In: Wakelin, Licuria, Stanley, Cox, Bryan

Out: Prestigiacomo (foot), Richards

New: Danny Stanley, 19, Geelong U18

• Replies 53

Posted
Don't reckon we'll go with 3 talls on the bench, but i agree Holland has to play to nullify Rocca. Maybe Frawley might be sent back to the 2s

If we're bringing back Holland, then the only player to drop is Frawley. I don't like seeing it, but at least Holland has some history on Rocca.

Agreed.

Wouldn't mind Yze/Buckley coming in for Brown.

Posted
Why play Holland. I would take a punt and keep playing Frawley.

I knoe Rocca is in pretty good touch and his marking on the lead is white hot. Thats what tempts me to go with Frawley as he has a turn of speed. If Bizzel plays, maybe he drop into the hole and push Rocca out wide or up the ground. Frawley's not bad on the rebound either.

Its a risk but If I were coach for a day, i'd do it.

Posted
Almost certainly Yze for Brown. "Horses for Courses" matchup versus Collingwood - great record. Otherwise bench looks very defensive.

yze averages .9 goals per game but average 1.5 against collingwood, his second favorite team to score against. he average 2.5 against fitzroy... ;)

his average possessions against collingwood are however only 15.5 down on his average of 18.3, and his 3rd lowest against any team (brisbane bears and fitzroy being the other lowest). sort of suggests that when he plays up forward and kicks goals he doesnt get as much footy as when he plays down back and doesnt kick goals doesnt it? makes a lot of sense.

Posted
yze averages .9 goals per game but average 1.5 against collingwood, his second favorite team to score against. he average 2.5 against fitzroy... ;)

his average possessions against collingwood are however only 15.5 down on his average of 18.3, and his 3rd lowest against any team (brisbane bears and fitzroy being the other lowest). sort of suggests that when he plays up forward and kicks goals he doesnt get as much footy as when he plays down back and doesnt kick goals doesnt it? makes a lot of sense.

HAHA .... gone abit stat crazy...

yer yze must play... we need goals

got a stat for the last 5 or so Qs birthday for av goals and possesions?

Posted

disposals, 17 (2006), 17(2005), 17 (2004), 18 (2003), 16(2002)

Goals 4, 5,3,2, 0

weird, weiiiiiiird stats!! got towelled in 2003 didnt he? i remember he looked very ginger running around the field

Posted
disposals, 17 (2006), 17(2005), 17 (2004), 18 (2003), 16(2002)

Goals 4, 5,3,2, 0

weird, weiiiiiiird stats!! got towelled in 2003 didnt he? i remember he looked very ginger running around the field

3 goals a game....id take that....

saw u on yotube 2night hotdog....

nice video of yzes bannan in the troy broadbridge match one of my fav goals....

Posted

geez did i go bonkers over that goal! tim lane even went a bit nuts on that one, though you cant really hear it

Posted
geez did i go bonkers over that goal! tim lane even went a bit nuts on that one, though you cant really hear it

yer i think i hear robert walls about to say somthin smart arse comment but it cuts out

Posted

Season Rnd Versus K H D M HO T FF FA G B SC Rat W/L

2006 R11 Collingwood 13 4 17 6 0 0 0 0 4 0 24 89 Win

2005 R12 Collingwood 13 4 17 5 0 1 0 0 5 2 32 98 Win

2004 R12 Collingwood 15 2 17 7 0 2 0 0 3 1 19 97 Win

2003 R11 Collingwood 16 2 18 6 0 1 0 1 2 1 13 84 Loss

in the last 4 queens birthday matches he has kicked 14 goals 4 behinds, awesome accuracy, at an average of 3.5. (averaging 17.25 possessions)

here are the previous queens bday matches as well...

2002 R11 Collingwood 13 3 16 2 0 2 0 3 0 0 0 50 Loss

2001 R11 Collingwood 18 4 22 2 0 2 0 2 0 0 0 70 Loss

2000 R14 Collingwood 30 5 35 6 0 3 4 1 1 1 7 138 Win

1999 R11 Collingwood 13 3 16 1 0 1 1 0 1 1 7 60 Win

1998 R8 Collingwood 12 2 14 3 0 2 2 0 1 0 6 65 Win

1997 we didnt play on queens bday

1996 R10 Collingwood 4 2 6 2 0 1 0 0 1 0 6 32 Win

there was also one in 1995 but i couldnt get the stats from that. in the previous 6 games he scored 4 goals at an average of .67. probably when he was playing as a back. (average 18.1 possessions, or 20.6 not including the 96 game)

Posted
I knoe Rocca is in pretty good touch and his marking on the lead is white hot. Thats what tempts me to go with Frawley as he has a turn of speed. If Bizzel plays, maybe he drop into the hole and push Rocca out wide or up the ground. Frawley's not bad on the rebound either.

Its a risk but If I were coach for a day, i'd do it.

Sorry mate, but Frawley does not have the strength to take on Rocca.

Biffinator

Posted
Sorry mate, but Frawley does not have the strength to take on Rocca.

Biffinator

Comrade, Play a "gorilla on a gorilla" I understand what you are saying.

Carroll will be giving away height and bulk against either Rocca & Cloke. So would Frawley. I know Holland can match either in this department but for mine is too limited in skill and disposal. Just as important I would have thought.

Maxwell is the only other tall (190); Fraser will float forward but can be covered by either White or Johnson.

Holland can be a liability. He can also be good sometimes .But generally he's slow, indecisive in posession; poor disposal; predictable. Still, I reckon he'll play.

But for me

In: Frawley

Emergencies: Holland

Posted

the dees should have the upper hand once they go forward.. Prestigiahomo is out which means wakelin is liable to have the job on Neitz, and robo can outclass any tall forward with his ability. Sylvia is also a good markin option deep forward. Only thing dees should be concerned of is shaw brothers and one will match davey, but he is most likely to play more in the midfield.

Posted

Exactly, mclean_sweep

Neitz, Robbo, Sylvia, Bate and Davey should run riot

No way do the Pies have the backling to stop them

MOVE IT FAST AND KICK IT LONG!!

Posted
I still shake my head each week when i see D. Ward in the run on side.. id much rather he played left right out.. surely were at the stage where frawley or another youngster is getting big game experience

Robbo made comment on 3AW sports today, That the Dees are still a mathamatical chance of playing finals and hes not the only one Ive heard say this. This tells me that the club hasnt given up on the season.

Thats why they havent made too many changes by introducing the kids.

Posted
Robbo made comment on 3AW sports today, That the Dees are still a mathamatical chance of playing finals and hes not the only one Ive heard say this. This tells me that the club hasnt given up on the season.

A very long shot. I'm not very confident about them making the finals - but wishing like hell they will!! If they beat the filth, my confidence will go up an extra notch :rolleyes:

Posted

Melbourne is paying $13 to make the finals from here.

In my opinion this is a very, very poor bet.

I would think odds of at least $50 would be closer to the mark.

I guess this means that there are a few people out there who think the Dee's are still a chance.........

Not I.

Posted

Rocca did not train today and is in doubt for Monday apperantly.

Hopefully we're on the ball with this one, because if Rocca doesn't come up, we'll need to make a late change and get someone in for Holland.

It would be wasteful to have Holland sit on the bench for the whole game.