• Replies 306

Posted
WHAT SORT OF A LAME (EXPETIVES DELETED) EXCUSE IS THIS, FREAK ?? <_<

The truth is that he woke up today to discover he grew overnight, and is now 192cm tall.

Don't worry Rollo you may not understand this, but believe me, he is no good to you at this size.

Posted
The truth is that he woke up today to discover he grew overnight, and is now 192cm tall.

Don't worry Rollo you may not understand this, but believe me, he is no good to you at this size.

but who will kick our points now ?? :angry:

scotty, heater and the other guys on the forward line only know how to kick goals... <_<

we need Freak so we can look a bit more, well, ordinary... :unsure:

Posted

Update Rollo... I can confirm that my female friend Jo from last time who played/umpired and boundary umpired is happy to play as well as find more umpires if needed.

I told her we had umpires already covered, but all you need to do is let me know and I can organise more with her. She is looking forward to playing.

I can also confirm that my friend David (who also played last time) wants to have a run too. I'm still working on at least another 1 or 2 guys.

Posted
Update Rollo... I can confirm that my female friend Jo from last time who played/umpired and boundary umpired is happy to play as well as find more umpires if needed.

I told her we had umpires already covered, but all you need to do is let me know and I can organise more with her. She is looking forward to playing.

I can also confirm that my friend David (who also played last time) wants to have a run too. I'm still working on at least another 1 or 2 guys.

I reckon we should let Jo play...

(thought the coaches were over-protective of her last time)...

what position does she want to play ??

Posted (edited)

welcome again Jo, our only (ever) female player...

Here is the updated game post…

Date : Sunday, November 8...

Opposition : saintsational, talkingcarlton, nick's collingwood site...

Time : 12pm - to be confirmed ("TBC")...

Venue : Victoria Park or Gosch's Paddock (TBC)...

Format : (TBC) :

each game 2 X 20 minute halves

team 1 v team 2

team 3 v team 4

losers play

winners play

Players from demonland : Deemitch, pringle, grant, dazzledavey36, Doggo, Toot182, Wolfmother, WattsHappening, Zarate Kid 20, Supermercado, the russian, BennytheJet, funky41, Fuzz, wonnabeeri, Junior, Charles, Heater, melbournefc, scotty, jacko, Jo, david...

Players from demonology : ruzzier, The Stynes Factor, Tassie_Dee, mat, nat, adam, nick...

Players TBC : BattlerBailey, Cameron the Bruce, MelbournePassion, Carn dees, Benno…

Apologies (players) : Demon Tingles(injured), Wise, mickrocks1, B20, 45hotgod16 (injured), Bucks-Fan, Dappa Dan, deanox...

Apologies (players) not accepted : Freak...

Coaches : Whispering Jack and Redleg (TBC)...

Goal umpires : Brettmcg plus one mate...

Boundary umpires : 3 mates of Brettmcg...

Field umpires : TBC... 2 quality umpy's from the southern football league (thanks to to Brettmcg)...

Helpers : rollinson 65 (from demonology), do it for robbie, dandeeman...

Apologies (helpers) : Dee Knees, george-on-the-outer...

We can never get enough players, umpires and helpers for these inter-forum games, so please post on here and I will update this game thread from time to time...

they tell me hundreds of collingwood supporters turn up for these games, so I hope we can mobilise lots of supporters from demonland and demonology...

Edited by rollinson 65

Posted

Jo is dedicated and doesn't even follow the Dees. It's only because I've asked her! She plays in the women's league for Box Hill Rollo, so NOTHING SHOCKS. Trust me, she's tough as nails. I'm pretty sure she has played everywhere, but I guess she and the coach can work something out on the day....we'll leave that to them, although you know my scenario, I'm pretty much useless unless played anywhere in the 'F' area. I think 3 is the record goals kicked for me for Demonland, will need to improve that! I've bulked up to about 95kg so that's either a good thing or a bad thing.. :)

Posted

thanks, BBbarassi, tom could well fill a hole in the team make-up...

Here is the updated game post…

Date : Sunday, November 8...

Opposition : saintsational, talkingcarlton, nick's collingwood site...

Time : 12pm - to be confirmed ("TBC")...

Venue : Victoria Park or Gosch's Paddock (TBC)...

Format : (TBC) :

each game 2 X 20 minute halves

team 1 v team 2

team 3 v team 4

losers play

winners play

Players from demonland : Deemitch, pringle, grant, dazzledavey36, Doggo, Toot182, Wolfmother, WattsHappening, Zarate Kid 20, Supermercado, the russian, BennytheJet, funky41, Fuzz, wonnabeeri, Junior, Charles, Heater, melbournefc, scotty, jacko, Jo, david, greg, tom...

Players from demonology : ruzzier, The Stynes Factor, Tassie_Dee, mat, nat, adam, nick...

Players TBC : BattlerBailey, Cameron the Bruce, MelbournePassion, Carn dees, Benno…

Apologies (players) : Demon Tingles(injured), Wise, mickrocks1, B20, 45hotgod16 (injured), Bucks-Fan, Dappa Dan, deanox...

Apologies (players) not accepted : Freak...

Coaches : Whispering Jack and Redleg (TBC)...

Goal umpires : Brettmcg plus one mate...

Boundary umpires : 3 mates of Brettmcg...

Field umpires : TBC... 2 quality umpy's from the southern football league (thanks to to Brettmcg)...

Helpers : rollinson 65 (from demonology), do it for robbie, dandeeman...

Apologies (helpers) : Dee Knees, george-on-the-outer...

We can never get enough players, umpires and helpers for these inter-forum games, so please post on here and I will update this game thread from time to time...

they tell me hundreds of collingwood supporters turn up for these games, so I hope we can mobilise lots of supporters from demonland and demonology...

