"Ossie" Osborne as a footballer was more at the 'Hey Hey its Saturday' end of the ability spectrum. Back in the day was annually  'conscripted' to attend footy at the 'G' with a school mate, a mad tiggers fan, for the Demons v Tigers clash. Usually seated high in the old Olympic stand,  it was not a 'fun' Saturday afternoon, as Richmond post Len Smith were stacked with people like Francis Burke, Royce Hart, Kevins Bartlett & Sheedy etc.

Recall one match where # 7 playing across the half-back line, valiantly attempting to fly the flag, left his man to intercept a kick. The unpredictable bounce of the footy meant the ball flew over the head of the on rushing GO. Predictably the tiggers scored an easy goal. My school "mate" had an annoying habit of delivering a sharp dig with his elbow to my ribs after each goal, you can say like my footy team your correspondent was often on 'the receiving end'.

Fortunately, "La vengeance est un plat qui se mange froid", the following season the tiggers as the reigning premiers were not faring so well. Come round 19 August 8th, a typically cold winter's day. Tigers were expected to comfortably account for the lowly placed Demons and keep their chances of September action alive, but that afternoon we were simply irrepressible, including a six goals to one in third quarter.

Final scores Dees 18.10.118 v Tigers 9.10.64

A most memorable home and away victory in seemingly bleak bygone days. Some players already mentioned in this thread were worthy contributors, including Peter Weekes with three goals.

Do recall during that dim era, Graeme Osborne having one day out when it all came together for him. Played like a champion.

ps. my school mate's ribs did get a deservedly thorough sharpish digging.

5 hours ago, Deemania since 56 said:

Ahhh, the memories! Noted earlier note about The Racehorse, Graeme Osborne. He was so fast, I still reckon he was the fastest man I had ever seen on the footy field. 

And sometimes he was clumsy in his play not that l didn't like him.  Made mistakes because  he was trying to dispose of the ball too quickly. let along throw in a clanger or two. However was a season where he polled ok in the Brownlow. 

In 1976 Melbourne tried to off load Osborne to Hawthorn but negotiation broke down, and in that year in 1976 he polled 18  Brownlow votes.  Do you remember that  Ds56.

8 minutes ago, nosoupforme said:

he polled 18  Brownlow votes. 

While that is correct, it should be remembered that both umpires gave Brownlow votes that season so it is the equivalent of nine votes these days.  This is not to downplay Osborne's effort, however.

The winner, Graham Moss, polled 48 votes!  Other Demons to do OK were Greg Wells with 28 (equal 4th), Stan Alves with 19 and some bloke called Robert Flower with 17.

6 minutes ago, demonstone said:

While that is correct, it should be remembered that both umpires gave Brownlow votes that season so it is the equivalent of nine votes these days.  This is not to downplay Osborne's effort, however.

The winner, Graham Moss, polled 48 votes!  Other Demons to do OK were Greg Wells with 28 (equal 4th), Stan Alves with 19 and some bloke called Robert Flower with 17.

I don't think that you were down playing him i just found it remarkable that Osborne polled his career 18 Brownlow votes for that year in 1976 . 11 seasons of footy and 146 games ,  1976 also the year that Melbourne tried to off load him to Hawthorn. Unsuccessfully.

2 hours ago, nosoupforme said:

And sometimes he was clumsy in his play not that l didn't like him.  Made mistakes because  he was trying to dispose of the ball too quickly. let along throw in a clanger or two. However was a season where he polled ok in the Brownlow. 

In 1976 Melbourne tried to off load Osborne to Hawthorn but negotiation broke down, and in that year in 1976 he polled 18  Brownlow votes.  Do you remember that  Ds56.

No I do not remember that ... and yes, he was clumsy as they could possibly come; he'd run so fast, think so fast that he couldn't keep up with himself. Still, he was a big bloke, a good spoiler of opponents and at least, he tried really hard for a couple of seasons. Wonder if there is some footage of him, somewhere ... he truly was an exceptional sprinter across considerable onfield distances?

7 hours ago, dieter said:

And the worst kick ever!

I cannot dispute that one, dieter!

1 hour ago, nosoupforme said:

I don't think that you were down playing him i just found it remarkable that Osborne polled his career 18 Brownlow votes for that year in 1976 . 11 seasons of footy and 146 games ,  1976 also the year that Melbourne tried to off load him to Hawthorn. Unsuccessfully.

Unusual for me, but I do not remember Osborne's Brownlow votes. I do remember that each of Alves, Flower and Wells, including Hardeman, were robbed of Brownlows, each and every one of them on separate occasions and more than once, for each. They were such good players that they dragged umpires' votes from each other in any specific season. Greg Wells, what a great footballer! Flower, perhaps the best footballer ever. Alves,  one hell of a Captain in a long-suffering period of individual effort due to team weaknesses, requiring his exceptional ball and running skills (not a bad kick, either).

18 minutes ago, Deemania since 56 said:

Unusual for me, but I do not remember Osborne's Brownlow votes. I do remember that each of Alves, Flower and Wells, including Hardeman, were robbed of Brownlows, each and every one of them on separate occasions and more than once, for each. They were such good players that they dragged umpires' votes from each other in any specific season. Greg Wells, what a great footballer! Flower, perhaps the best footballer ever. Alves,  one hell of a Captain in a long-suffering period of individual effort due to team weaknesses, requiring his exceptional ball and running skills (not a bad kick, either).

We had some great players in our miserable years. that goes to say.  Late 60s into the middle 80s. 

Alves and Wells playing in Premiership[ for North and Carlton respectively  They didn't see any light at the end of the tunnel. 

However Flower didn't take the bait to move to Carlton for them to buy him a house no Sir  Robbie was so loyal  he played for the  love of the jumper.  One of the great Melbourne footballers. Deep in my heart the BEST EVER.

Edited by nosoupforme