get him. Maybe (maybe?) in hindsight it makes sense, but there's no way we were going to do that after they just won us a premiership.

Edited by deelusions from afar
response re Mckay

Regardless of the coaching I reckon we could see a fair bit of player movement in the post season

Contracts aside, players these days are often requesting trades. And the club may well facilitate those requests if the trade value is worthwhile

Let's face it, the club is in a bit of a mess right now and some players might be looking for greener pastures. And the FD might also want to offload certain individuals anyway

I'd be surprised if we aren't a big part of the trading period. Especially if we want to hold a decent hand in the draft

It's very quiet out there on the news front considering the board meeting and FD presentation, no leaks anyway yet.

4 minutes ago, Macca said:

Regardless of the coaching I reckon we could see a fair bit of player movement in the post season

Contracts aside, players these days are often requesting trades. And the club may well facilitate those requests if the trade value is worthwhile

Let's face it, the club is in a bit of a mess right now and some players might be looking for greener pastures. And the FD might also want to offload certain individuals anyway

I'd be surprised if we aren't a big part of the trading period. Especially if we want to hold a decent hand in the draft

Isn't the problem though that it is reportedly a weak draft and in addition to that very compromised with academy and father sons - so draft picks are less valuable this year?

It's why trading out our first last year and netting Lindsay is a win pretty much regardless of where we finish. And why it made sense for Richmond to load up with so many draft picks last year.

We could potentially trade for future picks.. but that delays the rebuild (and I have no idea on the quality for that draft)

2 minutes ago, SFebes said:

It's very quiet out there on the news front considering the board meeting and FD presentation, no leaks anyway yet.

Yeh, calm before the storm?

21 hours ago, KozzyCan said:

What are you on about? Goodwin publicly stated he'd be in the box this year. He chose to go back down to the bench during our 0-5 start to the year.

Who on earth has the power to 'relegate' the head coach to the bench? What nonsense.

Their statement turned out to be incorrect, we finally got clarification on that after some headaches.

6 minutes ago, deelusions from afar said:

Isn't the problem though that it is reportedly a weak draft and in addition to that very compromised with academy and father sons - so draft picks are less valuable this year?

It's why trading out our first last year and netting Lindsay is a win pretty much regardless of where we finish. And why it made sense for Richmond to load up with so many draft picks last year.

We could potentially trade for future picks.. but that delays the rebuild (and I have no idea on the quality for that draft)

I reckon we'll try to attain at least one first round draft picks (via trades)

The tricky part is putting some sort of value on players who are on big contracts. Could end up more of a salary dump as those who are on big money aren't playing to the level required ... and there's only 4 games remaining

The coach related bit is which players are the keepers and which ones could be let go

17 minutes ago, Macca said:

I tend to agree. Much will happen whether intended or not.

32 minutes ago, SFebes said:

For eg; on the weekend, 45 hitouts, 14 to advantage.

I thought his ruckwork on the weekend was very good - up to a point. I completely understand that it needed to change, and became way more conservative, in the final quarter. And that urgently needed to change when they got within five goals. This has been well argued elsewhere on the forum. But I'm not sold on him being an overrated tap ruckman.

It may be true. Or he may be nothing more than slightly above average in this regard. But- my inkling has long been that he's a smart footballer whose larrikanism can be mistaken for dim-ness. Yes, his decision making with kicking and handballing can be really poor. I don't know if it extends to his ruckwork though.

One of the most frustrating things about football for me in the last five or eight years has been this line, repeated so often, it's become a truism: "Max is so dominant that the opposition just rove to him." That may be true, but it's not inevitable and eternal. Surely, after coming to this conclusion, the job of everyone responsible for stoppage strategy at the Demons is to at the very least mitigate it. One of the many, many reasons I think it's time to find a new coach is that this mitigation has failed to happen to any great degree.

I could be wrong, but my hypothesis is that Max is a well above average tap ruckman whose dominance has been poorly handled by everyone involved in the midfield system.

6 minutes ago, deelusions from afar said:

The compromised draft is going to make it complicated. Hopefully there are some good deals out there though.

38 minutes ago, SFebes said:

The key word, was tapwork.....

For eg; on the weekend, 45 hitouts, 14 to advantage. Cant knock his around the ground domination one bit.

I doubt they'd give 7 All Australians to a ruckman if they thought his tapwork was overrated. I don't read replies or reactions.

Edited by greenwaves

3 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

I tend to agree. Much will happen whether intended or not.

And much might depend on who the coach is. New coach might want to retain certain players where as Goodwin may think differently

You'd reckon if we did change the coaching it would be before the trade period