Posted

Personally I reckon these "huge loss to the game" remarks are a little over the top. I reckon he's one of the most overrated players in the competition. A very good player no doubt, but not the superstar people make out.

Posted

I was never a massive fan of Brown however I do feel very sorry for him as his retirement is not his fault. Another great player retires which is always sad to see. I guess we will see what happens tonight.

Posted
Nathan Brown - Rich, is a money hungry, smart asre little pratt. Got what he deserved. Another one bites Whelans dust. Ask the guy at KFC in Qld what he thinks of brown.

Your an idiot.

Nobody deserves to loose their career like that. No matter what you think of them.

To say he deserves it is pathetic.

Posted
Nathan Brown - Rich, is a money hungry, smart asre little pratt. Got what he deserved. Another one bites Whelans dust. Ask the guy at KFC in Qld what he thinks of brown.

Thats something a Collingwood supporter would say, your not a Collingwood supporter are you?

Posted
YM

I hope you never change companies or work for someone else when they have offered more money and /or better conditions with a view to bettering your lot in life.

Seriously, so many people hold afl players up to standards that would never apply to themselves.

I hope he comes back as he is the reason you go to the footy.

So if Brock McLean decided at years end that Collingwood have offered him 100k more a year and he decided to leave, you'd wish him all the best, after all, he's looking after his lot you know?

I agree Nathan Brown is rated far to highly, a superstar? please... a Star? please, a very good player who actually hasn't done a great deal in football to people to rave about, he played well in a poor side, went to another poor side and played well.... didn't star, isn't and never was a super star.

I won't shed a tear to be honest.

Posted
So if Brock McLean decided at years end that Collingwood have offered him 100k more a year and he decided to leave, you'd wish him all the best, after all, he's looking after his lot you know?

I agree Nathan Brown is rated far to highly, a superstar? please... a Star? please, a very good player who actually hasn't done a great deal in football to people to rave about, he played well in a poor side, went to another poor side and played well.... didn't star, isn't and never was a super star.

I won't shed a tear to be honest.

Of course I would be dissappointed if Brock left as I feel he is a massive cornerstone to build around. But people forget that these guys are people who have only a few years to set them selves up for their post footballing days.

Brown gave great service to the Bullies. When he left them, they were not the exciting team with new facilities being built. They were mired in debt, constant doubts over there long term future and they were on a coaching merry go round. So he looks over the fence, sees an opportunity to reinvigorate himself and possibly his career while playing with his mate Richo, for a club with a huge supporter base, better facilities and what he thought was a better future. Maybe he made the wrong choice.

But please dont come across all high and mighty saying that you would turn down a massive pay increase, better conditions at a rival company just because of your loyalty to your original employer.

Guest wheres_jacka
Posted
Your an idiot.

Nobody deserves to loose their career like that. No matter what you think of them.

To say he deserves it is pathetic.

Me..... an idiot?? I think not! Nathan Brown DESERVES to end his career this way in my eyes. Cant stand the little pirck. Obviously you have some weird infatuation with him. Good luck with that. I cant stand players who change clubs purely for $$, and no other reason, especially when already bein looked afterwell by a struggling club. Reminds me of Gerard Healy. He and Wallet deserve eachother.

Posted
Me..... an idiot?? I think not! Nathan Brown DESERVES to end his career this way in my eyes. Cant stand the little pirck. Obviously you have some weird infatuation with him. Good luck with that. I cant stand players who change clubs purely for $$, and no other reason, especially when already bein looked afterwell by a struggling club. Reminds me of Gerard Healy. He and Wallet deserve eachother.

You personal dislike for a player does not mean he should have to finish his career in such a way.

And it is a sad indictment on anyone who thinks that what happened, and is still happening, to Brown is what he deserves for changing clubs.

No matter what that motivation was. Who are we to judge.

You don't have to like it, but honestly if you can't at least understand it then reality is a very distant place.

Posted
You personal dislike for a player does not mean he should have to finish his career in such a way.

And it is a sad indictment on anyone who thinks that what happened, and is still happening, to Brown is what he deserves for changing clubs.

No matter what that motivation was. Who are we to judge.

You don't have to like it, but honestly if you can't at least understand it then reality is a very distant place.

Your Highness you are spot on.

I have no issue players changing clubs for more money. Football is an uncertain, risky career and players deserve to get their economic worth from the system.

The spite in this thread should not undermine the fair achievements of Nathan Brown. He has been crippled at his peak and I wish him well in his recovery.

For the record here are his achievements in AFL which are significant.

Player honours: Richmond 3rd best and fairest 2004; All-Australian 2001, 2002; International Rules Series 2000, 2001, 2002, 2004; Bulldogs leading goalkicker 2002, 2003; Morrish Medal 1996.

He is as a much a star as some of the MFC boys labelled as such on this site.

Guest wheres_jacka
Posted

Sledger of Gehrig for sx acts he didnt do

Belter of KFC kid

"Writer of poetry" to make some sort of a PR balance

And much more. Great guy! Well done Wheels, top effort!

Posted
Sledger of Gehrig for sx acts he didnt do

Belter of KFC kid

"Writer of poetry" to make some sort of a PR balance

And much more. Great guy! Well done Wheels, top effort!

For someone trying to demonise someone for not achieving your moral high ground your performance is definitely well below sea level.

Posted
karmas a [censored]

Bad luck, Judas

I am with you, thats what he gets for being such a blatant traitor

And how do you describe Jeff White?

Posted
did anyone end up retiring?

No I don't think so.

And the blatant cruelty (not to mention the copious amounts of hypocrisy) in this thread is totally appalling.

Posted
One of the top ruckman in the league is what I would say! How about yourself?

Typical, one rule for and not another. Jeff White...a top ruckman??? Which year?? Definately not now. Behind Cox,Everitt, Sandilands,Clarke, Lade to name a few. Thats 5, where does the "top" of the league finish?

Posted
Typical, one rule for and not another. Jeff White...a top ruckman??? Which year?? Definately not now. Behind Cox,Everitt, Sandilands,Clarke, Lade to name a few. Thats 5, where does the "top" of the league finish?

2004 AA ruckman.

BTW, your comment missed the context of the thread anyway.