View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (โ‹ฎ) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Forum game

thanks for the offer, brett, but we have been very happy with the amateur umpires who have helped us out in recent games...

are you up for goal umpiring ?? :wub:

sorry, benno, but the saturday/sunday debate was put to bed years ago... :rolleyes:

our "leadership group" consists of pringle, wolfmother, whispering jack, funky41, melbournefc, wise, tassie dee, redleg + hards...

Talkingcarlton + saintsational have proposed round robin forum footy matches on Sunday, November 8 โ€“ each game 2 X 15 minute quarters โ€“ each team plays the other 2 teams once.

Downside is that wise is not available, but there are no other viable dates this year... :mellow:

If a majority of the leadership group pm"s a โ€œyesโ€ to me, I will set up the team thread on demonland.

Regards,

Peter Connor (aka rollo)

early "leadership" voting is 2-0 in favour of november 8...

with wise crying in the background... :mellow:

seems to me it's november 8, or wait until next year...

watch this space...

Edited by rollinson 65

ย 

I would be unavailable for November 8.

As always i'm keen, although 10kg fatter than before. It's been a tough year, i'd better start preparing now...

ย 

hey, mick...

this "unavailability" thing is starting to become a habit...

can't you change your plans this far ahead ?? :angry:

hey, doggo...

that's a few kilos a week, starting NOW !! :lol:

can't you change your plans this far ahead ?? :angry:

Unfortunately myself and some mates have a houseboat on the Murray booked for that weekend...

Booked and paid for. Tough to get out of!

I'm definitely interested in pulling on the Red and Blue again... and this round-robin format sounds pretty interesting. Although I fear the quick-fire format could endanger our W/L record?

Unfortunately myself and some mates have a houseboat on the Murray booked for that weekend...

Booked and paid for. Tough to get out of!

sorry to hear that, mick...

but leadership group now 4-0 in favour of playing on November 8...

(must have heard that you were unavailable)... :lol:

I would love to play in this game but November 8 is no good for me either. Any other day would be fine!!

ย 

Looks like the 8th will be a go but I'll leave it to Rollo to confirm.....

Want it to be big this year, so will organise a function afterwards at one of the local pubs and maybe a BBQ for the ground... Hope to get a few down to help out even if you don't want to throw on the boots

Surely now that we have the CEO, President and a player on Twitter we could organise for some MFC representation?! I reckon they'd get a laugh out of it, and it could potentially even raise a bit of money for a charity (or even the MFC Benevolent Fund haha)

never been a spark of interest from the club before, guys...

can't see that changing, but do your worst !!

leadership group now 5-0 in favour of November 8, but I will not start up the game organisation thread yet...

the other sites are in disarray, so I don't know who we are playing, where we are playing or when we are playing at this stage...

but it is safe to pen in the date of November 8 in your calendars...

sorry for you guys who have to miss out, but there will be a february 2010 fixture...

regards,

rollo

never been a spark of interest from the club before, guys...

can't see that changing, but do your worst !!

I probably have delusions of grandeur, but I would have thought the club might see it as an opportunity to give a little back to its fans. Once organised I'll be calling on all Demonland Tweeters (or is that Twits :lol:) to start a campaign!!

Im willing to make my debut if there is enough spots left..

never enough numbers, wh...

especially if it is giong to be a 3 or 4 way contest...

watch out for the game thread...

Edited by rollinson 65

• Author

Rollo just wondering i was talking to some of the saints guys and they were saying they play, Carlton, Richmond, Essendon and us.

Any chance of us showing how good we are to the other few teams.....if you dont have enough work already

As a member of the leadership group, I have to say that there will be punishment for anyone not turning up to the 1st game of the season in less than top condition.

Skinfolds will be tested this year, and there will be some gut-busting running required for anyone who doesn't toe the line.

Despite dodgy hammies repeatedly falling apart as I approach the 30 y.o. mark, I'm definitely in and have been training my heart out all pre-season (after hitting the booze for the 1st 6 months following our last outing vs. the Blues). That's the kind of dedication I expect from everyone. I don't expect to personally make it past the 5 minute mark before I feel the first twang in the back of my thigh, but at least I know that if I don't tear a hammy straight away, I might just be able to run out the two 15 minute halves.

This is our time Demonlanders. Don't think, do... Oh wait, that one's been used... Um, ask not what your club can do for you...no wait, um...

P.S. Rollo, don't the Pies have a forum team? Surely amongst their 4 million fans they have at least 22 blokes willing to be subjected to a flogging at our hands? It's not like they's have to do anything difficult like buy mouthguards or something. I guess they wod have to learn to read though so we could let them know we want to play. hmm... Maybe getting a bit hard. Would love to pump those toothless !#@*s though.

Yeah Collingwood do.

Just make sure they don't run out with 24 on the ground!

hoping for a 4-way contest on November 8...

majority of leadership group now in favour...

still don't know who, where, what time, but lock in the date...

I will keep working on the other sites' organisers...

rollo

hoping for a 4-way contest on November 8...

majority of leadership group now in favour...

still don't know who, where, what time, but lock in the date...

I will keep working on the other sites' organisers...

rollo

on behalf of the 'rabble' at nick's i'm happy to say they are keen to get involved in a four way. i don't believe we've played you guys yet.

not posting for any other reason than the fact that you guys are fractionally more reasonable and rational than the people we are trying to play on november 8...

the sainters have developed an unexplained objection to the round robin, the pies don't seem to have an organiser for these events, and the blues are organising full-steam ahead on the basis that this is all happening...

(rollo will have no hair left by november 8)...

summary - we will be playing the blues on november 8, god knows where, when, and who else may join the party...

(17 expletives studiously deleted from above text)...

Edited by rollinson 65

not posting for any other reason than the fact that you guys are fractionally more reasonable and rational than the people we are trying to play on november 8...

the sainters have developed an unexplained objection to the round robin, the pies don't seem to have an organiser for these events, and the blues are organising full-steam ahead on the basis that this is all happening...

summary - we will be playing the blues on november 8, god knows where, when, and who else may join the party...

gees, rollo...

we all love and appreciate your efforts...

(posted by rollo late on a discouraging night, knowing it summarises the collective love you bastards feel but can't express)...

ย 

We feel it Rollo, you're a stalwart and a legend for all this organisation. We've had pretty good numbers in the past so perhaps you should put that down to wanting to play for the Jumper, and also the opportunity to play under the dual coaches of WJ and Rollo.

you'd think we were trying to stitch together the fev deal. i'll try to fire up the collingwood mob. i don't get too involved cos i ain't in melbourne anymore but i think it's just a matter of confirming a date, time and venue and our chaps will be there. though, don't forget some of them have to arrange "day passes". ;)