PJ

Posted

Comrades.

Due to a difference of opinion with "The Boss" I was not able to make it to the G today.

I was wondering how PJ fared, in terms of his fit in the team? Did he get enough game-time?

For all those doubters out there - and I might be wrong at this point - I could have sworn I saw him taking an overhead mark in the Second Quarter down back.

But then again, when I was hunting down in Tassie five years ago and sinking a few, I reckon I saw a dog with stripes all over its back running around in the bush. Perhaps it's time I hit OPSM and got off the aviation-fuel style moonshine.

Stand by the Dees.

Biffinator.

His mark down back was a ripper.

He did well today PJ - more than enough to retain his spot.

He worked a lot harder around the packs than Jamar does.

Was one of the many positives to come out of that day, however hard it was.

He was very good. He's like a young Jeff White. Not quite as good as he could be in the ruck, but he's like another midfielder. He took some excellent saving marks today, and his disposal is alot better than half the teams. A much better long-term option than Jamar, he impressed me today. Should hold his spot all year, and I think if he does, Jamar may struggle to ever play for us again.

His ruck work is embarrassing, but he took a good overhead contested mark, and he has some pace.

Jury still out on whether we can accommodate for a crumber stuck in a giant's body.

Jaded, I thought he rucked ok today, it will be interesting to see stats on hit outs to advantage %, I though in general ball ups and boundary throw ins he held his own .

I thought he was pretty good today. Showed more than Jamar has recently in the same limited amount of game time. Worked very hard around the packs and really wasnt too bad in the ruck and overhead (his major weakness) against one of the best in the biz in Lade. And he'll only get better now too... I just hope ND persists with him and only brings Jamar back if he really earns it, and PJ deserves to be dropped...

And lets be honest, is Jamar's ruckin really that much better than PJ's? I think what PJ offers with his ground skills is worth more than what Jamar can offer overhead or in the ruck.

Could be a big call, but I think today could of very well been the demise of Mark Jamar at AFL level. Well done big man, excellent game today. :)

Jaded said:
Jury still out on whether we can accommodate for a crumber stuck in a giant's body.

we'd take buddy franklin if he came our way...

his mark down back shows the improvement he has made since he first started with us, injurys have cut him down, but should be in our 22 for the rest of the year if fit

PJ was good, the mark was good, i didnt think his ruck work was bad, i thought that he didnt win a great deal but at least nullified his opponent so it was 50/50 when it hit the deck

PJ has decent disposal and he is willing to throw himself at a pack to get the punch etc.

He's worth getting game time into this season, and I think he's probably worth keeping on the list.

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Featured Content

• REPORT: Richmond

The fans who turned up to the MCG for Melbourne’s Anzac Day Eve clash against Richmond would have been disappointed if they turned up to see a great spectacle. As much as this was a night for the 71,635 in attendance to commemorate heroes of the nation’s past wars, it was also a time for the Melbourne Football Club to consolidate upon its first win after a horrific start to the 2025 season. On this basis, despite the fact that it was an uninspiring and dour struggle for most of its 100 minutes, the night will be one for the fans to remember. They certainly got value out of the pre match activity honouring those who fought for their country. The MCG and the lights of the city as backdrop was made for nights such as these and, in my view, we received a more inspirational ceremony of Anzac culture than others both here and elsewhere around the country. 

• Thanks
    • 0 replies
  • CASEY: Richmond

The match up of teams competing in our great Aussie game at its second highest level is a rarity for a work day Thursday morning but the blustery conditions that met the players at a windswept Casey Fields was something far more commonplace.They turned the opening stanza between the Casey Demons and a somewhat depleted Richmond VFL into a mess of fumbling unforced errors, spilt marks and wasted opportunities for both sides but they did set up a significant win for the home team which is exactly what transpired on this Anzac Day round opener. Casey opened up strong against the breeze with the first goal to Aidan Johnson, the Tigers quickly responded and the game degenerated into a defensive slog and the teams were level when the first siren sounded.

• Clap
      • Thanks
    • 0 replies
  • PODCAST: Richmond

The Demonland Podcast will air LIVE on Monday, 28th April @ 8:00pm. Join Binman, George & I as we analyse the Demons 2nd win for the year against the Tigers.
    Your questions and comments are a huge part of our podcast so please post anything you want to ask or say below and we'll give you a shout out on the show.
    If you would like to leave us a voicemail please call 03 9016 3666 and don't worry no body answers so you don't have to talk to a human.
    Listen LIVE: https://demonland.com/
    Call: 03 9016 3666

• Thanks
    • 15 replies
  • PREGAME: West Coast

The Demons hit the road in Round 8, heading to Perth to face the West Coast Eagles at Optus Stadium. With momentum building, the Dees will be aiming for a third straight victory to keep their season revival on course. Who comes in and who goes out?

• Thanks
    • 159 replies
  • POSTGAME: Richmond

After five consecutive defeats, the Demons have now notched up back-to-back victories, comfortably accounting for the Tigers in the traditional ANZAC Eve clash. They surged to a commanding 44-point lead early in the final quarter before easing off the pedal, resting skipper Max Gawn and conceding the last four goals of the game to close out a solid 20-point win.

• Clap
      • Love
      • Thanks
    • 294 replies
  • VOTES: Richmond

Max Gawn leads the Demonland Player of the Year from Jake Bowey with Christian Petracca, Ed Langdon and Clayton Oliver rounding out the Top 5. Your votes for the Demons victory over the Tigers on ANZAC Eve. 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, & 1.

• Thanks
    • 47 replies