Demonland/Demonology v talkingcarlton

• Author

have taken possession of "the duke" trophy from the sponsors on demonology... :wub:

it's basically just a lump of polished wood with the melbourne and carlton colours displayed... :unsure:

but, given the rough treatment endured by the "big carl" trophy over it's short life, including one trip back to the maker for repairs, this block of wood may be the way to go... ;)

dunno if earl spalding would approve though... :rolleyes:

Rollo I'm a little bit excited about the prospect of lining up an ex-AFL player. Any clues as to who it is?

Guys get a couple of runs in before next Sunday, it'll make the world of difference.

Sorry I meant lining up on an ex-AFL player. A Freudian slip! ;)

• Author
Sorry I meant lining up on an ex-AFL player. A Freudian slip! ;)

no idea who it might be, mate...

and it's still just a possibility, as far as I know...

• Author

some days ago, we agreed with the talkingcarlton guys that the game should be called off if the long-range forecast says it is going to be too hot...

they have now suggested that, if that occurs, we could start at 11.30am...

can we have some feedback on here ??

11.30am start a problem for anyone ??

rollo i think if you are going to change the time, you need to go extreme to keep out of the heat. make it a 6pm twighlight game, or a very early start instead.

just my thoughts. if its going to be 40, playing at 1130 instead isnt going to make much difference to the playing conditions

• Author
rollo i think if you are going to change the time, you need to go extreme to keep out of the heat. make it a 6pm twighlight game, or a very early start instead.

just my thoughts. if its going to be 40, playing at 1130 instead isnt going to make much difference to the playing conditions

think you are right, Benno...

Just heard the long-range forecast is for 26 degrees, so we may be worrying over nothing...

Bureau of Meteorology has it at 33 Degrees

Thats for this Sunday isn't it?

BOM only does 7-day forecasts (that I can see)

Haha, wow, I REALLY have lost the ability to think.

Yes that's for this Sunday, sorry about that!

• Author
Haha, wow, I REALLY have lost the ability to think.

Yes that's for this Sunday, sorry about that!

yep, 26 degrees is all we can coax out of the internet at the moment...

this will change on monday, when the mainstream weather sites get to february 8...

may be time to stop worrying about the weather and start worrying about the opposition... :rolleyes:

• Author

note tonight that the days leading up to february 8 will be mild enough, with temperatures in the middle 20's... :rolleyes:

fingers crossed... :unsure:

I will wait for the official long-range weather forecast before sending reminder emails and pm's to all players and helpers...

sorry about the no show guys, g/fs bday so are heading away for the w/e.

and rollo, i'm sure its not the wobbly punts that the carlton boys would be scared of, but at least i make them earn it when its on the ground ;) fwiw i've got myself a sherrin and have been having the odd kick, slowly getting better, so if there is another game any time soon i'll be there with bells on if i've got the time off.

• Author

"its not the wobbly punts that the carlton boys would be scared of, but at least i make them earn it when its on the ground..."

dunno, deanox, the wobbly punts at goal terrified me... :lol:

• Author

yea, official extended forecasts are in...

showers early, clearing skies, cool...

humidity 69%, maximum 22 degrees...

have just asked the talkingcarlton guys to confirm game on... :rolleyes:

• Author

and now robbo24 is (very likely) unavailable... :o

anyone able to supply a good quality footy or two for the match ??

now asking the rest of our TBC list to confirm or beg off...

here is the updated game thread:

sunday, february 8 at 2pm...

venue is gosch's paddock...

playing for "the duke" (the earl splading trophy)...(confirmed by both sides)...

past record is dees 1, blues 0...

confirmed players...Doggo, funky41, Charlesy, Heater, Oxxx, Mclean4brownlow, scotty1, Imtoohot, Wise, the_russian and one mate, Tassie_Dee and two mates, fuzz, ucanchoose, madness, scotty2 (mate of madness), mickrocks1, BennytheJet, Demon_Tingles, swannie (mate of fuzz), The Stynes Factor, dazzledavey36, 45hotgod, (99%) of Benno, (90%) of Hards, jacko (mate of Mcl4b), luke (mate of scotty1)...

players TBC...becks, dooky (pringle's brother), pringle, sean (mate of scotty1)...

confirmed coaches...redleg, Whispering_Jack...

confirmed helpers...rollinson 65(from demonology), Dee Knees, pringle (if the hamstring prevents him from playing)...

helpers TBC...legend, do it for robbie...

injury list...pringle 1-2 weeks, rivvo(from demonology) - the knee (waiting on MRI to confirm the dreaded ACL)...

apologies...Cactus, Wolfmother, Toot182, george_on_the_outer, tarzan16, grant, Freak, melbournefc, travis, jo, rusty_kingswood, james, BL2381(permanent apology), cameron the bruce, cribbes, deanox, robbo24...

starting positions to be decided by the coaches on the day...

after-match beer at cricketers arms hotel, punt road...

please post on this thread to complete our numbers for february 8, and new players let us know what position(s) you would prefer to play...

don't be put off by our existing numbers, the heat (or the cold in bloody melbourne) will be as big an opponent as the talkingcarlton guys...

