Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

Stage 14 ... live coverage from the official site

Jean Francois Pescheux's view ... The lesson from stage 13? Expect anything!

The road to Lyon is littered with climbs. They are big but there are many and the terrain will surely help dictate how the race is done. Fatigue will also be a fact. The peloton might be tired from an epic race to St-Amand-Montrond

Froome needs to defend and will surely spend his day marking the moves but they are likely to come thick and fast now that teams have sensed that the Sky team is no longer as dominant as it was 12 months ago.

Map of the course, video and preview

Posted earlier but here is the profile again ...

PROFIL.png

Stage 14 analysis (10 minute audio podcast)

Comprehensive summary ... Trentin: the premier Italian stage winner in the 100th Tour

It was a closely fought battle for line honours but ultimately Matteo Trentin of the Omega Pharma-Quickstep had the strength - and the wits - to relegate his escape companions to the minor places. He has been a vital member of the lead-out train for Mark Cavendish but today he got his own chance to shine and, away from the OPQ-Express he showed that he's a formidable sprinter in his own right.

Bastille day in France today and what a stage we have in store ... will post the preview's later but here's a look at the profile ... the climb to 'Mont Ventoux' will begin at around about 12.15am.

PROFIL.png

Was a little exciting early on the coverage with the big break away of 18 being held at 40 secs and the peleton chasing hard. The puff went out of it pretty quickly as there were no GC contenders in the break. Was hoping for a similar stage as rhe day before where a team challenged Sky. Conditions were not right for it unfortunately.

But now it begins!!! Tonight is the most ridiculous stage I have seen (have only really been following the Tour for 7 or so years). It is the longest stage of the Tour this year yet finishes with one the most punishing Mont Ventoux. The last 21kms go straight up hill, from 300mts to 1,900mtrs!!!! INSANE!!! A few will miss the cut off today I suspect.

If a GC rider falls off the back on this climb he could lose 15 minutes.

Equally someone like Cadel or Andy Schleck could ride themselves back into the race tonight.

But Quintana,Froome and Contador will be the obvious one to watch out for

It will certainly be an interesting stage tonight. I suspect we'll see a few of the GC teams try and apply some pressure to Sky.

Last year Sky seemed to restrain the field with their relentless pace making, this year however they just don't seem to have the cattle to get it done. The vultures are starting to circle.

I'm expecting to see another move by Contador and Saxo if the opportunity presents. Mollema and Belkin will be another to watch out for, they seem to be going under the radar somewhat in the race so far.

I'm also interested to see what will come of Quintana (what a debut) and Movistar. Now that Valverde is out of GC contention, Quintana is their next best placed. He's been in a few breakaways, so I hope that his youthful exuberance hasn't compromised what remains of the tour. Particularly now that he's got a rider like Valverde as support, what a luxury to have.

Cadel and BMC have been a little disappointing so far. Maybe my expectations were set too high (he is getting on a bit). The question is, is he far enough back in GC that he'll be allowed to get away in a break?

If a GC rider falls off the back tonight he could lose 15 minutes.

Equally Cadel or Andy Schleck could ride themselves back into the race.

But Froome,Contador or Quintana are the obvious ones to watch out for assuming a breakaway doesnt get to the foot of the climb with minutes in hand

Certainly Evans and Schleck still have everything to prove. I can't really see them being overly aggressive, they just have to be opportunistic and take whatever presents itself.

IRW, what's your take on Mollema, Ten Dam and the Belkin team? I haven't being paying much attention to them.

Stage 15 ... live coverage from the official site

Jean Francois Pescheux's view ... Mont Ventoux: another legend is about to unfold

The longest stage of Le Tour 2013 promises to be a most compelling competition but it is no ordinary day on the race. This is a battle for bragging rights. Rising to an altitude of 1,912 metres Mont Ventoux inspires writers and riders alike. More has arguably been said about this one climb than any other in the long history of the Tour de France.
It is brutal and beautiful. And the winner here becomes part of the legend of the race. To conquer the slopes Giant of Provence – just by reaching the summit – is a dream for almost every cyclist and tomorrow someone gets to add their name to the winner's list.

Stephen Roche: "This is the moment the Tour gets serious. So much depends on the weather on the Ventoux. It can be incredibly stifling if it's hot and extremely hard if there's a headwind when you get out of the trees at Chalet Reynard. If a specialist climber is to win they will need to make a move here."

PROFIL.png

Another great stage last night. I get the feeling that Froome is one of the few riders that is actually in form, but beyond that, his performances are quite unbelievable. If it where any other sport he'd be lauded as an absolute champion, but given what's happened in cycling, particularly over the last 12 months, it's understandable that there's some questioning his performances.

