Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

UFC

Summer Blease

So did anyone go?

I was going to take my little cousin (as a smoke screen for wanting my stuff signed) but couldn't make it in time.

fraid not, had to mind the kids. my mate went and had a chat to the guys, said they were very cool. and if i was you i wouldn't worry about getting guys to sign stuff, this is u.f.c! man love is ok.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LH7oRb5Knjc&feature=player_embedded

Little kick off the wall from the WEC... brilliantly awesome!!!

What the f.... that is crazy, Tony Jaa type craziness.

Cro Cop tried that once but the octagon flipped over.

Knew you'd get a "kick" out of that... Seeing as it's a Sunday, more youtube- Great clip this one-

Jose Aldo, #1 Featherweight champion of the world, coming from the soon to be defunct WEC, he is now the inaugural UFC Featherweight champion, awaiting his UFC debut (currently recuperating from an injured neck)

Winner of the 2009 "Sherdog" fighter of the year,

World MMA awards 2010 Charles "Mask" Lewis fighter of the year; And here is why-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6lzYIzSAhfo

Knew you'd get a "kick" out of that... Seeing as it's a Sunday, more youtube- Great clip this one-

Jose Aldo, #1 Featherweight champion of the world, coming from the soon to be defunct WEC, he is now the inaugural UFC Featherweight champion, awaiting his UFC debut (currently recuperating from an injured neck)

Winner of the 2009 "Sherdog" fighter of the year,

World MMA awards 2010 Charles "Mask" Lewis fighter of the year; And here is why-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6lzYIzSAhfo

he's a gun. i think the "pound for pound" talk will start after his first u.f.c fight, if it hasn't already.

Surely has already. From what I've seen, his killer instinct is better than Anderson Silva's. The kid is an animal.

Can't wait to see him bring it to the big stage, will take it up another notch.

125 below...

Title fight. WOW with a capital HOLY FFFU...

Edgar dethroned my boy BJ, then beat him again, so I was never really a fan, just thought BJ was too bored at lightweight and too lazy to cut weight properly. But Franky just won me over big time, firstly because I don't like Grey Maynard, and secondly because my god, what heart that kid has! Never seen someone come back like that after being smashed so badly, if it was boxing it'd have been all over. Franky's boxing skills are sublime, I reckon he won the last 4 rounds, definitely 3 out of 4 - Maynard could not out wrestle him.

Sucked that it was a draw, but an awesome title fight.

Pettis gets next title shot, so sucks to be Grey Maynard who'll still be sulking in his next fight (Sotiropoulos?) and lose.

Leben got smashed, must still be christmas. Leben reckons he was sick, was still fun to watch him get belted.

Brandon Vera will surely get kicked out of the UFC? I was once a fan, but that was a weak effort.

Although I wouldn't even want to get into a verbal fight with Thiago Silva, he's a killer. Uninjured he adds even more excitement to the LHW division. I think Vera is the first bloke to have his nose smashed by a slap.

Nate Diaz lost, too bad he wasn't KO'd or choked or had limbs broken...

I love Gomi, so that fight sucked, Guida's movement was annoying as hell, but kudos to him for the win, you don't want to stand in front of the Fireball Kid.

Enjoyed seeing the Irish Hand Grenade get KTFO.

I was really impressed with Tevares, his combos were crisp, he took a hit, Baroni hits hard too, then he messed Baroni up. Very nice.

I'm loving the fact that there'll be feather and bantam weight fights now, means more good high energy fights. The Poirier v Grispi fight was excellent. Luckily for Grispi he didn't end up fighting Aldo...

125 below...

Title fight. WOW with a capital HOLY FFFU...

Edgar dethroned my boy BJ, then beat him again, so I was never really a fan, just thought BJ was too bored at lightweight and too lazy to cut weight properly. But Franky just won me over big time, firstly because I don't like Grey Maynard, and secondly because my god, what heart that kid has! Never seen someone come back like that after being smashed so badly, if it was boxing it'd have been all over. Franky's boxing skills are sublime, I reckon he won the last 4 rounds, definitely 3 out of 4 - Maynard could not out wrestle him.

Sucked that it was a draw, but an awesome title fight.

Pettis gets next title shot, so sucks to be Grey Maynard who'll still be sulking in his next fight (Sotiropoulos?) and lose.

Leben got smashed, must still be christmas. Leben reckons he was sick, was still fun to watch him get belted.

Brandon Vera will surely get kicked out of the UFC? I was once a fan, but that was a weak effort.

Although I wouldn't even want to get into a verbal fight with Thiago Silva, he's a killer. Uninjured he adds even more excitement to the LHW division. I think Vera is the first bloke to have his nose smashed by a slap.

