• Replies 105

Posted
He has no respect for us because we are a mediocre club with a mediocre fan base, mediocre players, no stars, no presences in the AFL, teams dont fear us, where the laughing stock of the AFL, where in debt, we have a mediocre culture at the club.. we have No respect. We are a "[censored] Weak" club and we havent won a the flag since 64.

Thats why he hates us. For the last 45 years we have been a NOTHING club. Whose exsistance survives on our early history when teams fear playing us.

Is that why he hates us or why you hate us <_< ?!!!

Posted

I laughed

Guest sticksmorton
Posted

ill never be able to change sides, the red and blue run through my veins .

i dont hate us

what i said is the thruth and you can't deny it - sadly.

Guest sticksmorton
Posted

Yes, those are qualities I hate about us.

Posted
Lets just not give his comments weight by taking any notice.

Simple, I just change channels either TV or radio. I don't listen to him. If there's nothing else to watch, put the Mute on him & play a CD.

Posted

Think we may have an answer folks...

Today on the triple M pre match, the boys were talking about a time when the Dees were going to draft BT... They took a crew around to his place, convincing him to come to Melbourne... BT was keen, then Cameron Schwab shut the deal down, without really telling BT and giving him any details... Ended up going to Collingwood in the draft I believe...

Lyon pinned him, and asked if this is why he has such a vendetta against the MFC... The Brissle didn't have a whole lot to say when posed with this question...

Posted
Think we may have an answer folks...

Today on the triple M pre match, the boys were talking about a time when the Dees were going to draft BT... They took a crew around to his place, convincing him to come to Melbourne... BT was keen, then Cameron Schwab shut the deal down, without really telling BT and giving him any details... Ended up going to Collingwood in the draft I believe...

Lyon pinned him, and asked if this is why he has such a vendetta against the MFC... The Brissle didn't have a whole lot to say when posed with this question...

This is a great story. Explains alot I guess. BT went to Collingwood after 1984 and had about 4 good years before injuries got the best of him. I might be alone in saying this but I would have loved to have had BT at Melbourne. He would have given us more than Templeton was ever able to and would have been a better forward target than say David Williams. Plus at the very least he would have given us a few laughs with his antics. A good group of characters we would have had with Grinter, Wilson, Hughes and then Taylor. Could have been fun. Would love to know why we didn't follow through with it.

Posted

I actually think BT is quite positive when he talks about the Dees

Posted

Just stop listening to Triple M.

I did a long time ago and BT doesn't exist in my world any longer :D

Posted

btw what did The Chief have to say on the Tassie Hawks' performance last night? That would have been worth hearing...

Posted
Correct! Stretch often took hangers in front of the old stand. Geez he was a good kick. too

I am guessing 1988 first semi.

No, it wasn't a finals match, it was during hte year, I remember Collingwood beat us by about 10 goals that day. I reckon it was about 1988 or 89, I remember we were in the Redlegs section in the Northern stand and I was with my brother and his mate, who brought along his fancy SLR camera and flukishly took a photo of Stretch's mark, as it was right in front of us.

Actually, I'm sure it was May 1989, Dad wasn't there because he was in America on holiday with my mum - I remember talking to him on the phone that evening.

Posted

Yeah I don't think we lost to Collingwood by 10 goals in '88. I loved Steven Stretch, he often took hangers. Great wingman, speed & skills. Can you post that pic of him??

Posted

Andrew hasn't been mates with him for years, so I don't have the pic, unfortunately. It should be on the web somewhere though.....it was a pretty famous mark.

I do remember seeing it on one of the Youtube clips, one that was all about Melbourne marks....I'll have a quick search for it.

sorry to go off topic, but personally I think Steven Stretch's marking abilities is a more interesting topic than BT any day!!

Posted

Still looking for a pic of that mark. I have deduced it was the round 6 1989 match though, that is the round we lost to Collingwood by 10 goals.

Still looking.....brb.

Posted

Thx Kat, and I realised back then, it wouldn't be digital anyway. Let us know if you find the Youtube clip, I would have been there, but all Stretch's hangers have merged into one great memory :D

Posted

cheers, heartbeatstrue. I know i definitely was there, i remember it like it was yesterday. I distinctly remember the Redlegs room afterwards and a couple of the committee members were having a disagreement over who they thought was best on ground, and my brother commenting "Jeez, we just lost by 10 goals, that's all they can think about to argue about?"

Not giving up in finding this pic!!!!

Posted

BT has menopause.

Posted

I've found detailed stats of the game Round 6 1989

still looking for pics!!!