Given that it was such a landmark stage (the longest stage, Bastille Day, Mont Ventoux, 100th Tour) I'd like to see them come out with something a bit different. So I'm hoping to see Froome out in a polka dot yellow jersey. Let's make it memorable.

As an aside, is anyone else disappointed that Jack Bauer is doing so poorly? Or at least a little surprised that he's a New Zealander?

Another great stage last night. I get the feeling that Froome is one of the few riders that is actually in form, but beyond that, his performances are quite unbelievable. If it where any other sport he'd be lauded as an absolute champion, but given what's happened in cycling, particularly over the last 12 months, it's understandable that there's some questioning his performances.

Given that it was such a landmark stage (the longest stage, Bastille Day, Mont Ventoux, 100th Tour) I'd like to see them come out with something a bit different. So I'm hoping to see Froome out in a polka dot yellow jersey. Let's make it memorable.

As an aside, is anyone else disappointed that Jack Bauer is doing so poorly? Or at least a little surprised that he's a New Zealander?

JJ..... what can you say.. the way he pedalled away from the last pack then powered past the riders he was chasing down was so far above anyone else it is not funny. He is being challenged by a 23yr old only at this stage who was able to hold him for some attacks but again the way he powered away was too strong for all. Now as we all know that raises questions in this sport but the flip side is maybe there is just a massive lull in the top riders; Evans, Contador are on the down slope of careers (Contadors looks like he is now off the gear and is just not as good without it). Schleck is probably a year away from being the rider he was after injury, Valverde is not in the top class and Quintana is still a babe in the woods (gee wizz how good will he be in 3-5 years??) and there is not much else on the road at the minute. Froome is either a class above or something I don't think we want to think about as it would be shattering for the sport and fans a like.

PS the UCI are weak as water, teams are not allowed to offer feed bags on his or withing 20ks of the end of a stage yet there was Sky all grabbing a feed back within 10ks on the climb...

I am in so much awe of these guys, I mean how the hell can you ride for 200 plus kms and then ride up a huge mountain like that?!

I did hear the commentators say last night that they adjust the rules for those sort of hill climb finishes, 10ks was the cut off last night so it was legit.

Credit where it's due, Froome was awesome, but it's cycling and comparisons will be made...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FXPXHK7I1iQ

Contador was almost comical last night, he tried to go with Froome, got left behind and ended up being caught by his team mate

It was certainly an emphatic performance by Froome. It's a shame that thoughts other than 'awesome' or 'what a champ' can jump into your way of thinking. It's only natural that we've become a fair bit cynical and suspicious.

He probably would have won the tour last year if the team weren't riding for Wiggins so it's not as if he's come from nowhere. The spectre from the Armstrong era will hang over the sport for a number of years unfortunately.

Interesting stance from Chris just a few weeks ago ... Froome’s fury at cheat Lance

“And I know that my results aren’t going to be stripped in five, six, seven years time. “But I sympathise with the fans who feel they have been let down as I was one of them.

“But I think the sport is in probably the best place it has been in the last 20 or 30 years in that respect. “Using drugs is just not accepted anymore.”

“It is really sad and it is hard not to get angry as it almost feels the better we do our job the more people think we’re doping. “But these people feel they have been let down in the past.”

Anyway, here's a 12 minute audio podcast from last night's stage ... Chris Froome produces a blistering ride

For a comprehensive summary of the stage ... Froome: victory in the Sky

Froome is the strongest in the race. He has climbed to a second stage victory and continues to remind everyone that there was a good reason he was the favourite for the title of the 100th edition.

This was a stage that many eagerly awaited and ultimately it became a one-man show ahead of a cast of stars.

Cast of stars... only 1 star this Tour. A Kenyan star!!!! Ooops sorry a Brit star.

Ha! Perhaps the wording should have been ex stars.

I know as soon as I declare Froome over the line something will happen to prove otherwise. There are still the 3 mountain stages to go and I can't help but think that the tour could be ultimately decided in the climb to the top of 'Annecy-Semnoz' (stage 20) That stage is preceded by 2 other tortuous stages of course.

Froome will need to be at his best in all those 3 stages ... here's the stage 20 profile ...

PROFIL.png

I should have said 1 star and 1 future star, the little Q will be a super star and you know what I can't wait to watch his years of dominance.

With another indivdual TT coming up Froome will extend his lead even further, 6+ mins anyone? Then will be interesting to see how all pull up going into the next mountain stages. I just wish Cadel was 3 years younger as I think it would be a close Tour if he was.