Nate Diaz lost, too bad he wasn't KO'd or choked or had limbs broken...

I love Gomi, so that fight sucked, Guida's movement was annoying as hell, but kudos to him for the win, you don't want to stand in front of the Fireball Kid.

Enjoyed seeing the Irish Hand Grenade get KTFO.

I was really impressed with Tevares, his combos were crisp, he took a hit, Baroni hits hard too, then he messed Baroni up. Very nice.

I'm loving the fact that there'll be feather and bantam weight fights now, means more good high energy fights. The Poirier v Grispi fight was excellent. Luckily for Grispi he didn't end up fighting Aldo...

only just got up to speed with this, didn't get it live......

i think Frankie's comeback was unbelievable BUT i disagree that he won 4 rounds. he won the second no doubt, lost the third, won the fourth, and the fifth was real tight, could have gone either way. so imo the first Maynard won 10-8 (without a doubt), lost 2, won 3, lost 4 and we'll call 5 a tie, and therefore i think Maynard can feel pretty pi$$ed that he isn't wearing the belt. hats off to both of them for a great fight, and a draw wasn't the worst result.

i like Thiago Silva, and i was really pi$$ed at the was he fought Rashad Evans in his last fight, he had Evans rocked and then stood back and watched him recover. he is a beast but he needs to fight smarter. very impressive against Vera, but i still doubt his smarts.

a very good card overall.

Only just finished watching then. Wow, what an event- best event for a long time!!

I wouldn't have liked to score that fight but I tend to agree with the tie. Maynard definitely won the first 10-8, could even be argued 10-7.. Edgar took the second, third may have been a tie- give the edge to Edgar 4th and 5th, but my golly gosh it was a close call. Look at it this way- if Maynard didn't smash him in the first it would have been a decision to Edgar. Edgar with more takedowns and submission attempts all round. What a fight! Edgar tank saved him, must be frustrating to fight a guy who is always on the balls of his toes-

Which leads us to Guida... hahaha I have never seen movement like that. He didn't want to just stand there and trade with Gomi and I don't blame him- for a guy who usually defends with his chin he didn't want to trade with him- respects the power. Kudos to him for actually finishing the fight like he predicted.

Agree with Silva. What an animal- that guy is scary. I also used to like Vera but he can't fight off his back to save his face- last two fights, two visits to the surgeons- Jon Bones Jones cracked his orbital (Will never forget that one) now Silva literally [censored] slapped him into next century. His nose was a sight for sore eyes after that one- vicious break. I think he is done. I respect his standup but you need an all-round game to mix it with the big boys, and that he aint got. Who is Thiago's next opponent? Winner of Bones Jones and Bader? Either way it is going to be insane- (UFC 126 btw- Franklin/Griffen Jon Jones/Bader SILVA/BELFORD what a card!!!)

Agree- Crispi would have got owned by Aldo, Poirier very impressive standup, Crispi has some heart- not the best standup.

And Stan- wow... I think we have a serious contender here...

Can't wait for 126- brilliant card.... Bring on 127 in Sydney.. needing to see this [censored] live please!!

• 3 weeks later...

Anyone care to make any predictions? UFC 126 coming up, what a card, wish this was 127 in Sydney!

Silva V Belfort

Griffin V Franklin

Jones V Bader

I'm going for Silva because he is Silva, Franklin over Griffin due to experience and superior stand-up and Jones over Bader because I feel he is the most dynamic and explosive fighter going around. Will all be close matches though. Tough to call!

In other news; Couture is taking on Machida at UFC 129 (will lose because Machida is actually good, as apose to Couture's recent opponents)

UFC 130 sees the third rematch between Edgar and Maynard, Thiago Silva V Rampage Jackson (holly [censored]) Mir V Nelson and Alves V Story talk about stacked!!!

Brock Lesnar and Junior Dos Santos are kicking off at UFC 131- Apparently they are the next coaches on the next series of TUF!!! Which also means the next series of TUF is going to be the heavy weights again!! This sport just gets better! Carwin to fight at 131 also.

Anyone care to make any predictions? UFC 126 coming up, what a card, wish this was 127 in Sydney!

Silva V Belfort

Griffin V Franklin

Jones V Bader

I'm going for Silva because he is Silva, Franklin over Griffin due to experience and superior stand-up and Jones over Bader because I feel he is the most dynamic and explosive fighter going around. Will all be close matches though. Tough to call!