Posted

I have a tentative yes from my mate Daniel, who is a good forward-midfielder. Can play anywhere from wing forward. Have seen him kick big bags of goals too over many games together in junior footy.

Still to speak to my big little brother BL3281, but will try to call him today to confirm.

And I'm trying to get my two cousins down as well. Have just texted them. But one is in yr 12 so may not have time, and the other may be too young (what would be considered too young to play do you think? That little guy who played for Talking Carlton couldn't have been more than 13!!! My cousin is 14, but he can play and would tower over that talented little blueboy).

Posted
I have a tentative yes from my mate Daniel, who is a good forward-midfielder. Can play anywhere from wing forward. Have seen him kick big bags of goals too over many games together in junior footy.

Still to speak to my big little brother BL3281, but will try to call him today to confirm.

And I'm trying to get my two cousins down as well. Have just texted them. But one is in yr 12 so may not have time, and the other may be too young (what would be considered too young to play do you think? That little guy who played for Talking Carlton couldn't have been more than 13!!! My cousin is 14, but he can play and would tower over that talented little blueboy).

i was 12-13 when i started, he'll be right i dont think Saints, Coll or Carlt are that stupid.

Posted (edited)
i was 12-13 when i started, he'll be right i dont think Saints, Coll or Carlt are that stupid.

agree, mitch...

and that was one of our most memorable games, against saintsational I remember...

we had this bloke called scotty who just turned up, and started slotting goals from all over the forward line...

he dragged along his little brother, who embarassed the opposition because he could play...

and his little brother dragged along a mate about his age, who could also play...

didn't get the name, so when I wrote up the game, I had to refer to "scotty's little brother's little mate"...

then it later turned out that you, mitch, were the demonland member who did all the dragging along of the others...

and scotty, although a legendary and consistent performer in these contests, is still not a site member...

we have been lucky that scotty has a little brother, and doubly lucky that scotty's little brother can play...

pringle, we have a female player, can't hurt to have a youngster or two...

I could write one of them up as "pringle's little cousin's little brother"... :rolleyes:

Edited by rollinson 65
Posted
pringle, we have a female player, can't hurt to have a youngster or two...

I could write one of them up as "pringle's little cousin's little brother"... :rolleyes:

pringle's little cousin can really play. He's a gun. If he get's permission from his old man... I say he's in.

pringle also has a couple of older cousins who might be handy. If one of them gives up smoking he might even be able to play.

As for Jo, I'd have her tagging whoever wears #25 for Carlton. She could strike a victory for all women by getting some revenge.

Posted (edited)

My little cousin says he and a friend are very keen to play (so that's 2 more Rollo). As I expected, my cousin in year twelve has to focus on VCE exams.

And BL3281 is an emphatic no. Still sufferring from 'general soreness' following his last game about 2 years ago. He's a slow recoverer.

And Whispering, as for my older cousins who could play, I think it's up to you to do the convincing!!! I'll try to add my powers of persuasion this Friday, but they are both fully aware of when the games will be and I can't think of any reason (including smoking) that should stop them from playing. It's about time they made their long-awaited debuts!!!

Looks like we're shaping up nicely. Plenty of numbers will be important, as I am sure we will have some people pull out in the last few days, some will just be too tired to last 4 qtrs, and some (like myself) are not expecting the hammies to go the distance.

Edited by pringle
Posted
What's the standard like at these matches? i.e. what's the ratio of guys who regularly play footy vs. guys who don't even own a pair of footy boots?

It probably varies considerably between dates depending on peoples availability but most would have had some football experience and the odd one who's just come down for a kick

Posted

Pringle,

Bring your younger cousin and he can have a run.... he'll be fine if someone wants to be silly there is a few of use that play football (Charlesy and Heater) who will remind them that it is a social game and we aren't playing for cattle stations....

When we can confirm a venue we'll set a pub for the after game function.... I'm emailing cuddles and hopefully we have an MFC personality down at the games or at the function afterwards (maybe discuss our draft strateg)y.... This is a great opportunity for us to pull on the famous red and blue and have a kick.

I highly recommend everyone coming down and making it a bit of a social day as well...

Wolfmother

Posted
Pringle,

Bring your younger cousin and he can have a run.... he'll be fine if someone wants to be silly there is a few of use that play football (Charlesy and Heater) who will remind them that it is a social game and we aren't playing for cattle stations....

When we can confirm a venue we'll set a pub for the after game function.... I'm emailing cuddles and hopefully we have an MFC personality down at the games or at the function afterwards (maybe discuss our draft strateg)y.... This is a great opportunity for us to pull on the famous red and blue and have a kick.

I highly recommend everyone coming down and making it a bit of a social day as well...

Wolfmother

hey, wolf...

we should hear about the availability of victoria park after next tuesday...

if that's available, we won't have to worry about a pub, because they have every facility there for storing food and drink for the BBQ/social function after...

Posted

Im pringles young cousin!

at 14 years of age quite a tall and quite built boy.

I ve won 3 league B&F's in the MSJFL.. and chris judd and other guns have won the same award in same division just years earlier.

so hopefully i can do somedamge for the mighty deez!

Posted

Im getting excited for this. Junior and I have been training already. Kick of the footy in the park yesterday. Laps of the tan today. Going to be fun. Have quite a few supporters keen to come down and watch too and sink a few frothies.

Posted
hey, wolf...

we should hear about the availability of victoria park after next tuesday...

if that's available, we won't have to worry about a pub, because they have every facility there for storing food and drink for the BBQ/social function after...

Sounds Good Rollo.... doesn't bother where it is, just want to make sure we have a social side to the game this year as six to the pub was a bit more....

Hopefully we can get cuddles to come down to chat to the faithful so everyone will want to come to the afterparty and celabrate us beating collingwood and carlton