Posted

All discussion for Demonland 2 in here.

Only 1 spot remaining.

Oh and if your Ultimate Footy name doesn't match your Demonland name, let us know.

• Replies 235

Posted

League 2 option - how about make draft night Monday the 12th - Labor Day?

That date is available on the system. Perhaps when we get our 14th and final member - we can put forward several draft days / times and we can all vote. Whichever gets the most votes is what we can go with - although we will never find a time that suits everyone.

Posted (edited)

Cool, league's full.

The only night I know I'm definately not availabe for the draft is the Saturday night on Labour day weekend, the 10th of March. Any other time is good for me.

I think it would be better to hold it as late as possible, with dates filling up we need to sort it out as soon as possible.

Thought I might list team names and their coaches demonland username near the top of the thread for easy reference, will fill in the gaps as you identify yourselves.

Dave's Demons_______robbo king's brother

Stonecutters__________Jastone

CamBruceGoneMad____

cbgsmu______________

Dark Days____________brunoc

Dees forever__________Dees

Disgruntled Goats______Dr. Mubutu

flying eyeballs_________furious d

Galahs_______________GM666

IWAP's all-stars________IWAP

jiagars________________

Mega_Watts___________Mega_Watts

NEELDS ARMY________BIG JIM

Saigon Saints__________robbo king

Toon Army____________Striker475

Van Diemen___________demonblood

Edited by furious d
Posted

Hi there could someone give me a quick run down on how it all works cheers.

Posted

Jim, by the looks of it it works closer to DT than SC in terms of scoring - points for kicks, handballs etc and no efficiency status.

However, there is only one of each player in each league. A draft is run pre-season for teams to select players, and then players are able to be traded throughout the season. You are also able to cut players and pick up players who have not been selected by any team.

Posted

That date is available on the system. Perhaps when we get our 14th and final member - we can put forward several draft days / times and we can all vote. Whichever gets the most votes is what we can go with - although we will never find a time that suits everyone.

Put my vote forward for Monday the 12th - Will be travelling on the 26th.

Posted

Big Jim just to add on to Striker475's post - the two big differences between Ultimate footy and dreamteam / supercoach is the draft and the scoring.

Each week you'll compete against a different opponent within our league across 9 categories (Kicks, Handballs, Marks, Hitouts, Tackles, Frees For, Frees Against, Total score and Goal accuracy). If I am playing you, we add up the total number of kicks for players in my starting 18 v total number for your starting 18 and so on. Whoever has the highest total wins that category. The person who has the highest number of category wins (out of 9) wins the round.

One thing to consider when you are drafting your players. Not only do you need to conisder getting the balance right in terms of positions (enough quality backs, forwards, mids etc.), but you should also try to get the right balance in terms of the 9 categories across the team. For instance do you want a Liam Jurrah type forward who may not get a lot of possessions, but who will (hopefully) get you quite a few goals, or do you want a Colin Sylvia type who will rack up the kicks / handballs, but get less goals.

Posted

Put my vote forward for Monday the 12th - Will be travelling on the 26th.

OK - i'd like to get this settled as soon as we can so we don't miss out on our prefered date. Everyone post your preferences for 8pm Sunday 26th Feb or 8pm Monday 12th March by Friday night, and we'll lock a date in. If you can't make either of those times, you can pre-rank your players and have the computer select for you.

Posted

8pm Sunday 26th Feb for me.

Are we also taking votes on the scoring system?

My view is that the nine categories is no good. Too much weight to Frees For/Frees Against/Score%.

Note sure if it is possible, but I would vote for the standard 6 categories (K/HB/M/T/Score/HO) + Free differential.

i.e. excluding Score %.

Posted

Big Jim just to add on to Striker475's post - the two big differences between Ultimate footy and dreamteam / supercoach is the draft and the scoring.

Each week you'll compete against a different opponent within our league across 9 categories (Kicks, Handballs, Marks, Hitouts, Tackles, Frees For, Frees Against, Total score and Goal accuracy). If I am playing you, we add up the total number of kicks for players in my starting 18 v total number for your starting 18 and so on. Whoever has the highest total wins that category. The person who has the highest number of category wins (out of 9) wins the round.

One thing to consider when you are drafting your players. Not only do you need to conisder getting the balance right in terms of positions (enough quality backs, forwards, mids etc.), but you should also try to get the right balance in terms of the 9 categories across the team. For instance do you want a Liam Jurrah type forward who may not get a lot of possessions, but who will (hopefully) get you quite a few goals, or do you want a Colin Sylvia type who will rack up the kicks / handballs, but get less goals.

Thanks mate cant wait to get it going just went on the website and read the rules cheers for your help.The live draft will be some fun cant wait.

