Chris Johnson

CJ would be good trade bait, but would also be good if we kept him. What you reckon?

guys who use the ball well off half back are not exactly a dime a dozen at our footy club. he's a must keep.

Why put 4 or 5 years into the kid then as soon as he starts coming good give him the arse?

Agree CJ aint going anywhere he is just developing into the player I always thought he could be

Why put 4 or 5 years into the kid then as soon as he starts coming good give him the arse?

Here, Here.

Here, Here.

Ditto. CJ is one of the classy running half backs we were crying out for ditto Petterd. Need him for so many reasons.

Because thankfully he now may have some trade value. He's not tough enough at the contest to be of value in a final.

I would definitely trade.

Because thankfully he now may have some trade value. He's not tough enough at the contest to be of value in a final.

no less tough than andrew mackie

Contrary to popular belief, i still don't think his trade value will have risen much. He's gone from non-existent value, to perhaps a 4th rounder? He's getting a lot of the ball, playing predominantly loose off HB, where it's expected that you get big numbers. Especially when your team is bad and the ball is in the backline all the time.

I like CJ and have been impressed with him this year since his return, but the fact of the matter is he's probably of more value to us than he would be to any other team, purely because we've put those years into him developing him, and we're now seeing the rewards. He's got a lot of the ball since he's been back in, but i doubt too many others teams out there would be 'licking their lips' at the prospect of getting CJ, unless it were for dirt cheap, which in all honesty would not benefit us at all.

i cant believe i am reading what i am reading!!!

why would you want to trade the only player in our team who can kick a football the way an AFL player should???

on the weekend everything he touched ended up resulting in a goal!!!

you guys are crazy if you want to lose a young guy who has always been good (hence stkilda wanting him) but never liked by that hack Neal Daniher

cmon please!!!

No less tough than Harry Taylor.

you talk about building a side....

C johnson is our answer carrying the ball out of attack....

or if you would prefer bode??

his skills are by far the best at the MFC

im starting to like cj. at the end of the day, each time he touches the ball is time that the other team doesnt have the ball. he is a definite keeper.

Hannabal I understand you have high expectations of players and so do I but do you need to dismiss every player because they have a perceived deficiency. All players have them. Norm Smith medalists abound with players with deficiencies that play thier role well. CJ is playing his role well and his ilk are required atm.

If the offer is good, there's no reason why we wouldn't consider it. But the club has identified the void in 25-27 year olds in the team, so if we do decide to trade him we'd need to find a way to replace his gap.

why would you want to trade the only player in our team who can kick a football the way an AFL player should???

Because he's soft.

you guys are crazy if you want to lose a young guy who has always been good (hence stkilda wanting him) but never liked by that hack Neal Daniher

cmon please!!!

Cmon Neale Daniher was definatly not a hack! He brought us alot of success but unfortently he didn't bring us to the top. I'm not saying that he shouldn't have retired cause his time was indeed done, but to say he is a hack is just stupid

Hannabal I understand you have high expectations of players and so do I but do you need to dismiss every player because they have a perceived deficiency. All players have them. Norm Smith medalists abound with players with deficiencies that play thier role well. CJ is playing his role well and his ilk are required atm.

Mate I've seen enough deficiencies at the MFC to last me a lifetime, and no you can't trade them all. And I'm not advocating that, but I also understand that there are certain attributes that are required to stand up to the heat in finals, even if we are some years away from presenting again. CJ has traits that I believe will be shown up when it matters most and the pressure is at its fiercest.

Others disagree ? Fine.

Also on the actual matter, keep CJ we shouldn't trade off a young player beginning to play some good footy especially after we have invested so much money into him.

oh wow

the genius strikes again

what would you give up for him Mr.Einstein

I suppose we should ship off Paul Johnson also hey Socrates?

lets trade him along with N. Jones, B. McLean, C. Sylvia, P. Johnson, C. Garland, J. Frawley, J. Rivers...

don't be stupid - you forgot Davey, Buckley, Petterd, Ozzie and Warnock

apparently they will all be useless in the finals so my source tells me :o

guys who use the ball well off half back are not exactly a dime a dozen at our footy club. he's a must keep.

Got it in one... But only because if we keep him for one more year and he averages 25-30 possessions of a HBF for the whole season, he could command a very tasty pick, perhaps even one of the first 15 that GC17 have their hands on...

And if we got pick 15-25 for him that would be a sensational return. We need players who can deliver the footy. But we need class more. In the end, anyone can get a kick in the back line...

I'm a big advocate of trading players that will never be much good but manage to boost their trade value by playing well in the 2nd half of seasons. It's a unpopular opinion and is barraged by calls that "He's come good" and "Why develop him then!" but I think CJ is prime for a trading. Just IMHO. If Sylvia/Rivers had done the same I'd be saying the same.