The AFL's top five NRL targets

Posted

The top five NRL players most likely to follow the duo to our great code - My link

I think it will be interesting to see what percentage of their payment goes to off field performance, game promotion. Of course the AFL wouldn't expect them to be great so quickly if thats going to happen at all

The Daily Telegraph broke the news that Josh's dad, Dave, wouldn't mind seeing his son playing for the GWS franchise in 2012. -

"Growing up down here, Josh had heaps of exposure to AFL - he really likes the game" Dave said. "He kicks well, has good evasive skills and is great under the high ball - if AFL were prepared to offer him a good enough contract i reckon he'd be up for the challenge."

josh-dugan.jpg

jarryd-hayne.jpg

Edited by half back

i really dont know if i agree with getting all these nrl players

i think hunt and folau are enough

we have these kids with the real AFL talent and they hardly get a shot and get unnoticed with all these talks about getting nrl players

lets concentrate on the future stars and not nrl!

My tack would be to scour New Zealand & Fiji,,,, & of course Australia, to look for The Next Big 16Yr old NRL Thing. And offer good money to committ to an MFC cadet-ship.

We're not in the window, IMO, to get an $1,000.000 player.

Clubs are willing to spend 50k to take a gamble on a rookie from Ireland, but with salary caps as tight as they are, they're not going to spend crazy money on a gamble.

Falau and Hunt's recruitment really hasn't been that kind of gamble. They're there to grab the headlines and that's exactly what they've done -any on-field success they have is a bonus.

I really doubt we'll see anymore of this high profile code switching, unless these guys show some kind of unique ability absent in AFL players.

Clubs are willing to spend 50k to take a gamble on a rookie from Ireland, but with salary caps as tight as they are, they're not going to spend crazy money on a gamble.

Falau and Hunt's recruitment really hasn't been that kind of gamble. They're there to grab the headlines and that's exactly what they've done -any on-field success they have is a bonus.

I really doubt we'll see anymore of this high profile code switching, unless these guys show some kind of unique ability absent in AFL players.

Absolutely agree.

Having said that, the imagination can run wild at the thought of Slater in a dees jumper.... :wub:

• Author

What are the chances of a melbourne team gaining a NRL player. It seems more about promoting the new teams than anything else.

And even this is questionable.....

Sheedy is lying when he says that Folau is a Western Sydney boy. His family moved from here when he was a little'un and he has never played for a Sydney based NRL team.

His junior footy was played in Brisbane. His original professional club was of course the Storm and he left them to go home - to Brisbane. He plays for the Maroons in State of Origin and

has no connection left to this state whatsoever. Not overly important re talent but this isn't about talent because he has never kicked a Sherrin.

He is a capable athlete and may prove to be a good AFL player I don't know, but he is not a great choice as a marketing ploy, as he doesn't really have anything to do with the West.

If I had my choice Jarryd Hayne would be it. Apart from the fact he is IMO a better prospect (he has actually kicked a ball in an NRL game, and does it well and consistently), but he is also a

local, he grew up playing in Cabramatta and Minto, went to Leumeah Sports High, and now plays for Parramatta.

Much better PR bet, which they knew because GWS actually made a pitch to Hayne at the end of last year, but he knocked them back to re-sign with the Eels.

Sheedy is lying when he says that Folau is a Western Sydney boy. His family moved from here when he was a little'un and he has never played for a Sydney based NRL team.

His junior footy was played in Brisbane. His original professional club was of course the Storm and he left them to go home - to Brisbane. He plays for the Maroons in State of Origin and has no connection left to this state whatsoever.

Israel Folau has the majority of his family connections still there within GWS. Folau stated as much in his press conference.

• Author

Israel Folau has the majority of his family connections still there within GWS. Folau stated as much in his press conference.

I thought their would have to have been some family connection. The GWS need all the help they can get

His junior footy was played in Brisbane. His original professional club was of course the Storm and he left them to go home - to Brisbane. He plays for the Maroons in State of Origin and

has no connection left to this state whatsoever. Not overly important re talent but this isn't about talent because he has never kicked a Sherrin.

He is a capable athlete and may prove to be a good AFL player I don't know, but he is not a great choice as a marketing ploy, as he doesn't really have anything to do with the West.

If I had my choice Jarryd Hayne would be it. Apart from the fact he is IMO a better prospect (he has actually kicked a ball in an NRL game, and does it well and consistently), but he is also a

local, he grew up playing in Cabramatta and Minto, went to Leumeah Sports High, and now plays for Parramatta.

Much better PR bet, which they knew because GWS actually made a pitch to Hayne at the end of last year, but he knocked them back to re-sign with the Eels.

'QueenC', thats why Sheeds targeted him, well IMO anyway. He's bringing the Boy back home. Imagine if he "Pinched" a panthers player. They'd burn down the new facilities up there. But Sheeds has Taken a "Local Lad", & brought him back home, Rich, playing AFL. Shrewd, IMO.

I'd say good, for a player who hasn't made it, Yet. It would take a few years to develop them,,, if they had the elite physical abilities. So, if you could get them @ say, 18 - 20 yrs I think they're would be a show.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Josh_Dugan Yeah, he could be interesting, why not.

• Author

I'd say good, for a player who hasn't made it, Yet. It would take a few years to develop them,,, if they had the elite physical abilities. So, if you could get them @ say, 18 - 20 yrs I think they're would be a show.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Josh_Dugan Yeah, he could be interesting, why not.

I guess all the melbourne clubs espically will wait and see how the couple of NRL players develop in the game unless they want to take a punt early.

They would wait if they were paying big money for a star. I don't think that will happen.

What I imagine id that clubs will start searching through all codes for the next NicNat. He would be on a fairly basic sort of contract to start with & now I think is renegotiating that contract as he's shown some worth.

So, I reckon we'll be looking for kids that fit with our current program that we can look forward to developing along with our current crop of kids, 18 - 20 yr olds.