A Great Idea

Posted

In my opinion, the MFC is always a step behind when it comes to out side of the square thinking.

I heard that Essendon hand out memberships/information/merchandise at some citizenship ceremonies in their area. My wife just become an Australian citizen and I thought that would be a great initiative for the MFC to get involved in.

All these new Australians would be part of something. There are thousands of new Australians coming through our doors and we need to get a percentage as Demons.

I think Hawthorn used to broadcast their games on the Chinese radio.

It is not enough to simply get kids on board, we need whole new families.

This is a great opportunity.

good idea...however, doing something like this takes innitiative, something our club lacks a little...I would be interested in helping out some time if somebody could organise an idea like this

I wish people would stop spouting B.S. like the above line.

I'll tell you what Nasher...when the clun gets iuts act together then we'l l shut up !! til then the club has a long LONG way to go inlearning how to promote itself.. on a scale of 1-10..it'd be lucky to scrape ina 1

if the Mfc were in charge of promoting a product for me..Id sack then in a heartbeat

its all fine and marvy to come out with glib comments like "spouting [censored] "... but if we WERE doing a grand slap up job then there would be very little tocomplainabout....however the total opposite is true.

or perhaps yo can outline how fantantic we ( Mfc) are at promotig this club. this brand etc.. we've got the most unique circumstances on a plate.. and its all but going down the Insinkerator at present !!

if its BS...show us why ??

Going to China: initiative. Being part of the TeaMelbourne brand and being involved in the constuction of a multi-million dollar base: initiative. The idea to focus more on the "Melbourne" brand rather than the "Demons": initiative.

Look, bub, I'm not saying there's no scope for improvement to our marketing strategies, because there definitely is, but when people come out with nonsense such as "the club shows no initiative" every time some other club does something is blatently false and it gives me the willies.

yes they are great things.. but they are long time coming items !!

We need to be around for them to have any effect.

Somethings need to be more immediate.

Heres a simple idea

we'll have an online brainstorming try and come up with at least 5 things the club could do to raise awareness intially and possibly inprove memebership and bums on seats etc.

1) co opt the MCC ( Melbourne City Council ) with our illustious #1 member to display at various times through year a sereies of flags etc usitilising the various banner poles through out the city...as they do for variosu other things.

2) A billboard as you leave Tulla.. "welcome to Melbourne , Victoria . Home to eth eMFc demons.. proud originators and participants to AFL football for 150 years

3) A bloody billboard on Swan Street proclaiming that bit of dirt as the New home to the Mfc

4) A statewide competition through Primary schools .. maybe an essay or project on AFL footy ansd how Melbourne has been part of it. Winning schools get MFc providing clinics ..and other stuff.. footies.. jumpers.. even free Junior memberships and possibly a senior one to accompany winner to games

5) we are heading into Christmas...the biggest spending time of year.. lets promote a special xmas membership package.. No idea what it might be.. but thats the detail not the idea..

Get in peoples head s now.. NOW !!

come on 5 mor from others..

we can combine them all and pass on to the Club !!

Thats INNITATIVE !!! B)

Going to China: initiative. Being part of the TeaMelbourne brand and being involved in the constuction of a multi-million dollar base: initiative. The idea to focus more on the "Melbourne" brand rather than the "Demons": initiative.

Look, bub, I'm not saying there's no scope for improvement to our marketing strategies, because there definitely is, but when people come out with nonsense such as "the club shows no initiative" every time some other club does something is blatently false and it gives me the willies.

Completely agree Nozz.

I also find it "great" that when posters proclaim their own initiative they never formally submit those to the Club for consideration. FCS I would have thought it was in the posters and Clubs interest.

so rhino...you Psychic...you KNOW what we all do ??

Always so ready o ad glib snide comments.. dont see any contributions here from you!!

how about it...

easy ... put up or shut up!!

happy to grab the ideas form here and forward on !!

so rhino...you Psychic...you KNOW what we all do ??

Always so ready o ad glib snide comments.. dont see any contributions here from you!!

how about it...

easy ... put up or shut up!!

happy to grab the ideas form here and forward on !!

