Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Demonland Podcast

Hi folks,

Long time listener, first time poster!

Just listened to latest pod on the Freo game and I cannot say I like the new format. They are seeking to reduce runtime ok but the game or even football in general was not discussed until the 16th minute and I reckon over half the players were not even mentioned at all in the remaining time. I used to love the tactical analysis and discussion of defence, forwards and mids .

And Binman, please let George complete what he has to say. Always interrupting. I like the balance George brings to the pod. Let him speak!

Thanks for the feedback Demonted, appreciated. In terms of me interrupting, I'm conscious its bad habit i have and i'm working on it.

In terms of tactical analysis that covers all aspect of our performance including offence, defence, contest and transition, and is 100% football focused, you could give my standalone Freo stats file pod a whirl. And as an added bonus i don't interrupt anyone coz it's just me.

It's only the second one, and there won't be another one as ridiculously long or deetailed as i overprepared, (happily) got lost in the numbers and analysis, chose not to watch the time and wanted to cover all the things i had been ruminating on in my head about the game.

I didn't have time to redo it, so it stands as a monument to my obsession about trying to understand game plan, method, tactics and what happened in the game - something that is particularly exciting this year as we have a new coach with a new approach.

Apple Podcasts
No image preview

The Stats Files Rd 02 2026

Podcast Episode · Demonland Podcast · 24 March · 1hr 8min

Don't mind the interrupting to be honest, I like the "handbags at dawn" vibe I get between George and Binman and the way you aren't all just in furious agreement because that would be boring and I'm sure you're varied opinions on things represent the varied opinions of folks out there listening.

Love the pod, between this and DeeBrief I'm getting a good fix of dees analysis and gotta say I don't care much for win or lose (although god how exciting was it to win that game!!) but I'm just happy to be on this journey this year because who knows where we'll end up, but it feels like we're in good hands.

Looking forward to AMW and big MOOSE coming in too and seeing what they bring to AFL level, not to mention Jeffo. BRING ON THE POD AND BRING ON SUNDAY ARVO FOOTY!!!

(my 4 year old watching the Saints game with me kept yelling out "go petracca" and my wife and I had to tell her "no no don't say that he doesn't play for us anymore")

55 minutes ago, Young Angus said:

Don't mind the interrupting to be honest, I like the "handbags at dawn" vibe I get between George and Binman and the way you aren't all just in furious agreement because that would be boring and I'm sure you're varied opinions on things represent the varied opinions of folks out there listening.

Love the pod, between this and DeeBrief I'm getting a good fix of dees analysis and gotta say I don't care much for win or lose (although god how exciting was it to win that game!!) but I'm just happy to be on this journey this year because who knows where we'll end up, but it feels like we're in good hands.

Looking forward to AMW and big MOOSE coming in too and seeing what they bring to AFL level, not to mention Jeffo. BRING ON THE POD AND BRING ON SUNDAY ARVO FOOTY!!!

(my 4 year old watching the Saints game with me kept yelling out "go petracca" and my wife and I had to tell her "no no don't say that he doesn't play for us anymore")

Easy fix, tell your 4yo to call out go number 5!

35 minutes ago, Young Angus said:

Thanks YA.

Funny you should note your four-year-old yelling out 'go petracca' because I've been experimenting using Gemini to interrogate the wheeloratings data (my instructions were to ONLY use data from that website).

At this early stage of the experiment, it throws up way, way too many hallucinations to confidently trust or use the data (though i have found it useful to explore themes and as a tool to test and/or challenge my reasoning and hypothesis about various aspects of the game) - perhaps a paid version might be more robust (in questioning why so many obvious errors, the LLM's response was there were issues reading the tables)

One such hallucination, one that felt like being trolled, was in response to a prompt about comparing our player ratings between round one and round two.

According to Gemini our standout player this season has been, drum roll, Christian Petracca with 31 player rating points in round one and 22.3 in round two!

I'm glad Gold Coast are paying his salary.

1 hour ago, binman said:

Thanks YA.

Funny you should note your four-year-old yelling out 'go petracca' because I've been experimenting using Gemini to interrogate the wheeloratings data (my instructions were to ONLY use data from that website).

At this early stage of the experiment, it throws up way, way too many hallucinations to confidently trust or use the data (though i have found it useful to explore themes and as a tool to test and/or challenge my reasoning and hypothesis about various aspects of the game) - perhaps a paid version might be more robust (in questioning why so many obvious errors, the LLM's response was there were issues reading the tables)

One such hallucination, one that felt like being trolled, was in response to a prompt about comparing our player ratings between round one and round two.

According to Gemini our standout player this season has been, drum roll, Christian Petracca with 31 player rating points in round one and 22.3 in round two!

Haha perhaps my daughter has been on wheeloratings.

2 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

i love it when @binman and @george_on_the_outer fight - i like to think of @Demonland there watching, thinking 'do i need to put you both on mute?' while they hash out their disagreement

loving the stats file already - if a future one doesn't get to 90 mins i'll be disappointed

A pod for the true believers (aka dees tragics)

2 hours ago, binman said:

Thanks YA.

a while back I asked chat gpt to rate our best 23 that the herald sun posted and say who was missing and it had a go at me because there was no trac, clarry, or viney and told me that checkers was still a pie and latrelle Pickett wasn't a person )

ai will never replace the complainers of demonland!!!