View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

21 hours ago, Billy said:

How did Tholstrup play, and is Laurie playing well enough for a few games at AFL level before seasons end?

Tholstrup barely sighted. Laurie was good. No idea where he'd play if he returned to the AFL - in a Spargo role? Sestan was better - same question with him. Seems to be doing Bowie-style work off half back.

Sestan was the standout in the first half, then in the 3rd Casey dominated and the ball barely went behind play, then the ball dropped off in the last.

He still has to add a bit more defensively I think. Either as an aerial player or a ground level tackler and ball winner. Howes did more defensively but doesn’t have the same boot.

Jeffo’s first half was top notch, sticky hands and clean. Missed some gettable set shots.

JVR played with power and confidence throughout, just still a question if he can find the space and leap up at the footy more, but he hit the contest and lead with more belief.

Adams looks really good when he’s got a read on the ball, still a bit iffy when he’s uncertain in positions.

Kentfield ran out of puff and mucked up in the second half but his combination of skills and movement are worth persevering with.

The mids and half forwards were all a bit meh. Laurie the best of them but still doesn’t inspire confidence that he’s grown his game. Same with Billings. Henderson had a stinker which is a shame because he has a touch of class and good pressure. Woey better on the wing. Culley just played the half on the wing (potentially so he got through unscathed as the carry over emergency), he was fine, but I’d like to see him string some dominant midfield games together.

So everyone at Casey is at very least a few seasons into their career, or mature-aged, yet none are banging down the door. I pray for our list to stay fit.

We have three picks going into the 2025 draft, we'll have to trade for more.

1 hour ago, seventyfour said:

So everyone at Casey is at very least a few seasons into their career, or mature-aged, yet none are banging down the door. I pray for our list to stay fit.

The young talls (Jeffo, Adams, Verrall) are all progressing in the right direction. JVR can play at the level, hopefully this is just a blip.

Howes plays excellent vfl footy, just got to keep the pressure on him to get the next level. Sestan is improving.

I wouldn’t worry about Kolt, he was strong at the contest and clean, just missed a lot of summer and didn’t get a lot of midfield opportunity.

The depth mids aren’t hammering the door down but they’re also being moved around a lot. I think they used about 8 guys on ball and there’s probably 10 or more who could’ve had a go. I’d love to see Woey and Kynan Brown smash the door down but its probably more important they they’re ready to step up if needed rather than spoon fed 30 touches.

McAdam and AMW come back on to the main list and we can replace cheap depth like for like if need be.

1 hour ago, seventyfour said:

JVR, Jeffo, kolt,Brown, mcadam and AMW are all reasonable depth players that are currently either injured or playing at Casey. Not a terrible position to be in

On 24/05/2025 at 19:23, beelzebub said:

Mate... he was bog average really. Look what he was playing against. Ants have no defence... they're bottom of the ladder. Should have been a turkey shoot and we still made it look like hard work.

He had maybe half a dozen decent efforts. Should have had a couple of dozen.

So... you reckon he's AFL ready ??

I call b.s.

exactly we were playing against the worst vfl team ever, needs to locked in a gym and the key thrown away for a while then he can look at a senior return. I have zero other problems with his game apart from he still looks exactly like he did in his draft year