rjay 25,424 Posted April 15, 2017 Posted April 15, 2017 3 hours ago, rjay said: It's not the 2 point loss 'Iva', it flattered us. We were dreadful today and when they got a run on we had no structure at all. Just 18 headless chooks on the ground at a time. 2 hours ago, iv'a worn smith said: Yep. 2 point loss and we were headless. Makes a lot of sense that. We headed them by 21 at half time and if we had the class of Lewis and Hogan we win. 2 hours ago, Bobby McKenzie said: Didnt watch the second and last quarters? Pretty good efforts for headless chooks. Need to read the post boys.... When they got a run on in the 3rd, if you were watching you would have noticed our structures totally feel apart. There was no on ground leadership to stop the rot hence the headless chooks remark. We were out of position and out played... This is where we really missed Lewis. Even when we were in the lead we were just going...I think the thing that really p....me off was that I thought we had the game well under control at half time even though playing poorly. Unfortunately for us we again (think Geelong and 2 quick goals before 3Q time) let them get one back just on half time and then they ran over us in the 3rd. We nearly made it back but really didn't deserve it. If we're to be a legitimate finals contender then we can't play footy like this...
dimmy 1,308 Posted April 16, 2017 Posted April 16, 2017 On 15/04/2017 at 5:08 PM, joeboy said: Jones - was well held Viney - continued poor season Salem - far from convincing Watts - some isolated class Petracca - just some cameos Tyson - prolific but wasteful Oliver - many irrelevant handballs Stretch - quieter than usual Kent - was hardly noticed Frost - some good interceptions Melksham - nothing to impress Hannan - not senior standard Vince - game has passed McDonald - was generally steady Weideman - nothing to impress Hunt - too predictable today Neal-Bullen - improving each week Bugg - had no impact Spencer - almost broke even Garlett - took his chances Jetta - always slows momentum Harmes - tried but rough We only got done by 2 points !!! Based on these ratings we got done by 186. Bit harsh on TMac, Watts,Hunt,Garlett,Oliver and Salem
dimmy 1,308 Posted April 16, 2017 Posted April 16, 2017 On 15/04/2017 at 8:32 PM, Redlagged said: Hunt is probably our best player. Our real problem is Viney - he is looking like a one trick pony. I reckon Jack V is a "see ball get ball"player (and tries extremely hard. His problem is when he has to think his way through options. He then becomes hesitant. Just needs some more confidence.
rjay 25,424 Posted April 16, 2017 Posted April 16, 2017 57 minutes ago, dimmy said: I reckon Jack V is a "see ball get ball"player (and tries extremely hard. His problem is when he has to think his way through options. He then becomes hesitant. Just needs some more confidence. He's not big enough for the bash and crash stuff that's part of his game...his mate Olli (Wines) can get away with it and the likes of Joey Kennedy but Jack needs to adjust and get smarter.
dave 183 Posted April 16, 2017 Posted April 16, 2017 On 15/04/2017 at 5:28 PM, Luther said: Fairly good assessment, but can't agree with Kent, McDonald or Spencer. Kent played a hand in many of our scoring chains and put his body on the line time and time again. Thought he was very good. I'm not normally a McDonald basher but today's game was horrendous. He made so many stupid errors that I walked out of the G wondering if he has two brain cells to rub together. Couldn't believe some of the stuff he did. Spence got slaughtered in the hit outs but was good around the ground. Disagree with most of it, [censored] 3rd quarter and 3-4 missed shots cost game