Lloyd facing 1 week for shot on Carroll

WonnaJurah

• Replies 74

pretty stupid thing for their "captain" to do.. Lloyd isnt even worthy of Hirds bootstraps.. .

good to see some come uppance for the bloke.

Have any of you gooses even seen the incident?

No, not on TV.

I was at the game and saw the scuffle and I don't remember thinking "gees, he'll get done for that". There was very little in the whole thing, just Carroll getting bored and wanting to start a punch-up for fun (a weekly event which has most FF's sucked in).

He'll probably get off Ash... in the tribunal we trust! <_< :lol:

I reckon Lloyd will get off. Not sure how you can call it charging.

As mentioned by Essendon, if Fev on Didak in the Collingwood Carlton game isn't charging, this certainly isn't.

They showed it last night on "On The Couch". Sheahan and Walls seemed to think it was worth a week. I thought it was identical to Goodes on Godfrey - I wouldn't be too upset if he got off/reprimanded to be honest. Silly but not worth a week.

speaking as one goose !!! YES !!.. ..whether [censored] for tat or otherwise.. it was with no relevance to play.. ..and a might late even.. a real cowards shot!! yes the word is COWARD !!..hope he gets two !!

Did you see Goodes v Hird a few weeks ago? No reports laid there, which was the correct decision.

Brocky... Lloyds cheap shot was laid after teh ball had become dea.. it was just a very poorly judged niggle retailation . he can go down. I had some begrudging respect for lloyd before that incident.. showed him to be just an idiot. hardly worthy of wearing a captains mantle.

For someone who has such a threatening avatar, you seem to want to turn the game very soft if you are looking for a suspension from this incident.

what?? Ash... Llyoyd came in at Carol way after that play had finished... how can it even be looked upon as argy bargy...it was thuggery.....and he was caught out...simple as that !!.. I have no problem with tough footy.. in context.. that had NONE !!

In context Carroll started it, by bumping intp Lloyd first.

Sorry Ash, but you don't get to run through the opposition pack after the three quarter time siren and elbow someone forcefully in the back,

putting him on the ground, inciting a small rumble in the process, and just expect to get away with it. Nope can't do that.

As for the other "decisions" by the tribunal, I don't think that they have got this one right yet. Goodes should have been given a week for the Godfrey snipe, which I think ended up being a reprimand, and if not then he definitely deserved a week for the Hird snipe, which I don't think was brought up at all. He was bloody lucky not to be sitting out on a couple of occasions but then again the tribunal is getting more and more like a raffle by the day.

For someone who has such a threatening avatar, you seem to want to turn the game very soft if you are looking for a suspension from this incident.

It was a cheap shot on an unsuspecting player. Since when does that qualify as "tough" footy?

In context Carroll started it, by bumping intp Lloyd first.

Maybe Brocky, and if Carrolls "hit" was declared illegal, then he should be walking the plank as well.

But I am not sure the "he made me do it" argument will or should fly, because as Bub said it was quite a time later, Lloyd had kicked at goal, the siren had gone and whether it was a square up is pretty much irrelevent given the time lapse. He elbowed an unsuspecting player in the back with enough force to put him down.

Retribution? Yes probably, but still cheap and most definitely illegal.

Sorry Ash, but you don't get to run through the opposition pack after the three quarter time siren and elbow someone forcefully in the back,

putting him on the ground, inciting a small rumble in the process, and just expect to get away with it. Nope can't do that.

As for the other "decisions" by the tribunal, I don't think that they have got this one right yet. Goodes should have been given a week for the Godfrey snipe, which I think ended up being a reprimand, and if not then he definitely deserved a week for the Hird snipe, which I don't think was brought up at all. He was bloody lucky not to be sitting out on a couple of occasions but then again the tribunal is getting more and more like a raffle by the day.

someone else who saw it for what it was.

Good(e) explanations re the vaguerities of the Tribunal as well.

spot on Queen

His records pretty good - no sups since 01.

I really don't care if he's sidelined or not, i just hope the Bombers get pantsed by the Cats. Can't hack them winning any more close ones.

Just adding two posts I made at Demonology to show more dissent with Ash's rose coloured view

"Saw the whole thing. There was no pushing and shoving happening at the time. The players from both teams were walking toward their respective 3/4 time address positions. I saw Lloyd walking in an unusual direction TOWARD the stream of Melbourne players, from behind and to their left. When he got quite close (already shoulder to shoulder with a few Dees) he accelerated forward and to the right and bumped Carroll hard from behind. You could describe the action as a lunge after several quick steps (into a jog NOT walking) I immediately said to my Essendon mate that he would be suspended for that."

"The footage shown on 10 late news is an edited version of the initial scuffle which broke out after Lloyd missed the after the siren shot on goal. Carroll obviously paid out on him and he cracked it. Yes there was a lot of pushing and shoving at this point but this was not the reportable offence. That happened after the players were separated. 10 news reiterated that the incident was not captured on the live game footage, but was captured on the fixed camera behind the goals. The edited footage shown was NOT from the fixed camera."

His records pretty good - no sups since 01.

I think that is why he was offered only the one week and not more - good records and early pleas always bring down the sentance.

I really don't care if he's sidelined or not, i just hope the Bombers get pantsed by the Cats. Can't hack them winning any more close ones.

What is that now for the Bombers? Three wins by less than two points.

The rub is most definitely going their way this season. It happens, they didn't really get much of it over the last couple of years.

I hope the Bomber s do contest it... hell if Rocca can and get his punishment upped...maybe Lloydy can too !! :-))

yep...ess, 3 games for wins totaling 4 points!! still ...credit to them...they won them and didnt lose them by 4 points !!

In light of a little chane in heart by tribunal , I look forward to their deliberations .

I honestly thought the out cry on Demonland would come from Andrew Welsh receiving a reprimand for his high bump on Brad Green, but I suppose he isn't a hated player like Lloyd.

If people honestly want Lloyd suspended for the incident, and not for who he is, the game of AFL football is in trouble.

Do we think Carroll was in any really danger of getting hurt? Yes it was after the siren blah blah blah, but let's get fair dinkum, what was more dangerous, Lloyds knock on Carroll the other night, or Whelans bump in Round 1 against St Kilda. Whelan got off, and so should Lloyd.

As Brocky said, Fevola wasn't even sited in Round 7.

just to get clear on this Ash...youre an advocate for cheap shots ?? thats Ok is it? just asking

There is a very big difference between what Whelan did and what Lloyd did.

And last time a checked the hip and shoulder was still legal, right? I didn't miss that memo did I?

But sniping someone behind play (when play is done) is exactly that........

And if it was a Melbourne player that had done exactly what Lloyd did, then he should get cited as well.

And the bump on Green was ordinary at best, but there have been a few players in recent weeks getting away with that particular front-on infraction.