Posted

It would be unusual in any field to be overlooked for a position and remain under the incumbant. You 'd have to think he will move on. Still time will tell

Posted
It would be unusual in any field to be overlooked for a position and remain under the incumbant. You 'd have to think he will move on. Still time will tell

Greg Denham has just said on SEN that Josh Mahoney has been appointed as 1 of assistants and that he thinks Mark Riley will probaly end up at the Blues as main assistant to Brett Ratten. Best offer from them and Greg feels no room for Riley at MFC.

He also confirmed Doggies interest in Robbo & they offered 3 years and MFC 2. Said felt not likely Robbo will leave but is possible.

Posted
Greg Denham has just said on SEN that Josh Mahoney has been appointed as 1 of assistants and that he thinks Mark Riley will probaly end up at the Blues as main assistant to Brett Ratten. Best offer from them and Greg feels no room for Riley at MFC.

He also confirmed Doggies interest in Robbo & they offered 3 years and MFC 2. Said felt not likely Robbo will leave but is possible.

Sorry that post is not to clear.

Are you saying that Josh Mahoney has been appointed an assistant coach at Melbourne?

Posted
Sorry that post is not to clear.

Are you saying that Josh Mahoney has been appointed an assistant coach at Melbourne?

According to Greg Denham, yes

Posted
who is Josh Mahoney ??? :blink::wacko:

Port Adelaide Premiership Player.

Average footballer, but I trust Bailey knows who he wants and why.

I also hope that Riley stays, his knowledge of our list will help Dean enormously.

Posted
I also hope that Riley stays, his knowledge of our list will help Dean enormously.

hardly any REAL reason to keep a "coach". Coaches need to be effective. Just knowing who x y or Z is hardly commands the bikkies !! I have a suspiscion that Bailey has already built a far more realistic appreciation of most of the ( to be retained ) players than many people who should know better.

Nupp.. let Riley go is he wants... no big loss...That was then...this is now :)

Posted
hardly any REAL reason to keep a "coach". Coaches need to be effective. Just knowing who x y or Z is hardly commands the bikkies !! I have a suspiscion that Bailey has already built a far more realistic appreciation of most of the ( to be retained ) players than many people who should know better.

Nupp.. let Riley go is he wants... no big loss...That was then...this is now :)

Riley made the 5 person shortlist. He can obviously coach, given that other clubs are chasing his services.

To have 3 of the 5 people who made the shortlist work at the club next year will be a great result.

Posted

Id be very surprised if Riley remains there. After many years at Deeland Im sure he may want to find fresh pastures. it can never be easy to remain and work under someone who has beaten you for a position, esp now he has tasted coaching at the top level. Now I suppose the same may be leveled at Connolly but he will have an important role to fulfil in the footy dept.. Riley is a bit like a spare shag on a rock right now.

I just feel Riley still represents an era that was soft/wrong.. and Im happy enough for him to move on.

you know what they say...3's a crwod !! ;)

Guest fatty
Posted
To have 3 of the 5 people who made the shortlist work at the club next year will be a great result.

Why is this a good result?

I'd prefer Bailey to form his own opinions about the players. I don't think he needs someone to tell him that Yze is as soft as butter.

The players need a fresh approach to the way they operate. Hangovers from the past are just clouding judgement.

Posted
Why is this a good result?

I'd prefer Bailey to form his own opinions about the players. I don't think he needs someone to tell him that Yze is as soft as butter.

The players need a fresh approach to the way they operate. Hangovers from the past are just clouding judgement.

I agree, just whipe the slate clean and let Bailey bring in his own people.

Posted

or continue the misguidance of the past...

Posted

Look, I won't be devestated if he leaves, but given how many changes will take place over summer, it could be good to have a familiar face, especially for the players.

If he goes, he goes, if he stays he will work under Bailey's instructions, so there will be no misguidance of the past!

Posted

Pretty much what occured to me also !! :)

I wish Neale all the best where ever he goes.. he's given and deserves a warm welcome whenver he likes ( socially ) . In this vein ( just in case you were wondering where I was going with this... you were werent you !! lol ) I see Riley also. To me he's a Danniher ver 2.1b. Riley and Danniher are like "Windows" to a club. ( all shiny shiny , bells and whilstles.. and constantly disapponts when you rely on it ) I want something more like a "Linux" and thats what Bailey and whoever he brings in will be I feel. Nothing quite so glamourous and shiny .. but something that works !!

I dont think it did with Mark. Personally he would have earnt far more brownie points if he had coached us to a better draft selction.. but thats by and by now. what ever Riley was bringing to the equation it just wasnt quite right. If he stays ..he stays.. If he goes Im happy for new eyes and thinking to take up the slack.

I'm pretty sure Mark will move on..and like Neale.. I wish him all the best and thanks for the effort :)

Posted
Look, I won't be devestated if he leaves, but given how many changes will take place over summer, it could be good to have a familiar face, especially for the players.

Jaded.. I fully understand this sentiment .. however I wil suggest this is exactly what we DONT want. its time teh players had a very rude awakening to what is NOW.. its time for them to awaken to a New Order.. and the less of the old thats around I feel the better. They need to all earn their bikkies. The less 'familiarity " the better for mine.

Posted
Jaded.. I fully understand this sentiment .. however I wil suggest this is exactly what we DONT want. its time teh players had a very rude awakening to what is NOW.. its time for them to awaken to a New Order.. and the less of the old thats around I feel the better. They need to all earn their bikkies. The less 'familiarity " the better for mine.

Agree. MUST give Dean Bailey the total flexibility to reshape the Footy Department as he wants it. He will be judged on the team's performance & has 3 years to establish himself and implement his plans. Cant hamper him by dictating what assistants he has to have. Even if M Riley and P Williams are contracted for 2008 MFC Admin must take responsibility for the oversight not Dean Bailey.

No point going thru such and extensive process & then hogtie the successful candidate!! Would be the same if Sheedy or CC got the nod!

Posted

I wrote in another thread that I believed that Bailey should be given the right to appoint whomever he wanted to without being handcuffed to the past.

And while I bear Riley absolutely no ill will (although I don't think he was ever going to get the gig, despite being one of the final five candidates) I want to see a completely new philosophy at the Demons. And the way I see it for that to occur I would think new personnel will need to be in place. A clean slate.

Besides it would not be the easiest of roles for Riley to go back to being an assistant under the man who beat him to the top job.

Port Adelaide Premiership Player.

Average footballer, but I trust Bailey knows who he wants and why.

As for Mahoney, I don't know much about him but I do know that he is very recently retired, played in Ports Premiership, and stated that he wanted to coach, and from what I can remember came up through the footy ranks the hard way. Not the most naturally skillful or talented but worked hard to become a real player.

I also trust Baileys judgement and hopefully this will prove to be another good move for our future :) !!!

Posted

Get Glenn Archer in!!!!! Williams is a permiership player and fits the midfield coaching role well- its jsut we had some new blokes coming through this year, jonesy, dunny, mclean had a horro year, injuries ect. our midfield is looking good though for the future. So i reckon get Archer, then someonelike a Frawley or someone more experience to assist 'Bails'

Gotta start calling him Bails

ps...anyone noticed the amount of headlines reffering to Baileys the drink i.e Bailey puts list management on ice, ect

Posted
Rehn n libba are free now, id take Rehn

I rather have a player fresh out of the game, rather than a bloke who another team feels they are not good enough to hang onto.

Posted
yeah just realised that haha

ooops :unsure:

forgot to mention where he said it... it was on the foxtel show "on the couch" a few weeks ago