In other news; Couture is taking on Machida at UFC 129 (will lose because Machida is actually good, as apose to Couture's recent opponents)

UFC 130 sees the third rematch between Edgar and Maynard, Thiago Silva V Rampage Jackson (holly [censored]) Mir V Nelson and Alves V Story talk about stacked!!!

Brock Lesnar and Junior Dos Santos are kicking off at UFC 131- Apparently they are the next coaches on the next series of TUF!!! Which also means the next series of TUF is going to be the heavy weights again!! This sport just gets better! Carwin to fight at 131 also.

should be a cracker but unfortunately i'm out so i'll have to wait for the replay again and hold back from checking results. agree with 2 of your predictions, i've always liked belfort, his hands are unreal but i think Silva will beat him easily. Franklin and Griffen is a tough one, maybe Griffen just and i'm going out on a limb a bit to tip Bader. Can't wait.

Silva by arm bar.

Toss a coin..... ..Griffin by decision.

Bones Jones by T/KO... but I'll put some money on Bader just for the good odds.

Gaybe Reudiger is fighting on that card too LOL. Hope he loses by heart attack.

Fight for the troops discussion below.

Handsome Matt Wiman looked great, good energy, good dominating fight.

Matt Mitrione - I can't tell you how much I hated that guy on TUF, but I've taken a real liking to him in his UFC fights, will be interesting to see if he holds up against a better quality opponent. Damn Tim Hague is weird lookin'.

Hominick, wow, crisp! Roop ain't easy to fight for most people, but Hominick hardly missed a shot. Will be interesting to see if he can tag Jose Aldo, I doubt it. Gotta get through them leg kicks first...

Speaking of leg kicks... Pat Barry... wtf is going on with this guy? I'm a fan, but only just hanging on. Was he actually trying to BE Cro Cop last night? Style was exactly the same, but Cro Cop has killer instinct, as Pat himself found out 7 months ago. Those leg kicks were destroying Beltran, yes Beltran is tough, but Pat just didn't keep the leg kicks up, could've got at least an extra 20 in, actually just another 5 good ones would've finished him off. Instead he was going for the highlight knock out. Just fight man. I fear he'll be another Brandon Vera, when he could be anything.

How about that lightweight division? How are all these blokes going to get a title shot? It's that stacked at the moment. Melvin looks unbelievable, reckon he'd beat anyone at the moment, imagine he tagged Frankie? It'd be all over.

Sotiropoulos, Guillard, Miller, Pettis just to name a few, good fights coming up to decide who'll get shots, but gee some of them will be unlucky. Maynard is lucky he gets another shot.

Yves Edwards!! Where the hell has he been? Can't believe he's still fighting. And thank F... he beat that dirty hill billy.

Was a good card.

Yves Edwards!! Where the hell has he been? Can't believe he's still fighting. And thank F... he beat that dirty hill billy.

Was a good card.

Yves Edwards!!? is he still going? he used to be my favourite fighter, he never seemed to lose a fight then one day he disappeared. would love to see him back if he's still got it.

Only just watched the event, was a good show-

Pat Barry fought well I thought, but yes, definitely saw the Cro Cop envy and that kind of [censored] isn't going to fly with a more skilled opponent. Thought he only done just enough to get himself over the line and I don't think he is skillful enough to toy with his opponents. Great kicks though- take them out of his arsenal and he has nothing. Interested to see who he will be fighting next actually.

Winman did look good and they attributed that to his high altitude training which is interesting. He was relentless with his attack, I like Miller as a fighter but thought he made a big mistake round 1 where he tried to pull gaurd- too early, Winman [censored] him with a few elbows and heavy shots and he wasn't the same after that. He can take a hit though.

Hominick and Guillard looked brilliant. I thought Poirier recieved a title shot against Aldo for beating Grispi, Grispi was next in line for Aldo but seeing as Aldo was injured and Poirier beat Grispi down, shouldn't he be awarded a title shot? Either way this Featherweight division is going to be a beauty, I think Hominick is going to give Aldo a run for his money and they will line up at UFC 129 apparently (a shame I miss that by one event!)

Guillard is looking scary and unbeatable. Sucks to be a lightweight right now.

Surely G Sots deserves a title shot if he disposes of Siver.. do we think he will get it? It's taken Fitch forever to receive his.. I have a feeling the proficient strikers are considered more exciting then the ground specialists- hope this doesn't have a bearing on Sotiropolous's chances. He deserves it, and that isn't a bias call.

I think Sots deserves it too, but I think I'm a little biased, heh. The one problem is Siver is decent, but he's not a huge scalp, it's definitely not a #1 contender bout in the public view (should be Dan Miller). So there'll be arguments against Sots, unless he is spectacular in winning. Having said all that, Dana DOES rate Siver, so it may come down to Dana's view, or him "giving the fans what they want."

