Dal Santo

Harsh on Alves, very harsh. Alves was a coach who demanded commitment from his players, unfortunately for him he had a group of talented but lazy bunch of pricks on his hands who refused to put in the extra effort. The players went to the board to [censored] and moan and the board backed the players instead of telling them to grow up like they should have.

Typical of the culture of the club, and it's been their issue for the last 40 years.

St Kilda didnt sack Thomas their President did and now he is gone as well

I have no pity for StKilda after sacking

Sheldon

Alves

Blight

There just might have been a premiership with one of those 3

Now they have Lyon

Good Luck Saints

dont forget they sacked Watson, he was doing good things :P

Can anyone tell me exactly what happened with Blight that soiled his reputation so badly? Growing up in Tassie and before footy websites were all that common, I was pretty out of touch with the comings and goings in the AFL at the time.

He was past it. It would be like Richmond paying Sheedy $750,000 to coach Richmond next year. But a million a year...

Can anyone tell me exactly what happened with Blight that soiled his reputation so badly? Growing up in Tassie and before footy websites were all that common, I was pretty out of touch with the comings and goings in the AFL at the time.

Well, the bloke who sacked him ended up getting the gig....

Indeed, it seems pretty sus.

He was past it. It would be like Richmond paying Sheedy $750,000 to coach Richmond next year. But a million a year...

He was sacked half way through his first season. He barely had a chance to fire a shot. It must have been more than that.

Indeed, it seems pretty sus.

He was sacked half way through his first season. He barely had a chance to fire a shot. It must have been more than that.

Nothing to do with being 'past it', as Rhino said he wasnt committed to the job. He was at the club in a much more limited capacity compared to other senior coaches.

Dal Santo why would we want another Cameron Bruce?

Blight went to the Saints for an alleged million dollar deal over a couple of years to rejuvenate them after Tim Watson was sacked. Much was made of the impact of 2 time premiership coach coming to turn things around at St K (circa Matthews to Brisbane).

However from the start of the first year of coaching, the Saints were poor on the field (as bad as they were with Watson). From early on, there were rumblings about the complete lack of structure and professionalism of Blight and frustration at his lacksadaisical and disinterested approach. The rumblings were coming from both the player, administrators and the executive. It started to emerge that Blight was not interested and possibly wasnt interested from the start and that he lead St Kilda along. I am not sure if Blight walked away(or sacked) mid season or end of season but he did so and squelched on his oblgations. He was rightly pillared in the media for taking on a job he was not interested in knowing full well what was required after the Watson debacle of 1998. It also cost St Kilda a bomb and profile to close out an unsavoury episode. They had paid big for "big name" who was past it as a coach and a veritable lemon in the role.

Questions could rightly be asked about the recruitment process at St Kilda.

Nevertheless in a fit of despair St Kilda (re Buttress) appoint his mate and then football manager with no coaching experience Grant Thomas to coach the St Kilda. There was a huge rebuild in 2000/2001/2002 where they got the Ball, Kozi and Riewoldt picks and never won a flag.

Nothing to do with being 'past it', as Rhino said he wasnt committed to the job. He was at the club in a much more limited capacity compared to other senior coaches.

Being not committed is the same as being past it. His limited capacity was due to infrequent but required attendance. I have removed your allegation as it is only speculation and the inference is not appropriate on the site.

Dal Santo is great when he has the footy

Its when he doesnt is why i dont rate him at all

Dal Santo in a nutshell. We don't need another midfielder who isn't prepared to run back, work hard without the ball and man up.

Questions could rightly be asked about the recruitment process at St Kilda.

Now this is the correct question, or rather the correct question is why did the Saints not make Blight go through the same 'interview' process that the other applicants were forced to go through at the time?

They interviewed a whole bunch of applicants then they discovered that Blight was available and just jumped without even asking him what he was going to bring to the club.

St.Kilda reeked of unprofessionalism from the time they sacked Alves all the way to the bizarre way that Thomas was forced to retire. The inbetween highlights (or lowlights) being hiring someone with no coaching experience and picking someone without interviewing them.

They only have themselves to blame, and what's worse is that just a couple of years ago they had an exceptional list.

I dont actually want Dal. I mean yeah geez hes a good player but i personally think melbourne is a good 6 years away from being a premiership contender meaning he would be 30 and perhaps get 2-3 good years out of him. If he was 22 then yes but would cost way too much

he has a massive ego and needs to brought down a cog or 5

That makes no sense.

You say he's a good player, yet you don't want him.

He's 24 but you'd only want him if he was 22...

In 6 years you assume we'll be going for a premiership tilt (how do you figure that), and yet admit that he could help us for 2-3 years of it. How does a good player giving us 2-3 year service in the middle of a supposed premiership tilt not help the club?