HAPPY BIRTHDAY RON BARASSI 76 years old

Posted

Hi guy just went to the demon website and seen a video with ron barrasi and John beckwith WOW made me almost cry watching how much this great man means to the guys who got to play with him im almost 30 and did not get to see this great legend of the MFC but he is something special and so is the video please go have a look not sure how to make a link . HAPPY BIRTHDAY RON FROM ALL DEMONS FANS AND THANKYOU for all you have done for this great club you are a true legend.

John Beckwith looks great, as does Ron. Geez i hope we get serious action whilst these legends are still with us to savour it.

• Author

John Beckwith looks great, as does Ron. Geez i hope we get serious action whilst these legends are still with us to savour it.

HI wyl if you dont mind me asking did you have the chance to see the likes of these guys or our flags? If so can you give me any inside to what it was like to be a demon in them glory days for our club. Cheers

I was born in '63 BJ so i am in the dark as much as you, my Dad saw heaps of flags from '48 onwards and says the old Long Room Bar would just "Go Off" & he would get home...sometime monday! So when we win 13-14-15 i intend to uphold family traditions.
  • Author

I was born in '63 BJ so i am in the dark as much as you, my Dad saw heaps of flags from '48 onwards and says the old Long Room Bar would just "Go Off" & he would get home...sometime monday! So when we win 13-14-15 i intend to uphold family traditions.

Mate i hope to share one or two cold beers with you there when it happens im a trident member but my father and my par are m.c.c members and my par has told me some great storys about the good old days. He also still goes down to the m.c.c with my nan every home game and is now 88 years old but he thinks the team coming through now will get us there which makes me smile because his been watching all our sides for a long time now and he really rates this team coming through. We have a great history at the MFC

Cool BJ we may have a beer during the season.

No sporting organization has a longer history than the old girl MFC. But we gotta buildsome new history as well...

Melbourne Bitter should taste pretty sweet on that day !!!

• Author

Looks like we could start a social club at the games

Last time i drank MB was the night we played Essendon in the '87 Night Granny! They tasted sweet in the last Quarter.

G'day Ronnie D, & Happy B/Day to you... regards to Cheryl, & thanks for the Oysters Kilpatrick with the Boys in North Melbourne, 1985...

cheers, & Best Wishes..

Had this great video of an hour-long RDB doco from the early 80's where mike willesse followed him around for a while.

Lots of great footage, one scene in Sydney where they showed him coaching and screaming into the phone "Elshaugh on and get Ellingworth off - bloody weak as [censored]!!"

I remember him saying too ( or maybe it was cheryl) that ron could not play a social / friendly game of anything.. he just had to compete - and win - no matter what he was doing.

Would love to see the doco again... what a legend

I did Big Jim and it was great we used to roll over sides like Brisbane and Geelong of recent times.

And Collingwood it was bloody marvelous beating them on Queens birthday weekends.

I used to come down from the country for the big games.

I was standing in the outer in 64.

There seemed to be a never ending number of great players at Melbourne

I thought it would never end.

Sadly it all turned to crap after 64.

It is a very long time ago now and I live in hope.

Sometimes I think I am too scared to give up in case we come good.

Hang in there Big Jim it must turn in your life time surely.