Posted

OK - i'd like to get this settled as soon as we can so we don't miss out on our prefered date. Everyone post your preferences for 8pm Sunday 26th Feb or 8pm Monday 12th March by Friday night, and we'll lock a date in. If you can't make either of those times, you can pre-rank your players and have the computer select for you.

Happy with either date. If pressed I'd prefer Feb 26.

Posted (edited)

Are we also taking votes on the scoring system?

My view is that the nine categories is no good. Too much weight to Frees For/Frees Against/Score%.

Note sure if it is possible, but I would vote for the standard 6 categories (K/HB/M/T/Score/HO) + Free differential.

i.e. excluding Score %.

I don't mind the idea of using Free kick differential in place of Frees for / Frees against - but not sure i would want to get rid of the score accuracy.

Personally i don't see any major issues with having 8 categories, which would increase the occurances of draws. We can set it up in any way that we want.

Edited by IWAP
Posted

How about dropping the weighting for frees for and against and and score % to half a point. Gives 6 full points and 3 half points up for grabs. 7.5 total so not likely to be too many draws.

Posted

How about dropping the weighting for frees for and against and and score % to half a point. Gives 6 full points and 3 half points up for grabs. 7.5 total so not likely to be too many draws.

I think thats a great solution - as long as its not too confusing for everyone. The nature of the scoring system means we would actually have double the weighting of the other categories:

So it would be:

Kicks - 2

Handballs - 2

Marks - 2

Hitouts - 2

Tackles - 2

Score - 2

Frees F - 1

Frees A - 1

Goal % - 1

Posted

I think thats a great solution - as long as its not too confusing for everyone. The nature of the scoring system means we would actually have double the weighting of the other categories:

So it would be:

Kicks - 2

Handballs - 2

Marks - 2

Hitouts - 2

Tackles - 2

Score - 2

Frees F - 1

Frees A - 1

Goal % - 1

Like this. The frees stats weighting in standard form are way too high.

Posted

Good luck guys! Just a suggestion, I'm not sure if it worked out last year, but the winner should put "Ultimate Footy Robert Flower inaugural champion 2012" on their signature...

Smack talk, along with trading, is what makes Ufooty addictive.

Posted

Good luck guys! Just a suggestion, I'm not sure if it worked out last year, but the winner should put "Ultimate Footy Robert Flower inaugural champion 2012" on their signature...

Smack talk, along with trading, is what makes Ufooty addictive.

Thanks Dappa Dan. A long way to go, but i'll gladly put that in my signature at the end of the season (how was my first attempt at smack talk?). Best of luck with the "other" league.

Posted

OK by my count -

Dr Mubutu - Monday 12th

Furious D - Monday 12th

Demonblood - Monday 12th

Mega Watts- Sunday 26th

IWAP - Either

GM666 - Either (if pressed Sunday 26th)

Striker475 suggested the Monday 12th on the ultimate board

Saigon Saints has a clash (another ultimate draft) on the Sunday 26th

Ok on the basis of this i've locked in the draft for Monday 12th March at 8pm. Mega Watts (and those who have yet to respond), I hope you can make it then.

We can still debate the merits of the scoring system - but it looks as though we will use the format suggested by Mega Watts / Furious D - 6 full categories, and 3 half categories.

CamBruceGoneMad, cbgsmu, Dark Days, Dees forever, Jiagars and Saigon Saints - if you are reading this, drop in and say g'day. I know cbgsmu personally, and he is a lurker of the site. He's committed to the comp, but lets hope he'll sign up and pop his head in here.

Posted

+1 for 12th March, more time to prepare....

First time i've done category scoring....looking forward to it!

I'm Dark Days btw

Posted (edited)

Question: how are we going to organise the draft? Just random out-of-a-hat draw? And then (I assume) a reverse draft order (ie Team with Round 1 pick 1 has Round 2 pick 14)

Edited by Striker475
Posted

Thanks Dappa Dan. A long way to go, but i'll gladly put that in my signature at the end of the season (how was my first attempt at smack talk?). Best of luck with the "other" league.

Awwww.

You tried.

You'll improve, don't worry. :)

Posted

Good to hear from you BrunoC!

Striker475: Draft order is out (automatically drawn), and yes, its how you said.

Round 1

1. Dees forever

2. Saigon Saints

3. Jiagars

4. Dark Days

5. CamBruceGoneMad

6. flying eyeballs

7. IWAP's all-stars

8. Galahs

9. Toon Army

10. Van Diemen

11. Mega Watts

12. NEELDS ARMY

13. cbgsmu

14. Disgruntled Goats

Round 2

15. Disgruntled Goats

16. cbgsmu

17. NEELDS ARMY

and so on.

Posted

Hi my team is Dees forever, look like I'm getting the number 1 pick, I like the idea of draft in 12th March

But just in case I don't make it in time, I saved my auto draft settings , cheers