• Author

for those players and helpers without email addresses... :rolleyes:

and for those who have diabled their pm function on site... :o

and, finally, for those whose pm's are full... <_<

here is the reminder going out tonight :-

Hey, people…

Reminder is early because I expect to be in court all the rest of this week – and, yes, eventually cleared of all charges (the joke is wearing thin, guys)…

Gosch’s paddock…

Melway map reference 2G E10...

TRAIN... to richmond station, walk south down punt road (city side). Walk past the collingwood training ground. If you come to boulton parade, you have gone too far...

CAR... free parking may be available at the punt road oval. If not, try the richmond side streets south and east of swan street, also a commercial car park in swan street...

WEATHER... extended forecast says showers clearing, 70% humidity, and 21 degrees...

people, it's melbourne, so bring umbrellas as well as spare jumpers and footy boots (ground is in good condition and will be wet) !!

the talkingcarlton guys have the personnel to provide a real contest and a tough game...

we really should not have won last time, our team looks slightly better than our team last time on paper, but they have some regulars back who we have not seen, especially KPPs in defence…

people, it's melbourne so bring water AND suncreen !!!

helpers... we have never had enough additional water, so don't slack off on your commitments...

players, we have as yet only two helpers committed to bringing extra water, so bring your own…

I have some additional guernseys, but bring additional jumpers if you have them for players without...

if anybody has a match-quality footy or two, please let me know so we can stop looking…

AFTER MATCH DRINKS... crickerters arms hotel, punt road...follow the crowd...

if anyone has last-minute info for the coaches (can't make it, can make it with extra players etc, I invite you to ring me on my mobile on the day 0408 698 328...

see you sunday, february 8 at 1pm (doggo, this means you !!) or thereabouts...

regards,

peter connor (aka rollo)

hey guys am playing had first training session last nite god it was good :P anyone livin near boronia or bayswater otherwise i will train it in ?

sorry guys but luke cant make it, but scott, jako and i are still in.

• Author

we lost our umpy today, but found a quality replacement...

still asking if anyone is able to supply a good quality footy or two for the match ??

still asking the rest of our TBC list to confirm or beg off...

here is the updated game thread:

sunday, february 8 at 2pm...

venue is gosch's paddock...

playing for "the duke" (the earl splading trophy)...(confirmed by both sides)...

past record is dees 1, blues 0...

confirmed players...Doggo, funky41, Charlesy, Heater, Oxxx, Mclean4brownlow, scotty1, Imtoohot, Wise, the_russian and one mate, Tassie_Dee and two mates, fuzz, ucanchoose, madness, scotty2 (mate of madness), mickrocks1, BennytheJet, Demon_Tingles, swannie (mate of fuzz), The Stynes Factor, dazzledavey36, 45hotgod, (99%) of Benno, (90%) of Hards, jacko (mate of Mcl4b)...

players TBC...becks, dooky (pringle's brother), pringle...

confirmed coaches...redleg, Whispering_Jack...

confirmed helpers...rollinson 65(from demonology), Dee Knees, pringle (if the hamstring prevents him from playing)...

helpers TBC...legend, do it for robbie...

injury list...pringle 1-2 weeks, rivvo(from demonology) - the knee (waiting on MRI to confirm the dreaded ACL)...

apologies...Cactus, Wolfmother, Toot182, george_on_the_outer, tarzan16, grant, Freak, melbournefc, travis, jo, rusty_kingswood, james, BL2381(permanent apology), cameron the bruce, cribbes, deanox, robbo24, luke, sean...

starting positions to be decided by the coaches on the day...

after-match beer at cricketers arms hotel, punt road...

please post on this thread to complete our numbers for february 8, and new players let us know what position(s) you would prefer to play...

don't be put off by our existing numbers, the heat (or the cold in bloody melbourne) will be as big an opponent as the talkingcarlton guys...

• Author
hey guys am playing had first training session last nite god it was good :P anyone livin near boronia or bayswater otherwise i will train it in ?

I am driving in from albury/wodonga, DT, via the hume and tulla freeways...

are boronia/bayswater on my way in ??