I do not care a jot what you do. I'm not the one having a public slap at the Club and then not giving them the benefit of submitting your suggestions to them for considerations. Are you aware of the CLub's assessments of similar or same ventures? Any cost/ benefit assessments on those ideas? Whats the strike rate on such billboards? Why should the MCC provide a facility to MFC and not to other Clubs? Why would the Education department allow such a competition just for us let alone the MFC?

MFC works with a limited budget in a competitive market and while it has been accurately pointed out it could improve it does seek to improve its market share. But cheap potshots are not constructive for the Club nor do they improve the achievement of objectives which I would have believed would have been commonly shared.

As for the snide comments..."Ive just about given up on this club having any promotinal skills what so ever. This despite our leader supposedly a guru in his industry.

Honestly this club couldnt sell a hot dog to an eskimo !!!"....

Ever constructively spoken to the Club about your issues and the market/cost pressures or are you pleased as punch with yourself for raising questionable suggestions and having a cheap dip at the Club anonymously on a public site?

BTW, I think your idea for an TV ad if they did go down that track is worthy of being suggested to the Club.Go for it.

good idea...however, doing something like this takes innitiative, something our club lacks a little...I would be interested in helping out some time if somebody could organise an idea like this

nasher, u may have noticed that i rarely talk bad about my beloved club...but if u compare us to clubs like carlton who update their websight often with video snippets, something we're improving on but are not great at...we also have problems with our websight that often need updating..the club are also EXTREMELY DISSAPOINTING at telling us where and when training is and are hardly encouraging attendances at training, but making me feel like i am imposing on the club when i head down to junction oval...also, i have sent many emails to the club on various issues and rarely get replies...also, i made a call about my membership only having four years of consecutive membership on it and they promised to send me an email or phone call the next day, NO. and also i am still the only member in my family to have got sent my membership card and renewal form which is weird because i thought it would be easier for me to do it all at once........dont get me wrong, i think that the club is great and doing some great things, but that is why i believe there is a lack of iniative because they frustrate me when they dont do the little things...on the point of this topic, i thought it would be a great idea but i cant imagine the club showing any interest in it, especially if i emailed them, they would probably pass off the idea.

all jockularity aside.. please.. people post some ideas.. its not about validity, jsut some simple ideas..na d then I'l compile them and forward to the powers that be.

Just throw up whatever you think might be a reasonable thought.

lets see if we cant get 50 ideas ...then let the club sort chaff from wheat

I don't want my club to waste its small amount of disposable cash on billboards or ads that would do nothing to help the club get financial backing or members.

Behind the scenes gathering of sponsors and investments are the way to go, but supporters don't see that and if they can't see something then its not happening.

You want to do something worthwhile for the club - help out The Red and Blue Foundation that's trying to raise a couple mil so we can get into our new digs at Olympic Park.

You have your thoughts I have mine.. you think 25 bucks here or there makes all the dif huh ?

you have to get ground swell..you have to get product/brand recognition. we have NONE !!

Its not just about a billboard..its about getting an 'act ' together, promoting a brand so its deirable, recognisable and worth the effort to support. In a bizzarre way its almost nothing about football other than where the club sits in the grand scheme of things.

Brands such as Virgin really have nothing to do with their various industries as much as they do with the way peopel perceive them.

Melbourne nees to promote it self in a a manner that a possible suitor would feel left out if they didnt get on board not as some desperado glad to get anything.

If you the club doesnt get this,..then it wont get anything out of positioning and promotion

Brands like Nike Coke.. Sony.. etc are all about the attitude and what it mean to allign oneself with them, thats why stuff is bought.

Billboards are a tool... a means..not an end.

Who doesnt remember the Windsor Smith billboards and the publicity they generated. All these things have to be co -ordinated

in order to raise the recogition of Melbourne(fc) it has to be redeveloped as more than a football team it has to be portrayed as a sporting lifestyle... you are a DEMON !! etc.. its a dog eat dog world now for the consumer dollar and we nee to be smart. You cant do it liek it wa in the 70's 80's. etc. we have to make ourselves very much part and parcel of the very fabric about being a Melbournian !

Some may call this all a giant w@nk !! but this is how business is done at this level. if you want to be a player....you have to rise to this level...or perish!! In 15-20 years time there may well be only 4 Melb based Afl teams.. we need to ensure we are THE one !!

mate, no wonder media and [censored] supporters from other clubs gives us a kick whenever they can when our own supporters love to do it!!!!