Brian Dixon

Posted

Congratulations to Brian Dixon, elevated to the AFL Hall of Fame tonight:

Brian Dixon MFC Wiki

Now we need a few more players from our glorious albeit unfortunately non-tv era to be rightfully nominated...

Congratulations to Brian Dixon, elevated to the AFL Hall of Fame tonight:

Brian Dixon MFC Wiki

Now we need a few more players from our glorious albeit unfortunately non-tv era to be rightfully nominated...

Well done Dicko. Suffered from 'leather poisoning' throughout most of our golden era. Five time premiership player, 'Bluey' winner and Tassie medalist. A star wingman with the most ungainly (but generally effective) kicking style imaginable.

Well done Brian Dixon.

A great speech you gave, made me proud to be part of the MFC-Thanks and lets hope you see another 5 Flags.

Well done Dicko. Many great memories of watching you play.

Stan "Pops" Heal also played for Melbourne in the 1941 Premiership side.

Stan "Pops" Heal

Edited by She Devil 64

Well done Dicko. Many great memories of watching you play.

Stan "Pops" Heal also played for Melbourne in the 1941 Premiership side.

Stan "Pops" Heal

Yes i heard Stan's speech, What a classic bloke. Still sharp as.

Talk of leather poisoning. I recall a game in the wet at Glenferrie oval when I reckon Dicko would have had between 40 and 50 possessions (no junk possessions in those days). I wonder if such statistics were kept then ( Although Dicko was probably counting them.) I think he was one of the best overhead marks for his size that I can remember and only 5ft 9in tall. (Brilliant judgement and long straight arms)

Yes, many fine memories of the Right Honourable Brian Dixon strutting his stuff for the MFC in our glory days! Well done, Brian! Well deserved!

Now, bring on our next Glory Days!!

Go Dees!

I used to have Brian Dixon's no. 9 on the back of my footy jumper in the early sixties. He was a top player! 5ft 9",and 11stone 7, but a good mark. Really quick from hand to the left foot, which meant he didn't look like a good kick, but he wasn't caught with the ball very often, and got hold of it over and over again. He did nice 45yard drop kicks when he didn't have to rush.

Apart from his wonderful on-field feats(including a Tassie Medal, which was forgotten in the Sun this morning),this man was instrumental in saving the Demons as we know them. Very few other past players stood up when it really mattered.

I know he was (incorrectly) rumoured to be involved in the catastrophic Norm Smith blunder, and that his strong personality gets on some peoples' nerves.

I reckon true Demon supporters should revere Brian Dixon as an absolute hero of our club.

Congrats on your well deserved honour of admission to the AFL Hall of Fame, Dico! (I'd love to know if you read "Demonland".)

Was one of my favourites back in those halcyon days... was our local member when I was growing up in Croydon.

I reckon true Demon supporters should revere Brian Dixon as an absolute hero of our club.

Congrats on your well deserved honour of admission to the AFL Hall of Fame, Dico! (I'd love to know if you read "Demonland".)

I couldn't agree more JJC! As an aside, I remember having several very enjoyable post-match chats with Dicko back in the days when they threw the doors of the MFC dressing rooms open to supporters after the game, and players were 're-hydrating' with VB before taking a shower. They were also the days when players and supporters alike joined in singing both verses of the Grand Old Flag.

And Dicko is one past player you will regularly sittin with us mugs in the members. I guess he won't be with us on Q B Weekend but expect to see him any other day. A legend of a footballer, a politician as a leader and one of us cheering on the Dee's from the members. Our hero

does anyone know what the age bracket is to be inducted as a legend is it over a certain age would hope that jim stynes would be inducted 1 day is he already in hall of fame would deserve legend status done a lot 4 football

Ian Ridley could of taken a leaf from his never let the Dees die attitude book!!!