Posted

What are you talking about. you don't put in a tream when they're bottoming out. Your gotta pick sides that are playing great footy, currently. But still rotate it so everyone gets a chop out.

Maybe it would be last years grand finalists, or the Preliminarary finalists that missed the Granny.

Honestly, I don't agree. You can have one-sided games, yes. But you can have fantastic ones. Wasn't it two years ago where Essendon came out and pulled an absolute blinder to win it?

• Replies 67

Posted

Regardless of what anyone says or thinks...Essendon & Collingwood fill our Home Ground every year..WHY? Because they are consistently competitive in the AFL competition.

In 1958 99.000+ people watched Melbourne v Collingwood when we were killing all our enemies regularly. Thus QB exists.

Block Busters are not to be shared...Ya gotta earn the right...Which is why Round 1 with Richmond & Carlton is a joke...That is the one we should aiming for.

Or else a Night Game at the G after the Filth & Essendon have gone home.

Posted

Regardless of what anyone says or thinks...Essendon & Collingwood fill our Home Ground every year..WHY? Because they are consistently competitive in the AFL competition.

In 1958 99.000+ people watched Melbourne v Collingwood when we were killing all our enemies regularly. Thus QB exists.

Block Busters are not to be shared...Ya gotta earn the right...Which is why Round 1 with Richmond & Carlton is a joke...That is the one we should aiming for.

Or else a Night Game at the G after the Filth & Essendon have gone home.

I put it to you it's also the other way around that years of outsmarting other clubs and winning Privilidged games, has set them up ahead of the rest.

Therein lies the inequity of the AFL system. We're playing for premiership points and Grand Finals. Unfortunately money has become a BIG player in the development and conditioning of sides, and is very uneven, in the competition.

Posted

Honestly, I don't agree. You can have one-sided games, yes. But you can have fantastic ones. Wasn't it two years ago where Essendon came out and pulled an absolute blinder to win it?

I think you know I was talking about a mismatch of say GC Suns v the Hawks. That shouldn't happen 'til the Suns are a powerful side.

Posted

I put it to you it's also the other way around that years of outsmarting other clubs and winning Privilidged games, has set them up ahead of the rest.

Therein lies the inequity of the AFL system. We're playing for premiership points and Grand Finals. Unfortunately money has become a BIG player in the development and conditioning of sides, and is very uneven, in the competition.

Your partially right. Trouble is there are too many teams, Sadly in the next Decade some will die off.

You cannot blame the Top sides for being too good. Ess, Carlscum, Richmond, The Filth all had huge followings before the game became proffessional.

I do not agree with a socialist system 100%, The draft is great, and yes the weaker clubs can ask for help. BUT there is a cut off point, a club must be able to pay its Bills and generate a supporter base, and that includes the MFC.

Posted

Can't be done, most/many years. Shared that is.

ANZAC day can be any day of the week - say a Wednesday. The draw needs to be manipulated significantly just to get 2 teams playing with equitable timing (days rest etc). Rostering on more games would be very difficult/impossible.

QB game a bit different - always a Monday.

Posted

I'm saying NO, but if it were to happen IMO the best and fairest way to share it around may be for the previous grandfinalists to play??

Posted

Your partially right. Trouble is there are too many teams, Sadly in the next Decade some will die off.

You cannot blame the Top sides for being too good. Ess, Carlscum, Richmond, The Filth all had huge followings before the game became proffessional.

I do not agree with a socialist system 100%, The draft is great, and yes the weaker clubs can ask for help. BUT there is a cut off point, a club must be able to pay its Bills and generate a supporter base, and that includes the MFC.

Even if some relocate, that still won't balance the inequity. They have to stop the Exclusiveness or take all gate receipts and distribute evenly with the other revenues.

Those with "blockbuster" games are financially better off, but also marketing wise with sponsorships, and attracting members etc. There's no end to the advantage these clubs enjoy over the rest of the competition because of these types of things.

Posted (edited)

Those with "blockbuster" games are financially better off, but also marketing wise with sponsorships, and attracting members etc. There's no end to the advantage these clubs enjoy over the rest of the competition because of these types of things.

It's not that many though.

Essendon & Collingwood - ANZAC Day & the return fixture (due to the revenue arrangement)

Melbourne - QBD

Port & Adelaide - Showdown

WCE & Freo - Western Derby

Sydney & GWS - Sydney showdown (as of next year)

Brisbane & GC - QLD Derby

Richmond - Dreamtime

Carlton & Collingwood - Those rivalry games are an event of themselves

So you're talking Bulldogs, Norf, Hawthorn and Geelong. Of those four

- Hawthorn have the Tassie arrangement plus a huge supporter base.

- Geelong have Kardinia Park which provides far more revenue per home game than any of their Melbourne home games.

And the other two are in financial trouble.

The reality is, the 'sharing' isn't needed. In fact, it's only one or two clubs, one of which is seriously struggling anyway which would need such an arrangement.

Edited by Striker475
Posted

Even if some relocate, that still won't balance the inequity. They have to stop the Exclusiveness or take all gate receipts and distribute evenly with the other revenues.

I am not saying teams should re locate...i am saying there are too many teams. Full Stop.

If i was a broadcaster (not including Telstra) i would be very concerned about the next 5 years. For all the AFL Hype going down, there is going to be a lot of low standard games played over the next 5 years that people will not watch.

The Block Busters are going to be crucial for advertising revenue. They will certainly not be shared around Socialist style.

The MFC must drag itself back up to the top level, rather than be fed welfare. Fortunately i think our present board has the same outlook.

If you want a fair competition we must return to a 12 team 22 round fixture.

Posted

It's not that many though.

