Footy injury (recovery) question...

Gee that's good. Great stuff Hardtack

Liam would have been impressed with Maxxys tap work today.

The one to Brayshaw that then was kicked to Harmes for his first goal was a pearler.

Is Liam a potential ruckman?

• Author

Liam would have been impressed with Maxxys tap work today.

The one to Brayshaw that then was kicked to Harmes for his first goal was a pearler.

Is Liam a potential ruckman?

No, his favourite position is in the backline...he's not tall (yet)...but he is potentially a very good player (won the coaches award last year).

• Author

One last post in here... I posted pics from my trip to Melbourne on Facebook and included are a few from training and a few from the game (although I'm not so happy with the quality of those):

https://www.facebook.com/tim.fleming.75/media_set?set=a.883458691689415.1073741860.100000758763064&type=3&pnref=story

• 1 month later...
  • Author

My boy Liam finally goes in for surgery next Wednesday. It was decided that he have a follow up MRI and X-ray which revealed that the ACL appeared to be healing well of its own accord and that the bone chip was sitting perfectly and should be able to reattach (however that works). However, it is still necessary to have an arthroscopy to repair the meniscus which is what will happen next week. The upside of this is that he should be able to start doing some light running within six weeks and that he should be able to play some footy next season as opposed to missing the entire season.

From a personal position, I'm a bit [censored] off with the way insurance works. Apparently Medicare does not allow payout of the Medicare Gap which just happens to be the most expensive part of the whole process (unless we want to go onto a waiting list for public hospital admission which would mean a wait of 8 to 12 months). We will be covered for the physio, but as the first thing I did on being made redundant was to pay up my private health cover for the next year, that is a relatively minor portion of my expenses. I cannot understand why Medicare do this as the only beneficiary is the insurance company... does anyone here know the story or know of any way around it? No-one I talk to at the Medicare offices seems to be able to explain it to me and on visiting the Medicare website, there doesn't appear to be any phone number I can call. Extremely frustrating!

Glad to hear that Liam is on the mend, hardtack, and particularly that he can play footy this season. Very good news!

As for the mysteries of Medicare, I have no clue....(which is not an unusual feeling :-)

Glad to hear that Liam is on the mend, hardtack, and particularly that he can play footy this season. Very good news!

As for the mysteries of Medicare, I have no clue....(which is not an unusual feeling :-) :ph34r:

thanks hardtack, for the update on Liam's injury. its good to know he is mending well, & is in good hands. hope he has a great season of footy ahead.

cheers, Mate.

Good to hear Liam is ahead of schedule.

Unfortunately there are many anomalies in the health insurance industry as you are finding out.

He may qualify for some free physio through a health care plan via your GP.

• Author

Good to hear Liam is ahead of schedule.

Unfortunately there are many anomalies in the health insurance industry as you are finding out.

He may qualify for some free physio through a health care plan via your GP.

Thanks Chook, I'll look into that... although we are happy with the physio he has and once our private cover bucket is replenished as of 01/01/16 it will only cost $8.50 a session which I can claim via the football insurance. It's the fact that Medicare won't allow claims on the Medicare gap portion that really hurts as the surgeon, surgeon's assistant and anesthetist cost the big bucks. Anyway, as long as my son can get back playing then all else pales into insignificance... first world problems, I think its called :-)

• Author

Finally some good news... the meniscal repair surgery happened today and Liam is now resting, albeit with a fairly painful knee (hitting the Panadein Forte).

The good news is that the surgeon took a look at the ACL and MCL while he was in there and all is looking good... this means that Liam should be able to resume full training in 5 - 6 months, so with a little luck and a lot of effort, he may be right to start playing for about half of season 2016!

At the moment his joy is countering any physical pain he may be feeling.

For any Sydney based D'Landers who may read this, please feel free to come and have a celebratory drink with me at the Gasoline Pony in Marrickville this Saturday afternoon between 3 and 6pm when my band Los Romeos Oxidados is playing...

https://www.facebook.com/events/1644998282429081/