Morton being looked at by other clubs

Those don't exist, Bub. I remember everyone creaming themselves a couple of years ago when Cale went toe to toe with Adam Goodes. I thought that was his "break-out game." Consistently good games are far more important than that elusive BOG.

True.

I think he is really low on confidence.

I am prepared to back him to come good.

Of coure break out games occur. Thats when a player finally makes that statement.."Im here. Ive stepped up to the next level ( often equal to his acknowledged ability ) and this and this is where im staying "

4 years in our system....times ticking Cale !!

Very Good post.

Essendon, round 18 - 2008. 26 possessions, 3 goals and 2 Brownlow votes in a losing game.

West Coast, round 20 - 2008. 30 possessions, 1 goal and 2 Brownlow votes.

So that is 2 break out games in the first year.

Still waiting for that break out game....still !!

Like the one he played on Goodes in Canberra.

obviously a false dawn... an aberation as opposed to a real step up.

He hasnt followed it up withmuch....has he ?

Great post, but I think I can see what we are trying to do with him.

RIGHT NOW we are requiring him to play a different role, as he is still developing and we are trying to eliminate deficiencies to his game.

I've done it before with kids I've coached - made them spend some time focusing purely on areas / roles where they lack a little, like accountability or inside play, then that side develops a bit, even if they don't become proficient at it.

After a while you can release the shackles and let them play their natural game, but they now have built into their game other skills for when they are necessary.

The way we are using Morton now is not likely the way we will utilise him in later years.

He is still quite young, and his type typically takes longer to develop.

Geez we were soooooo unlucky in last years draft ... only 1 pick away. I reckon this kid Lynch could be anything. Imagine if we were "lucky" enough to improve our picks last year ... geez we would have been laughing. :blink:

Is it confirmed that he is "homesick" or it that just a rumour?

No, I don't know if he is or not.

what I'm suggesting is, that If, he doesn't start to play as an Honest footballer soon this year, that we make the tough decision to let him go for the best deal we can make.

If, as we've heard, there will be some @ GC Suns who'll want to return home, I'm sure we'll hear about it. I don't think Scotty Clayton was at Cranbourne for nothing. I'm sure he would of been there to look at 2 or 3 players.

We've had too many extreme outside players down through the decades. Oh, and we're yet to win one in that time to. :blink:

No, I don't know if he is or not.

ahhhh ok .

what I'm suggesting is, that If, he doesn't start to play as an Honest footballer soon this year, that we make the tough decision to let him go for the best deal we can make.

Think we are in a catch 22 position by your own argument. He hasn't shown enough for somebody to say ... "oh I need that in my team." So dont think your "deal" is looking good for you ... unless of course you are prepared to let him walk for next to nothing. One of the first rules of trading is you got to be prepared to give good to get good.

IMHO we need more players in Morton age group not less.

If, as we've heard, there will be some @ GC Suns who'll want to return home, I'm sure we'll hear about it. I don't think Scotty Clayton was at Cranbourne for nothing. I'm sure he would of been there to look at 2 or 3 players.

Scot Clayton has already openly come out and stated they will be forced to reduce their list by approximately 6-8 players this year and next to get their numbers down as per the initial agreement.

If we're smart we could scoop up a decent discard or 2 from both expansion clubs over time.

With the abolishment of the rookie draft, it looks like they'll probably be added back into the draft pool, but with more exposed form to judge them on.

I think Morton will come good, and i agree with Akum's post. I can see him being a good tall winger, kinda like Embley for West Coast.

ahhhh ok .

Think we are in a catch 22 position by your own argument. He hasn't shown enough for somebody to say ... "oh I need that in my team." So dont think your "deal" is looking good for you ... unless of course you are prepared to let him walk for next to nothing. One of the first rules of trading is you got to be prepared to give good to get good.

IMHO we need more players in Morton age group not less.

Scot Clayton has already openly come out and stated they will be forced to reduce their list by approximately 6-8 players this year and next to get their numbers down as per the initial agreement.

I agree, and I wanted us to draft Lauchie Henderson that draft.

Yes, I'd heard that clayton or someone had expected that out of their big draft some would want to return home. Thats what I was getting at. Clayton is a rap for Morton and could possibly get him on track. Our culture (at Melbbourne) IMO, can't afford players (very outside) like Morton.

IMO, we've got to break this acceptance of soft outside play, without winning contested footy, type of player.