View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Season 2011

Posted

In the 50 years(well 45,don't remember the first 5)I have followed this great club,I have never been more excited for a season to start.The off field direction we have taken is exceptional.

This Club was on the brink of oblivion through bad management and apathy.Jim, with his passion,and choosing the correct people have turned a basket case into a viable FC.

I was guilty of drifting through both, bad administrations and apathy with nary a thought,apart from voting against the merger.I had resigned myself to the fact I'd likely never see a flag and would be lucky to even have a footy team in the future.

As I write this I am so excited that our great club will not only survive but may even prosper to become a powerhouse again.

For all this I thank Jim Stynes,for both re-igniting my love of this club and for making the apathy go away.

Jim I wish you a very special Christmas.THANKYOU

Does anyone think what Jimmy is doing is similar to what Eddie has done with the filth....

Yes they have a large support base but before he came in they were a mess nearly bankrupt and struggling off the field... He has turned them into a financial powerhouse new training facilities and even on field success....

it rates right up there with miracles for sainthood.

still remember the financial report from the non-demon Melbourne Committee and realising this club is dead.

and to get where they are today is incredible.

everything they are doing seems perfect. (love the junior supporter pack that just arrived on christmas eve)

Does anyone think what Jimmy is doing is similar to what Eddie has done with the filth....

Yes they have a large support base but before he came in they were a mess nearly bankrupt and struggling off the field... He has turned them into a financial powerhouse new training facilities and even on field success....

Oh come on,, you cant start lowering Jimmy, by comparing him to Everywhere.

We have been one of the lowest clubs for some time, just clinging to existence. Jimmy & the former players banding around together, to regroup this magnificent club, is a monumental effort & is still to continue.

The secret though is the reuniting & inspiring of emotions for the Demons faithful. This is where Jimmy's the man.

The past players off field, I believe started the ball rolling a few years ago, prior to Dean & Connolls.

Then we have to acknowledge all the supporters & members, & also the greater footy public for getting spiritually on board, wanting us to survive.

The Astronomical wheel is turning. GO-DEES - 2011..............

In the 50 years(well 45,don't remember the first 5)I have followed this great club,I have never been more excited for a season to start.The off field direction we have taken is exceptional.

This Club was on the brink of oblivion through bad management and apathy.Jim, with his passion,and choosing the correct people have turned a basket case into a viable FC.

I was guilty of drifting through both, bad administrations and apathy with nary a thought,apart from voting against the merger.I had resigned myself to the fact I'd likely never see a flag and would be lucky to even have a footy team in the future.

As I write this I am so excited that our great club will not only survive but may even prosper to become a powerhouse again.

For all this I thank Jim Stynes,for both re-igniting my love of this club and for making the apathy go away.

Agree wholeheartedly. Both the off-field and on-field progress has been fantastic and you would be hard pressed to find any Melbourne member or supporter who wasn't excited by what the future, and in particular 2011, holds....

But be careful mentioning in any way previous administrations, and especially comparing them to Jimmy and the current board, some around here can get very defensive!!! :):blink:

Let's encourage as many people as we can to get on board the Demon-train as we power into 2011 and beyond....

Great "off-season" post to help remind us the Club is going great guns.

I've followed the club for all of my 23-year life and even if this pales into insignificance compared to others... this period is like none other. We are going places and it's all because of Jimmy's big heart, Cam's intuition and the Board MAKING THINGS HAPPEN!!!

I don't think all of our words COMBINED can really explain the sense of occasion we feel we are seriously about to head into. Let it roll on, I say. ROLL ON!!! :D

Great "off-season" post to help remind us the Club is going great guns.

I've followed the club for all of my 23-year life and even if this pales into insignificance compared to others... this period is like none other. We are going places and it's all because of Jimmy's big heart, Cam's intuition and the Board MAKING THINGS HAPPEN!!!

I don't think all of our words COMBINED can really explain the sense of occasion we feel we are seriously about to head into. Let it roll on, I say. ROLL ON!!! :D

not long now mate

Edited by milpod

Jim Stynes and Eddie is a great comparison, & throw in Frank Costa. These people are all "Doers" Love them or hate 'em.

Jim Stynes is the man for the job no doubt, but we the supporters have got to help him. His energy feeds of us.

For years the energy of Melbourne was scattered, and because of that the club was very slowly dying, but Jim Stynes has been able to gather all that energy back again & get it moving in the one direction, & it is slowly getting bigger again.

From the day we resigned with the MCC April 1 2009, i have felt the club is back. We are still growing, but our energy is strong.

We are Melbourne....(I shall be watching Queens Birthday 2010 over the next week just to remind myself that We are Back)

2011......Let's Go.

2011 is the season where the players have to reap the benefits of all the great off-field work done by management. At the end of the day, if the team isn't performing on-field, the club can't really be seen as a success. Whilst we have taken many, many steps in the right direction, I reckon that we MUST make the top 8 in 2011 in order to continue our forward progress towards another flag.

Good comparison but JIMMA is miles in front already. What he has done in such a short time along with his own health issues-is unbelivable. Sir Jim, we should call him..