View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Non-playing players

Posted

At the start of the game there was about 25 odd players sitting together around N56 or N57, plus all the assorted hangers on, it seemed like quite a social affair.

By the beginning of the 3rd Quarter that number had halved.

By the 10:00 minute mark it had halved again, down to a pultry 5 or so sitting around having a laugh at their iPhones without even paying any attention to the game.

I doubt it would have anything to do with the VFL, 3 of the players still there in Q4 are named to play tomorrow and a lot of those that had left were not even available to play.

From a workplace perspective, surely the match itself is the most important meeting of the week and requires nothing short of 100% attention?

As a supporter, it feels like these kids are just taking the complete [censored]... we stick fat through thick and thin and turn up for 120 minutes week in, week out, yet as soon as the game blows out they find something better to do like bored tweens.

Worst of all, as a footy club, its just weak... any player at any club at any level has a responsibility towards their club to hang around and support their team mates at other levels wherever possible.

I think its a bloody disgrace and reflective of what is being played out in front us.

Wholeheartedly agree.

Same goes for all the after-siren backslapping chats with the opposition who've just mercilessly flogged you.

Do they have any idea how this comes across to the success-starved supporters? Do they care?

And if they don't, as a lot of them appear not to ... I ask again ... why should we?

I reckon I heard someone from one club say last year or the year before that their players who had VFL the next day were required to come for at least a half of footy - may have been two years ago when there was that fuss about Ablett not watching Geelong play once he'd done his injury rehab before the game.

The chatting after the game was a bad look - heard the Triple M commentators refer to it as well, they were disgusted by it too

3aw commentators also thought it was a bad look. They said that some players were smiling and waving from up in the stands. They thought it liked like they didn't care about the result. Hawthorn cared about the result and worked hard to make sure they got the win.

Culture issues. We aren't used to winning so losses aren't something to mourn- they are just normal to these blokes. We are just such a sucky club right now.

I would rather the players playing for Casey stay home and focus on the game tomorrow. The players are required to attend, mostly functions and etc. Some would have had to stay for the after match ones.

I'm always concerned that we don't find fault with everything when things aren't going our way so just keep in mind that players are debriefed on the game during the week by the coaches who are otherwsie pre-occupied on game day so it's not as though they aren't learning anything.

In regard to post match nicities I agree, I'm sick of this as well. As part of the orginisation all players on and off filed should be emabarrased by what we are being forced to endure and should be working their hardest to turn it around or they're not fair dinkum and not welcome at the MFC.