Good point re the time trial there, Cards. That time trial (Wednesday) also involves 2 x cat2 climbs (albeit not very long - distance wise)

I don't wish any ill will on Froome, but he's probably going to have to 'collapse' on one of the remaining difficult climbs to lose it. Anything can happen and I suppose I'm just hoping something 'dramatic' happens. :)

As Froome said himself, he's in great form and last night proved it. He just put the foot down and left them in his wake. He may do it again. I reckon he's that sort of sportsperson - no hesitation, just go for it.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/othersports/cycling/tour-de-france/10181430/Tour-de-France-2013-race-leader-Chris-Froome-cannot-escape-shadow-of-disgraced-Lance-Armstrong.html

I find it laughable they are getting their backs up about the cynisim on Froome's domination. Cycling allowed the likes of Landis, Pantani, Chippolini, Merckx and the Armstongs to dope, continue to dope, win and DIE, yet now when the world is so cynical of a potentially great rider they huff and puff about it. How many riders lives were destroyed by taking the drugs, how many lives and careers were destoryed by NOT taking the drugs, I think of Cadel who could have won 2-3 Tours but dopers like Contador (I have a real dislike for him) got in the way.

Well cycling old chum suck it up princess, you've made your bed now lay in it I'm afraid.

I can understand their frustration, they're being judged on cycling's past. But as our ex coach said a few times "It is what it is".

Another good article along similar lines from the SBS website Can We Believe You?

Couple of interesting articles there Cards and JJ. It's doubtful that any 'teams' would get involved again in a drugs program after all the furore of the Armstrong saga (but you never know for sure) Individual cyclists - different story.

Stage 16 ... live coverage from the official site

Jean Francois Pescheux's view ... Battle of the GC men set to continue

Only minutes after the dominant display of climbing from Chris Froome on Mont Ventoux the Saxo-Tinkoff directeur sportif Fabrizio Guidi stated that the winner of the 100th Tour de France had yet to be decided.
“There are still opportunities in this race and we're highly motivated,” said the Italian. “Froome shouldn't rest assure of the overall win just yet.”

Barry Hoban: "Gap is often the way into or out of the Alps. This time, the stage could be seen as a quiet one in between the Ventoux and the time trial but we saw the Schlecks get into trouble on the descent of the Col de Manse in 2011. I don't expect anything too dramatic but you never know…"

PROFIL.png

I can understand their frustration, they're being judged on cycling's past. But as our ex coach said a few times "It is what it is".

Another good article along similar lines from the SBS website Can We Believe You?

Yea mate I have no sympathy, they all put with the poo, they need to clean it up now.

And until they release ALL of the personal data on themselves then again you have to question.

Edited by Cards13

Not a lot of action on this stage, so I decided to look up the rules.

Tour de France Regulations

Rules governing feeding are as follows:
• in general, continuous supplying is authorised between the signs located near the 50th kilometre and the signs marking the end of the feeding zone posted 20 kilometres from the finish. Race directors may, with the approval of the stewards, change these provisions during a stage to adapt to weather conditions or any exceptional circumstances.

That's what I basically heard the commentators say during the climb, though I don't know if the race directors/stewards actually decided to vary the 20k to finish limit on Mont Ventoux.

So, who knows?

Not a lot of action on this stage, so I decided to look up the rules.

Tour de France Regulations

That's what I basically heard the commentators say during the climb, though I don't know if the race directors/stewards actually decided to vary the 20k to finish limit on Mont Ventoux.

So, who knows?

Funny I heard P&P (Paul Sherwin and Phil Liggett) mention the issue last night. two things is raises for me,

1) I think P&P have been really poor this year commentating. Saying things like Cadel had only dropped 2mins on the team TT was no big deal, not really aware of what has occurred with the feed bags.

2) Why did P&P or other journo's not chase that down if it is a breach of rules, or did UCI say it was ok? What ever the outcome at least be a journo and follow it up not just brush it off. I think of footy commentators and if something happens during the game they will try and find an answer if not during hte game, after the game, if not after during the week after.

Who knows maybe that is just the tiredness from so many late nights haha.

Maybe the rarefied atmosphere of the alps explains P & P's form?

I guess it may come down to penalty? What is the penalty for contravening these rules and will it make any difference to the standings? It may just be a monetary fine and have no bearing on the results. But a follow up from the commentators/journos would have been nice.

I think the sleep deprivation is starting to get to me. At least I thought it was when I saw an ad during the telecast.

Is it just me, or is that a peculiar ad?

Contador looked strong last night, I guess he's just got to keep pushing Froome to see if he will crack. Makes for an interesting few stages coming up.