View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

2008 Brownlow Betting

Posted

Refer below for the odds the Herald Sun have reported for 2008 brownlow betting.

This list triggered off a couple of questions in my mind:

1. Does Judd deserve to be outright favorite given his move to a side that is less likely to win as many games as the 2007 Eagles?

- I would have started Gary Ablett as favorite.

2. Given that not a single Demon has made this list - Who would have the shortest odds and what do you think they should be?

- Tough call; Based on last year, could throw a blanket over most of the team and give them 100-1

3. How on earth did Lance Franklin make it on to this list?

- Perhaps the Hawks faithful have a gambling culture similar to our recently departed.

2008 Brownlow Medal betting:

Chris Judd (Carlton) $10

Gary Ablett (Geelong) $12

Jonathan Brown (Brisbane) $13

Daniel Kerr (West Coast) $13

Adam Goodes (Sydney) $15

Sam Mitchell (Hawthorn) $17

Matthew Pavlich (Fremantle) $21

Jimmy Bartel (Geelong) $21

Simon Black (Brisbane) $21

Nick Riewoldt (St Kilda) $21

Andrew McLeod (Adelaide) $28

Dean Cox (West Coast) $31

Brent Harvey (Kangaroos) $31

Nick Dal Santo (St Kilda) $35

Lance Franklin (Hawthorn) $35

Luke Hodge (Hawthorn) $35

Scott West (Western Bulldogs) $35

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/com...5E19764,00.html

The odds are always based on the previous year and players at clubs. Based on this, you would have to say Jones would be there and i recon at 60-1. Brock should be 80-1 too. My outsider chance at melb would be Pettard...watch this kid

If you're betting on the Brownlow now you are an idiot. Same goes for the premiership and the wooden spoon.

• Author
If you're betting on the Brownlow now you are an idiot. Same goes for the premiership and the wooden spoon.

So I guess that supports my theory about Lance Franklin and Hawks supporters?

The TAB has Brocky at $61 - the shortest odds for a Melbourne player. Following that is Bruce at $201 and then Junior at $251.

For Occo, you can have a piece of Ricky P at $1001.

My pick (out of MFC players) is Jonesy. Get on him for a place at $76, or, if you're ultra-positive, the win at $301.

I think Franklin deserves those odds. Hawthorn should win more games next season and Franklin could be pushing towards 90 goals next season with his rapid improvement. He will kick bags of 6, 7, 8 and probably have 1 game where he kicks 10 or more. 6 or 7 good games for franklin is 18- 21 votes right there.

I've got a mate who writes reports on oppostion teams' game plans for Alastair Clarkson and he tipped Bartel to win the brownlow at 300-1 at the beginning of this season. He also gets foxtel as a tax deduction but that's another story...

The final 8 is a different story.

The dee's at 4/1.....i'll take it.

I think Franklin deserves those odds. Hawthorn should win more games next season and Franklin could be pushing towards 90 goals next season with his rapid improvement. He will kick bags of 6, 7, 8 and probably have 1 game where he kicks 10 or more. 6 or 7 good games for franklin is 18- 21 votes right there.

Yep. I won't say I'm a fan of his, mostly because he doesn't wear the red and blue (though he barracked for us didn't he?), but this kid is, and has been for a while, something really special. When Johnno Brown starts to age and fade, or when he gets his next big impact injury, Franklin takes his place as the scariest CHF in the comp.

That said, Forwards don't traditionally win too many Brownlows. I wouldn't be punting too much on him, but yeah, I think you're nuts if you don't rate him.

Out of the Dees, I think Brock would be "facied" if you can call it that, as our best Brownlow chance. He seems to have a VERY strong reputation among opposition fans... But I don't know that he'd be within reach of a Brownlow with the list in the state it's in. After him, I'd say Bruce, despite all his misgivings in the last 2 years, deserves to be next.

im gunna put my house on Jones at 300-1.

I'm gunna be a freaking millionaire hahahaha

Definitely chucking 5 E/W on both Brock and Jonesy.

The final 8 is a different story.

The dee's at 4/1.....i'll take it.

I got $2.75

personally im gunna get on simon black at 21-1... he should be close to favourite the umps love him and he is all class and shows no signs of slowing down... brisbane are top 8 locks next year if brown stays fit... they are regaining bradshaw a fit sherman and TJ who will relish not getting the 1st tag.....

simon black $20 at 21-1 and maybe $5 on tj for fun

some other odds arnt that great on the tote tho. $1.22 for a aussie win against India. I got $1.65

I find centrebet to be the best all-round in regards to good odds on most things, they heaps more betting options then their competitors. You can bet on Darts FFS, this may not be a good thing. :-)