View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

An Open letter to the Coach, Players and Demonland.

Sorry Roost but I've had a gutfull, for every really interesting, informative post on here theres a growing number of junk posts. I just expect better from Enforcer. My own wee personal mission to up the ante a little. Ante in this equation being upping the think percentage prior to the post outcome.

No need to apologise.

• Author

Hey R57 Love your post. I too have been thinking about how far these kids can go this year. Clearly with a third of our squad new they will bring their beliefs into the team and in turn shape the characteristic of our footy team. I like Tom S and Jack T not only because they are talented but because they are relentless and determined. Every team has a characteristic, an ethos or belief about what will take them to the ultimate prize. The question for this new Melbourne team is what are these traits? and how quickly and strongly can the team forge and unite behind them. While the game plan is critical and I'm confident in Baileys ability to design and implement a great one, it is the heart of the team, the camaraderie that makes great teams. So while I want to win footy games this year, I also want to see the team demonstrate their commitment to each other, their heart.

Well there is always someone with something better to say. Well siad Predman. I reckon this is a great question. What is the ethos?

I'd be interested to hear positive views on what it is or what it should be.

Well there is always someone with something better to say. Well siad Predman. I reckon this is a great question. What is the ethos?

What their belief and how strong it will be, can be determined by how they develop, how hard they work together and understand each other's traits. Then there is other factors such as playing to instruction and their belief in the plan & structure set in place by the coaches, this also has a fair degree of influence. The player(s) confidence as such will only strengthen their ethos / belief as a result; their desire to form a formidable combination and a high level of team cohesion (synergy) & intensity. Therefore, dare I say it (knock,knock)..."fuel their passion."

And unfortunately there's always someone who's going to say you've said nothing new, which in itself is to say nothing new.

I'm also a Rookie contributor, but haven't had the nous yet to create a thread. I thought you did a good job of making a statement that started off a thread worth reading - isn't that all that matters? And Predman's questions are good ones. At the most primitive level the 'ethos' of the side on the field (as opposed to the 'mission statement' type of thing that clubs might espouse on a 'corporate' level) ought to focus on what they haven't done for years - run, run and run to make position/create space ahead of opponents; and run, run, run in numbers to back-up the player with the ball.

They used to do this under Northey; since then it's been haphazard or non-existent. One reason why we've been crapped on. Even when we were good, we often got crapped on at the worst moment in the season (when a top 4 spot was in the offing, perhaps) and the rot would set in for weeks on end. Confidence would dissipate overnight, returning too late to have a proper tilt at the prize. As Predman said, Scully and Trengove have that gut-running, relentless appearance about them that might just help to bring back the work ethic, determination and confidence required. I'm reasonably confident that if we show a little patience, it will begin to emerge during this season.

To what extent has our recruiting (and trading) over the past three years been influenced by the characters of the potential recruits (player) as much as their talents? Trapper seemed to have been traded to Brissie for his negative contribution to the team ethos or character. Perhaps it is the steel, sense of belief, etc... of our new recruits that has lead to the FD bringing them to the MFC. For example Luke "pause" Tapscott impresses me with his hardness on the opposition and hunger (his character) for the ball as much as for his sublime boot. While it can be hard to tell the character of many of our new recruits yet, it will be the sum of these beliefs and characteristics that will form our teams ethos going forward... and I'll take Tapscott's over Trapper's for my team come 2012... Best part about 2010 will be watching the boys develop and starting to confidently put out there how they will contribute to our team. I'm sure watching Jack Watts flatten an opposition player with his first serious hip and shoulder will bring a lump to many a Demon fan's throat. Bring it on and enjoy the year...

Edited by predman

And sometimes it is best to simply say nothing.