Flights for RD 17 @ Manuka

Posted

Anybody who's interested in wandering up north to watch the Swans get done in round 17 might be interested in logging onto tigerairways.com.au - as the topic says, $28 flights are on sale.

Can't beat that.

Sick.

What's Canberra's Saturday nightlife like? :lol: Radical, Irish pub located in the "Melbourne Building."

Well I'm in, anybody else...

Sick.

What's Canberra's Saturday nightlife like? :lol: Radical, Irish pub located in the "Melbourne Building."

I've never been to an interstate game and this seems like a good chance...

Beau - send me a PM or email or something and maybe we can suss Canberra out.

Just purchased return flights, leaving Melb 8am Saturday, flying home 9.15pm Sunday. $86 incl. all taxes and charges.

If anyone is an expert on Canberra nightlife maybe suggest a bar and we'll have some sort of Demonland meet up on the Saturday night.

Absolutely Junior.

I reckon the Irish pub looks good, though anyone on here from Canberra would know better. Those look like the flights many of us will be getting, so we'll probably all catch up on the plane!

Booked as well. Looks like there might be a good gathering this time. Went last year and was on my own which was bit of downer.

My girlfriend used to live near that Irish pub. Not super flash from memory.

There's some good little bars nearby though, so would be a good starting point for the celebration!

6 of us just booked, always ends up more expensive than you think.

Couldn't get us on the morning flight, so we'll be leaving on Saturday arvo

6 of us just booked, always ends up more expensive than you think.

Couldn't get us on the morning flight, so we'll be leaving on Saturday arvo

We're driving down :rolleyes: !!!

Booked with Tiger last time they had this sale

Coming up Sat morning, heading home Sun night

Manuka is a really nice ground to watch footy at

Sick.

Last time I went to Canberra it ruled, everything's on the same block. Get a mate in the defence force and cheap drinks everywhere..

Guys, Canberra night life sucks. Yes, civic has all the pubs around each other but you're better off going into Kingston (which is just down the road from Manuka oval). A pub called the "Durham" is pretty good and if you want a football club, go to Eastlakes. There are a whole heap of other pubs and nightclubs around as well. Also, Maunka is down the road where there are more drinking holes.

Civic, while there are a lot of pubs, is not very inviting after the sun goes down.

P.s: that irish pub, P.J O'Reilly's, is terrible. The other irish pub in civic, King O'Malley's, is better.

Should be good fun, looking forward to it!

We'll have to organise a Saturday night [censored] up, get somewhere where we can chuck an MFC DVD on

Guys, Canberra night life sucks. Yes, civic has all the pubs around each other but you're better off going into Kingston (which is just down the road from Manuka oval). A pub called the "Durham" is pretty good and if you want a football club, go to Eastlakes. There are a whole heap of other pubs and nightclubs around as well. Also, Maunka is down the road where there are more drinking holes.

Civic, while there are a lot of pubs, is not very inviting after the sun goes down.

P.s: that irish pub, P.J O'Reilly's, is terrible. The other irish pub in civic, King O'Malley's, is better.

There's the Durham (good) and Filthy McFaddin's (not so good) right next to eachother in 'Green Square' in Kingston.

The most interesting thing about Filthy's is that it is actually named after a local... vagrant?... who will sell you a little picture which looks like someone spread ink on a bowl of pasta and dumped it on a piece of paper - very abstract, very modern ;). Look closely at the picture on Filthy's sign and you'll see a portrait in profile, complete with very distinctive nose.

Caco is also right about O'Malley's being better. Better live music, more central, has a beer 'garden' out the front, has better food and is next to the great Canberra institution - 'Chicken Gourmet'. Also has an open fireplace, which is something you'll crave a bit in Canberra in august, even if you haven't just fought your way through Canberra's May, June and July.

If you're prepared to travel (would need to be a short Taxi) 'All Bar Nun' at O'connor shops is alright.

But for anyone planning a visit to Canberra, either stick to a couple of areas you can figure out quickly (like Civic and the Manuka/Kingston area) or be prepared to pay a packet for Taxis.

Get to Manuka Oval early, the ticketing booth is a shipping container with holes cut in one side. Best to book tickets too, since despite the official capacity being more than 15,000, that's only if they set up all of the extra metal fold-out stands. Not kidding. If you've gt the dough, the fancy-arse reserved seating can be good - there's so little that you'll prboably be sitting next to the emergencies or some dignitary.

Bringing kids? Go to 'Questacon'. There is no place in Australia kids enjoy more consistently.

The glassworks is also good (they do hands-on glassmaking workshops, including for kids), and it is in Kingston so you can go there on the morning before the game, then a ten minute walk to the ground.

There's actually a lot of stuff for kids and families because there are so few extended families, since it's all professionals moving there for work.

Eastlake football club (The Demons) is about five minutes walk from Manuka Oval, too.

I'd better stop, maybe closer to the day I'll put together a veterans guide to enjoying Canberra.

Anybody who's interested in wandering up north to watch the Swans get done in round 17 might be interested in logging onto tigerairways.com.au - as the topic says, $28 flights are on sale.

Can't beat that.

forget it, l went to GC with Tiger and they are the biggest rip off airline on the face of the earth, would rather walk than go with those scumbags

Thanks DD.

I think the locals should pick the best place for a gathering and we go with it, just my thinking though.

Not thrilled about going with Tiger, especially because these airlines essentially lie about their "cheap flights" - but at least there'll be a lot of Demons on the same flights.