View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Daisy Pearce

Posted

Had the very good fortune to meet Daisy today. She and the rest of her team are on an end of season trip to Hobart after winning the flag and were drink at the same pub I got to on Friday (the Tele for locals). Good looking girl as well as being great to talk to - a credit to the club each year in the women's game. Hopefully Daisy is in the red and blue for a few more years yet.

Daisy worked with my wife when she was doing her RN stuff. Wife said she was a really nice chick.

Good on her for what she has achieved, and I hope she stays in the R&B for a few years to come.

She's not terrible on the eyes

Or breed her with Hogan?

I read a sad story once on former NBA #1 pick Yao Ming which explained that basically he was born after the Chinese government coerced two behemoths with sporting ability to mate and produce a specimen worthy of basketball domination.

Your suggestion however, is a great idea.

Really? It made it to 4 posts.

Fair call. Let's breathe some life into this thread then.

As some of you may remember, I coach a bit of footy. And more and more I focus on coaching girls (school, underage rep and club) and have coached senior women as well but couldn't continue to commit the necessary hours with a young family. At a period in time when it's not always easy owning up to being a Melbourne fan, I've been incredibly proud of what our club has done for women's football. Our sponsorship of the Victorian League and our support of the exhibition game concept has been huge. I was a little disappointed in the quality of the first exhibition game, mainly because I knew how many quality players weren't playing but this year's game was a ripper. The standard rose significantly. I was pretty excited on a personal level to see a certain young lady in red and blue steal the show because I've been fortunate to coach her in a couple of different teams over the past three years.

The female game is expanding rapidly with participation levels through the roof. The 2020 vision is something I thought was a bit of a pipe dream a few years ago but now I'm hopeful we may well have a national competition in the very near future. But I'm am wary when every time the women's game is mentioned on any footy forum the responses still contain some real low brow garbage. I just hope Melbourne members understand how passionate the girls involved in our Indigenous game are and how focused they are on improvement. Like me, you should be proud of what our club is doing and I hope you continue to support our involvement. When I coach, I always tell my teams that the most respectful thing I can do is to treat them no differently to a male team. Please do likewise when you discuss the concept and the future of the female game and do so with an understanding and hopefully an appreciation of the professional and dedicated commitment of the participants.

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Featured Content

• Welcome to Demonland: Steven King

The Melbourne Football Club has selected a new coach for the 2026 season appointing Geelong Football Club assistant coach Steven King to the head role.

• Thanks
    • 606 replies
  • AFLW PREVIEW: Port Adelaide

The undefeated Demons venture across the continent to the spiritual home of the Port Adelaide Football Club on Saturday afternoon for the inaugural match for premiership points between these long-historied clubs. Alberton Oval will however, be a ground familiar to our players following a practice match there last year. We lost both the game and Liv Purcell, who missed 7 home and away matches after suffering facial fractures in the dying moments of the game.

• 1 reply
  • AFLW REPORT: Richmond

A glorious sunny afternoon with a typically strong Casey Fields breeze favouring the city end greeted this round four clash of the undefeated Narrm against the winless Tigers. Pre-match, the teams entered the ground through the Deearmy’s inclusive banner—"Narrm Football Weaving Communities Together and then Warumungu/Yawuru woman and Fox Boundary Rider, Megan Waters, gave the official acknowledgement of country. Any concerns that Collingwood’s strategy of last week to discombobulate the Dees would be replicated by Ryan Ferguson and his Tigers evaporated in the second quarter when Richmond failed to use the wind advantage and Narrm scored three unanswered goals. 

• 4 replies
  • CASEY: Frankston

The late-season run of Casey wins was broken in their first semifinal against Frankston in a heartbreaking end at Kinetic Stadium on Saturday night that in many respects reflected their entire season. When they were bad, they committed all of the football transgressions, including poor disposal, indiscipline, an inability to exert pressure, and some terrible decision-making, as exemplified by the period in the game when they conceded nine unanswered goals from early in the second quarter until halfway through the third term. You rarely win when you do this.

• 0 replies
  • AFLW PREVIEW: Richmond

Round four kicks off early Saturday afternoon at Casey Fields, as the mighty Narrm host the winless Richmond Tigers in the second week of Indigenous Round celebrations. With ideal footy conditions forecast—20 degrees, overcast skies, and a gentle breeze — expect a fast-paced contest. Narrm enters with momentum and a dangerous forward line, while Richmond is still searching for its first win. With key injuries on both sides and pride on the line, this clash promises plenty.

• 3 replies
  • AFLW REPORT: Collingwood

Expectations of a comfortable win for Narrm at Victoria Park quickly evaporated as the match turned into a tense nail-biter. After a confident start by the Demons, the Pies piled on pressure and forced red and blue supporters to hold their collective breath until after the final siren. In a frenetic, physical contest, it was Captain Kate’s clutch last quarter goal and a missed shot from Collingwood’s Grace Campbell after the siren which sealed a thrilling 4-point win. Finally, Narrm supporters could breathe easy.

• 2 replies

Configure browser push notifications

Chrome (Android)
  1. Tap the lock icon next to the address bar.
  2. Tap Permissions → Notifications.
  3. Adjust your preference.
Chrome (Desktop)
  1. Click the padlock icon in the address bar.
  2. Select Site settings.
  3. Find Notifications and adjust your preference.