Posted

There's obviously a number of posters out there who would love to have Mick Malthouse as our next coach.

I've personally started wavering on Bailey (but my personal choice would be (GWS)Choco, and that's not happening).

However, I can't help but think Mick would be the wrong man for the job, and it's a pretty simple reason:

- Go find me a premiership coach over the age of 60. Just try.

I've racked my brain and can't do it - not modern era at the very least.

I thought maybe Jeans, or Kennedy...but no, neither of them did it in their 60's.

Not Checker either. (We've all seen the great photo of 1964, with Hughes on the bench and Smith in the air [gee I hope this reference is right]. I reckon he was a fairly tremendous resource for the coach, but probably understood he didn't have it in him to be the coach anymore).

There's gotta be something to it

It just seems to me that one more job for Mick would be purely an ego thing - sure it may be for any coach, but I just have the feeling it would be one more job too many.

This is about winning flags

Posted

I'm not a Malthouse fan either. At West Coast he coached a team of freaks, it would have been hard to lose. With this current Collingwood team he's been fantastic and whilst he's got the best group of players he is certainly getting everything out of them. They are the best coached group of players as well. However it took him 10 years, he won't get 10 years at Melbourne without a flag to show for it.

But I feel at our club he would miss all the wonderful things he's had - gun recruiters, expensive assistant coaches, stand alone VFL team, sports science directors, Arizona etc.

If we can't poach Clarkson, I'd think about Roos but I'd like to know how his philosophy has involved modern tactics and isn't just one v one, and then have weigh up who's out there in the assistant ranks. I'd probably try and do it all undercover and hope to reappoint Bailey if nothing is doing.

Posted

No one over the age of 60 has ever won a premiership as coach. This stat does not change the possibility that it could happen. The past is no predictor of the future.

If we think Bailey is not the man, Malthouse is staying in the dungheap for at least 12 months, then who is 'the man' (or woman) for the job? Age is not an issue - capability to get the best out of the young list and manufacture a flag-wining game plan is.

Posted

I'm not a Malthouse fan either.

I actually am a Malthouse fan (though not as a 'Dees coach now). I don't begrudge access to excellent facilities and players at all, we well may be talking about how important AAMI park is in a couple of years - does that devalue a premiership or a coach's effort? Dennis Pagan didn't seem to be a better coach with more resources at Carlton.

No one over the age of 60 has ever won a premiership as coach. This stat does not change the possibility that it could happen. The past is no predictor of the future.

Actually it is. While you may say that this is meaningless once a coach does win one...the exception does not disprove the rule, and in this case there is no exception.

Here's what I think this situation suggests:

Any coach that is still in the game at 60 years+ is probably a coach who has had some impressive level of success, and their present club is most probably one of a few they have coached at.

Now no one will suggest Mick doesn't have the chops to coach. I'm just weary of taking on a guy who's getting on in age, and wants to prove to his soon to be past employer that they made a mistake - give it one last go around.

Melbourne is in the business of winning footy, not being an a way for Malthouse to get back at the filth (though I would very quickly grow to love it).

As sad as it is, the filth probably have some idea about Mick's strength's and weaknesses...don't really think this is 100% to do with keeping FIGJAM at the club.

Mick wouldn't be the worst choice - but just in terms of winning premierships, I think I'd rather back Bailey, Roos or Clarkson...or even BRENTON SANDERSON.

Posted

I actually am a Malthouse fan (though not as a 'Dees coach now). I don't begrudge access to excellent facilities and players at all, we well may be talking about how important AAMI park is in a couple of years - does that devalue a premiership or a coach's effort? Dennis Pagan didn't seem to be a better coach with more resources at Carlton.

Actually it is. While you may say that this is meaningless once a coach does win one...the exception does not disprove the rule, and in this case there is no exception.

Here's what I think this situation suggests:

Any coach that is still in the game at 60 years+ is probably a coach who has had some impressive level of success, and their present club is most probably one of a few they have coached at.

Now no one will suggest Mick doesn't have the chops to coach. I'm just weary of taking on a guy who's getting on in age, and wants to prove to his soon to be past employer that they made a mistake - give it one last go around.

Melbourne is in the business of winning footy, not being an a way for Malthouse to get back at the filth (though I would very quickly grow to love it).

As sad as it is, the filth probably have some idea about Mick's strength's and weaknesses...don't really think this is 100% to do with keeping FIGJAM at the club.

Mick wouldn't be the worst choice - but just in terms of winning premierships, I think I'd rather back Bailey, Roos or Clarkson...or even BRENTON SANDERSON.

Well if Malthouse is trying to stick one up his employer by coaching another club to a flag, then please oh please let it be ours!

All the more reason to pay him a fortune!

Seriously we are out of debt with what we all consider a list capable of delivering a flag, I'm all for us rolling the dice and spending our way into debt (if need be) to get that flag by hook or by crook. If we get the elusive flag the spending will be returned 10 fold!

Time to bold and throw everything at this opportunity.

It's no good just surviving as we have done that since 64, it's now time to really take risks and be brave and if Malthouse (plus court fees) costs us 2 mil in year 2012 then let's embrace it and be a player again with the big boys!

Posted

But the point isn't Malthouse or bust..if we're actually able to put the kind of money out there we're going to need for him, why not pursue other high profile names available?

Posted

But the point isn't Malthouse or bust..if we're actually able to put the kind of money out there we're going to need for him, why not pursue other high profile names available?

Like who? Roos, and...?

Posted

There's obviously a number of posters out there who would love to have Mick Malthouse as our next coach.

I've personally started wavering on Bailey (but my personal choice would be (GWS)Choco, and that's not happening).

However, I can't help but think Mick would be the wrong man for the job, and it's a pretty simple reason:

- Go find me a premiership coach over the age of 60. Just try.

I've racked my brain and can't do it - not modern era at the very least.

I thought maybe Jeans, or Kennedy...but no, neither of them did it in their 60's.

Not Checker either. (We've all seen the great photo of 1964, with Hughes on the bench and Smith in the air [gee I hope this reference is right]. I reckon he was a fairly tremendous resource for the coach, but probably understood he didn't have it in him to be the coach anymore).

There's gotta be something to it

It just seems to me that one more job for Mick would be purely an ego thing - sure it may be for any coach, but I just have the feeling it would be one more job too many.

This is about winning flags

It might sound glib but saying 'todays 60 is yesterday's 50' has some truth to it

The deciding factor would be ones health, ability and motivation, not some stat plucked out the irrelevant past

If the past was such a good indicator we would have player-coaches making a comeback - I think NOT

p.s. anyone know if swooper is still coaching in the country? Bring him back?......only joking

Posted

Dean Bailey?

Malthouse got Eleven years and stacks of money to get the flag he got .