Essendon & Collingwood - ANZAC Day & the return fixture (due to the revenue arrangement)

Melbourne - QBD

Port & Adelaide - Showdown

WCE & Freo - Western Derby

Sydney & GWS - Sydney showdown (as of next year)

Brisbane & GC - QLD Derby

Richmond - Dreamtime

Carlton & Collingwood - Those rivalry games are an event of themselves

So you're talking Bulldogs, Norf, Hawthorn and Geelong. Of those four

- Hawthorn have the Tassie arrangement plus a huge supporter base.

- Geelong have Kardinia Park which provides far more revenue per home game than any of their Melbourne home games.

And the other two are in financial trouble.

The reality is, the 'sharing' isn't needed. In fact, it's only one or two clubs, one of which is seriously struggling anyway which would need such an arrangement.

Agreed...North & Footscray are skating on thin ice.

Posted

Agreed...North & Footscray are skating on thin ice.

They're also two of the smaller clubs. North should not get a blockbuster. We get as many fans to Melbourne-North as we do to Melbourne-Brisbane.

The Dogs I'm not sure about - but that's something for their club administration. But definitely not North. I get the feeling that they are indeed a dying club, and right now it seems like nothing will turn that around.

Posted
If i was a broadcaster (not including Telstra) i would be very concerned about the next 5 years. For all the AFL Hype going down, there is going to be a lot of low standard games played over the next 5 years that people will not watch.

The Block Busters are going to be crucial for advertising revenue. They will certainly not be shared around Socialist style.

The MFC must drag itself back up to the top level, rather than be fed welfare. Fortunately i think our present board has the same outlook.

What broadcasters want and talk of a fair fixture are pretty different.

I can't see that the broadcasters are clamouring for a 1/3 reduction in teams/matches.

Posted

What broadcasters want and talk of a fair fixture are pretty different.

I can't see that the broadcasters are clamouring for a 1/3 reduction in teams/matches.

It is an interesting one...because if GWS are worse than the gold coast next year they will find it hard to fill the advert spots.

They will be black spots for sure. I am guessing, but i have a feeling this is a large reason why the deal is taking so long to broker.

Ch 10 have walked away at this stage, Murdoch is not interested in paying so much. Of course this could again change tomorrow.

Posted

Should QB be shared?

They should both stay as is.

Unfortunately, we're the only Club that cares about the Queen's Birthday "blockbuster." Apparently it's our "Grand Final," even though I thought the Grand Final was our Grand Final.

Posted

They're also two of the smaller clubs. North should not get a blockbuster. We get as many fans to Melbourne-North as we do to Melbourne-Brisbane.

The Dogs I'm not sure about - but that's something for their club administration. But definitely not North. I get the feeling that they are indeed a dying club, and right now it seems like nothing will turn that around.

North and Footscray will never have a Block Buster...look at the Membership & Revenue of both clubs.

Port Adelaide are not far behind them either.

Shocking decision to bring them into the AFL...

Posted

Port Adelaide are not far behind them either.

From what I understand with Port, it's much more about supporter wealth issues. They have the support, but because they're so working-class the support actually can't afford to buy memberships.

Posted

From what I understand with Port, it's much more about supporter wealth issues. They have the support, but because they're so working-class the support actually can't afford to buy memberships.

Exactly...You must be able to pay the Bills.

We must Remember that Wayne Jackson presided over that one. Enough said. I mean what other club covers half their ground in Tarps because the stadium is so empty???

Posted (edited)

I am not saying teams should re locate...i am saying there are too many teams. Full Stop.

Ah, you misunderstand me.

I'm not talking about Melbourne, in this issue, about ANZAC Day. Nor am I promoting welfare to anyone. What I am saying is Priveledge is a crock and unjust, and the basis for my discussion about the afl sharing the Blockbusters around to even the inequity for the whole competition.

In a way it's like 'Free trade', theories... it's about breaking 'privilege', and leveling the playing field. Not to lift the battlers, or put them on welfare, but to stop the 'elite' Privileged' few, from syphoning off the cream, that should be shared.

This won't create welfare, but stronger more even competition.

Posted

On a similar topic, whose idea was it to give the Anzac Day bye to the Club which lost the greatest number of players to the War?

Posted

On a similar topic, whose idea was it to give the Anzac Day bye to the Club which lost the greatest number of players to the War?

I was thinking that this morning chook...Not impressed AFL...at all.

Posted

Ah, you misunderstand me.

I'm not talking about Melbourne, in this issue, about ANZAC Day. Nor am I promoting welfare to anyone. What I am saying is Priveledge is a crock and unjust, and the basis for my discussion about the afl sharing the Blockbusters around to even the inequity for the whole competition.

In a way it's like 'Free trade', theories... it's about breaking 'privilege', and leveling the playing field. Not to lift the battlers, or put them on welfare, but to stop the 'elite' Privileged' few, from syphoning off the cream, that should be shared.

This won't create welfare, but stronger more even competition.

Won't work mate....the people will not come to watch a Welfare Block Buster...i say it again..Teams must earn a block buster status, & that includes the MFC.

Posted

Won't work mate....the people will not come to watch a Welfare Block Buster...i say it again..Teams must earn a block buster status, & that includes the MFC.

Again your not getting it. The game would have4 have to be earned. It would and should be at the very least the match of the round. By the best or near best sides available.

Not the bottom team... but rotated to the available best sides.

Not penned in from here to kingdom come.

Posted

Again your not getting it. The game would have4 have to be earned. It would and should be at the very least the match of the round. By the best or near best sides available.

Not the bottom team... but rotated to the available best sides.

Not penned in from here to kingdom come.

So who deserves it right now...? Think it through for a while..