Posted

Thanks Maj!!!!

Great post mate! wish there were more people like yourself out there!!

Posted
I was going to post this as a new topic but I reckon it is best served here...

Alright my name is Dave, I am not a Demons supporter, I support Collingwood, yesterday I put forward an idea on a forum I am current admin of, I have called this "TAE's Fight to Save The Melbourne Football Club" we as a forum are looking to collect as much money as we can to send to the Melbourne Football Club. I am setting up an account for the members to place the funds into an account and will pass it onto the MFC.

Good work Dave.

I remember contributing to both Footscray and Richmond's fund raising efforts when they were in dire straits and it's fantastic that supporters of all clubs are willing to chip in and help one another.

PS: Hope the stuff about Didak, the Shaws and other Collingwood stuff around here last week weren't out of line ;)

Guest Maj
Posted
Thanks Maj!!!!

Great post mate! wish there were more people like yourself out there!!

I would hope that we can raise enough, at the moment I have put in $30 and another person has put in $20.

Being a small site I am not sure how much we'll get, we are also looking at helping Grassroots Footy as well, though I am hoping that they stick with the Demons one first and concentrate on this. I have also thought that people can send money orders that can be place into the account.

The account will officially open tomorrow morning (I hope.) since I live in Queenstown, Tasmania I have had to wait until Monday.

We'll see how we go.

And no worries on the Dids thing there, he was a tool and got punished, hopefully we do not lose him though.

Posted
I would hope that we can raise enough, at the moment I have put in $30 and another person has put in $20.

We'll see how we go.

And no worries on the Dids thing there, he was a tool and got punished, hopefully we do not lose him though.

Good on you David. Thats great stuff. AFL needs traditional rivals like Melbourne and Collingwood in the AFL to continue, I helped Footscray and Nth Melb and even Richmond with the "save our skins" campaign. Moments like these we all need to stick together.

Guest melbman
Posted

$100 from myself and $100 from my Dad

Goo Dees!

Posted

So is the club hoping to wipe the whole 5mil in this one month?

Because if so, and all they're hoping is for this steady stream to continue, i'm worried we won't even get close. Almost halfway through August and supporters (aside from the dinner) have raised 168,000.

I can't see what anyone else would be waiting for to chip in, i hope there are more events planned to keep the total ticking over

Posted
So is the club hoping to wipe the whole 5mil in this one month?

Because if so, and all they're hoping is for this steady stream to continue, i'm worried we won't even get close. Almost halfway through August and supporters (aside from the dinner) have raised 168,000.

I can't see what anyone else would be waiting for to chip in, i hope there are more events planned to keep the total ticking over

I think the aim is to wipe $3M in August, and you're right to be worried - I'm not sure we'll make it to $3M, and can't see us entirely demolishing the debt.

However, it's still been a great effort to raise so much money, and I'm sure there's more to come.

I'm certain I read about an event planned for those who want to donate $500+, but I haven't seen any more info on that in the members email, debtdemolition site, etc.

Posted

i read that as being a function for those who had donated 500 or more, that's what it seems like on the website

Posted
However, it's still been a great effort to raise so much money, and I'm sure there's more to come.

To be sure, to be sure. There will be more to come. It's a tough ask to wipe off all $5Million, but Debt Demolition was all about significantly reducing the debt.

It's a great effort already with still half a month to go.

Posted

I'd have thought in debt demolition month the club would be going over the top with this.

Ad's, posters, anything. All I've seen is a little link on the website (i hope it's just me missing it)

Is this another thing we're missing out on because we have no home location? I remember SOS(Save our Saints) had raffle tins in lots of milkbars etc., the Dogs fund was likewise, tins, raffles, posters all throughout Footscray.

It's been a great effort to raise so much money, but you'd think we'd try and wipe it fully, or at least as much as possible

Guest Maj
Posted

With our fight to save the Demons at The Animal Enclosure we have written, and gotten a reply from Jim Main, who posted our letter in the latest Inside Football Magazine. We have also gotten a reply back from the MFC and we have a place to end a cheque to the club, we are now just waiting on some donations there, we have gotten to $50 so far.

I have set up a paypal account which will be used, as well as the bank account to get the stuff rolling, as I am sure people are wary about sending money to an anonymous person on the internet and worried about where all that will go. I can assure everyone, and anyone concerned I will be posting any and all documentation that I get.

Posted
I have set up a paypal account which will be used, as well as the bank account to get the stuff rolling, as I am sure people are wary about sending money to an anonymous person on the internet and worried about where all that will go. I can assure everyone, and anyone concerned I will be posting any and all documentation that I get.

Good work Maj, keep it up. Plenty buy Inside Football, it has all the stats you want.

Posted

We now officially have $2,286,616!!!!!!! Well done everyone! Remmber, donate with your heart, not your wallet! Your passion is what is important when DEMOLISHING THE DEBT!

:D

Guest Shaneo
Posted

Me and the missue donated $250 between us as well as buying a $200 raffle ticket.

I was hoping we would get to 3 million but I don't think its realistic now.

What do you guys think we will get to by end of month???

Cheers and go dees...

Posted
Me and the missue donated $250 between us as well as buying a $200 raffle ticket.

I was hoping we would get to 3 million but I don't think its realistic now.

What do you guys think we will get to by end of month???

Cheers and go dees...

Going to struggle to get to $3 million - I don't know if Foxtel's $100K is counted in the running tally. If it is, we will be lucky to make $2.5 million.

Best hope the club has another big hit up its sleeve but even that might just get us to $3 M.

Posted
Going to struggle to get to $3 million - I don't know if Foxtel's $100K is counted in the running tally. If it is, we will be lucky to make $2.5 million.

Best hope the club has another big hit up its sleeve but even that might just get us to $3 M.

PS I had hoped for a big lift from Saturday's game.

Let's hope it comes round 22. Say 20,000 members/supporters turn up to see us [censored] the Toygs. Each donates an average of $20 that day. There's $400,000. That's the kind of effort we need.

Put it together Jimmy

Posted

i dont care what anyone says. getting rid of 2.3 mill of our debt is a really good effort.

i say we get upto 2.5mill and then place it all on red on a crown roulette table, then it will double to 5mill and then goodbye to our debt! :P

Posted
i dont care what anyone says. getting rid of 2.3 mill of our debt is a really good effort.

Yeah its a great effort by the 150 that came up with the first $2.1m and the handful of members that have bothered to donate the remainder.

Pretty dissapointed to be honest, I expected at least $1m from the members, thought the dinner might get some momentum going and push it even higher, it seems to have had the opposite effect.

Hopefully theres 20,000+ odd members holding off until closer to late August to donate.

Posted
Yeah its a great effort by the 150 that came up with the first $2.1m and the handful of members that have bothered to donate the remainder.

Pretty dissapointed to be honest, I expected at least $1m from the members, thought the dinner might get some momentum going and push it even higher, it seems to have had the opposite effect.

Hopefully theres 20,000+ odd members holding off until closer to late August to donate.

I sent off $50 yesterday....slowly we are making progress. GO DEES :wub:

Posted
$2,360,399

Make that $2,360,449 Stigga.

At the start of August I predicted $3.5 million. I will stick to my prediction. Great effort nevertheless by all Dees and other supporters.