Welcome back #15

Posted

After a long tradition of duds wearing the number 15 jumper, we have finally found a real footballer to make this a great jumper again.

Well done Petterd on a magnificant debut.

Terrible circumstances to be thrown into a losing side, who is getting well and truely smashed and then to be pushed forward and back. He handled the enormous task at hand like a true veteran, and gave Nick Davis a nice run for his money.

Very impressed with his cool head under pressure, good vision and excellent disposal.

In what has been a truly woeful season to date, at least tonight we can see a positive.

Well put Jaded, this kid looks to have the ability to play for a long time in that jumper.

AND HOW GOOD WAS HE!!!!!

I am putting my order in for a number 15 jumper! GET ON THE RICKY BANDWAGON!!!

He was great tonight. We will get smashed by port next week, but i will be there just to see number 15 running around.

How so? Petterd was one of our best players and while Garland did nothing..either did some senior players like Pickett

All those people calling for ND to take a risk and play some kids sure look stupid now...

Wouldn't you agree these changes have been forced due to injuries??

Ricky certainly played very well in a losing team. Since i was unable to go to the game, i was listening on the radio, he certainly has the potential to be our next superstar in the red and the blue

How so? Petterd was one of our best players and while Garland did nothing..either did some senior players like Pickett

Sorry mate.

I was being sarcastic.

That debut for Pettard was better than any game i have seen Sylvia play yet.

I would have to agree with you there.

• Author

Ummm... don't mean to interupt the hissy fit, but he was clearly being sarcastic. :unsure:

Garland did nothing because the ball never got down to the forward line, and when it did, they kicked it to Miller (and rightly so).

Forwards have a tough job when the midfield is losing the clearances 0-8.

He might get one more game if Neita is not right next week, but nothing ventured, nothing gained. Tonight would have been a real eye-opener for him and he can go back to Sandy and concentrate on learning the craft.

P.S.- does Garland look like Lamb, or is that just me?

yep i think the number 15 will appear on jumpers in the next few years if he continues along this line

Wouldn't you agree these changes have been forced due to injuries??

Injuries helped.

But Melbourne have had injury problems since about Round 2.

Moreover, Bizzell and Ward were dropped for this game.

Injuries helped.

But Melbourne have had injury problems since about Round 2.

Overdue, nevertheless imo. Petterd as best on ground for the dees attests to this.

• Author

And thank god for that. King of Turnovers (Ward), would have made an absolute meal of the ball tonight with the amount of pressure Sydney was applying.

How good was it seeing Petterd actually take a deep breath instead of bombing the ball to nobody. A perfect example of class vs. crap (and I do mean that in the nicest possible way. I have nothing personal against Ward, but his disposal is painful).

All we need now is Brown out for Buckley or Newton and we can start to see what our future may look like.

How good was it seeing Petterd actually take a deep breath instead of bombing the ball to nobody. A perfect example of class vs. crap (and I do mean that in the nicest possible way. I have nothing personal against Ward, but his disposal is painful).

True.

I still stand by my disappointment about Bizzell being dropped because he is a good kick and very good under pressure.

i liked how he jumped in front of barry halls leads not once, but three times

great debut, and he can only get better

midfielder? backline? where should we play him

Pettard was always a player identified with a lot of talent and CAC was excited to get him so late in the draft.

He showed he was a capable and promising player early in the pre season.

He then sustained a leg injury and missed 4 to 5 weeks of crucial football.

His last game with Sandy was his first full hit out since the injury. He justified his selection.

His game was a ripper first up and soundly validated the FD excited in selecting so late.

His situation is the perfect example of bring forward a player who is ready.

ND has done the right thing selecting him now.

In fact ND is on a hiding to nothing. By tonights game ND gets damned for not playing him earlier (despite the facts). If he got smashed, ND brought him on too soon.

However, the wingnuts on this site will say he should have played round 2 regardless of his physical or match fitness.

That debut for Pettard was better than any game i have seen Sylvia play yet.

with you there , Slvia is the most overrated player we have got, no hang on, second most overrated, Jamar is no. 1

Who has rated Jamar highly before?

• Author
In fact ND is on a hiding to nothing. By tonights game ND gets damned for not playing him earlier (despite the facts). If he got smashed, ND brought him on too soon.

However, the wingnuts on this site will say he should have played round 2 regardless of his physical or match fitness.

This is not about when he should have debuted, I don't think one extra week would have made any difference.

But it does vindicate the call to play youngsters (when they are ready), ahead of dead wood.

We haven't got one single experienced player at Sandy who could have done better than him tonight.

Now let us celebrate his game without getting stuck into the FD or other posters. Just enjoy a positive sign, because they sure as hell don't come often these days!

The best part about Petterd is the awareness he showed of what was around him.

He got rid of it quick when he had too, he took his time and steadied when he had the chance, not too mention how well he read it.

Speaking of awareness, Matthew Bate and Chris Johnson have none! I know they are young but lack of footy nous is a serious concern.

We forget very quickly. Sylvia is a good footballer and will show us this year once he gets match fit, same with Byron. These two players are very underdone, Sylvia didn't join the main group until late Feb. Once again we play him deep forward and no forward would excel with our current skill levels through the midfield. Sylvia looked OK when he was able to push up the ground and play as a midfielder, but he is still 2-3 weeks away from spendig look periods on the ball. We were all crying for him to be included a few weeks back now we get on his back.

But it does vindicate the call to play youngsters (when they are ready), ahead of dead wood.

I totally agree.

But that not what the masses have been arguing here.

If many had there way they would have played Pettard plus Newton, Buckley, Weetra (ignoring he has been injured), Frawley (likewise) from round 2 regardless of their readiness.

They will mistakenly argue Pettard vindicates their case but overlook Garland who struggled.