I want an Aussie world champion!

Yeah Yves Edwards is back, looked ok, not like his younger dominating years (looked like a mini me Anderson Silva back then), but he beat that guillotine wielding hillbilly dipshyte Cody McKenzie, and that is awesome.

I have a feeling the proficient strikers are considered more exciting then the ground specialists-

i really think this is changing in the sport particularly when you have fighters who are as good as George is at submissions. when i first started watching ufc i couldn't stand the ground game at all, and it probably had a fair bit to do with the fighters not having much of a ground game. i now enjoy a quality submission as much as a k.o., having said that i'm a tad excited about condit vs lytle and it ain't for their ground games!

didn't see it, i have a hard time watching strikeforce.

whilst we're on the topic of ufc, what did you think of Tool?

Like you said in the other thread, setlist wasn't great. Setlist wasn't great but the show was. Sound was insane, the end of Third Eye was just crazy.

I loved it, but my 2 complaints are that they played Intention - why? And Maynard not singing the climax of Vicarious, although I get that it's much better for us to sing it than him.

Apart from that I had a ball, hadn't seen Third Eye the three times I saw them, so I can now tick that off the list. Just need Pushit next time....

Playing Orion during Lateralus was awesome, then leading into the drum-off, that was the highlight. Oh and You Lied, can't believe they played that!

I hear you about strikeforce, but the last couple have been pretty good.

I know they make mismatched fights a lot, but there's been some killer KO's and subs lately, and some excellent fights. They do have some talent over there now.

That Nick Diaz a-hole is an animal, man can he fight, but my god is he easy to hate.

Also they've got a heavyweight tournament coming up on the 12th (I think) which is a must watch for any mma fan.

Fedor, Overeem, Arlofski, Werdum to name a few. I'll go for Andre Arlofski, money is on Overeem.

Like you said in the other thread, setlist wasn't great. Setlist wasn't great but the show was. Sound was insane, the end of Third Eye was just crazy.

I loved it, but my 2 complaints are that they played Intention - why? And Maynard not singing the climax of Vicarious, although I get that it's much better for us to sing it than him.

Apart from that I had a ball, hadn't seen Third Eye the three times I saw them, so I can now tick that off the list. Just need Pushit next time....

Playing Orion during Lateralus was awesome, then leading into the drum-off, that was the highlight. Oh and You Lied, can't believe they played that!

I was wondering If Maynard had voice problems in regards to the climax to vicarious......he just had to sing that! and i also wonder if that affected the set so he didn't have to scream too many times. If that was the case it was a pity because i really, really wanted to hear The Grudge amongst others.

On strikeforce; there is something about it......commentators suck, and even when they have good fights eg. Shields Vs Henderson they look a different standard to ufc. maybe i should tune in with the volume down next time.

I was wondering If Maynard had voice problems in regards to the climax to vicarious......he just had to sing that! and i also wonder if that affected the set so he didn't have to scream too many times. If that was the case it was a pity because i really, really wanted to hear The Grudge amongst others.

On strikeforce; there is something about it......commentators suck, and even when they have good fights eg. Shields Vs Henderson they look a different standard to ufc. maybe i should tune in with the volume down next time.

I've read Maynard saying he can't hit the notes he used to be able to hit. Also he tries to maintain his voice, this is a big tour with a lot of shows, he won't go on if his voice sucks, so he makes some compromises. I know he's an arty [censored] to some people, but he has a point. It's not like breaking a string or a drumstick if his voice goes.

What about Danny's drumming? He's 50 ffs! You won't see better drumming than that.

Strikeforce commentating is SO annoying. The whole organisation has a below par feel about it. But I simply fast forward straight to the fights and don't worry about the rest. I've only watched the last 3 events, forced myself to get into it because I'm an mma fan and they have some good fighters over there that I need to watch. Henderson, Fedor, Overeem, Mayhem, Jacare Souza, Semtex Daley...

But yeah, turn the volume down for sure.

I've read Maynard saying he can't hit the notes he used to be able to hit. Also he tries to maintain his voice, this is a big tour with a lot of shows, he won't go on if his voice sucks, so he makes some compromises. I know he's an arty [censored] to some people, but he has a point. It's not like breaking a string or a drumstick if his voice goes.

What about Danny's drumming? He's 50 ffs! You won't see better drumming than that.

That would make alot of sense and i can understand him looking after the voice. you always hope you get one of those gigs where they totally go off, but reality is it's way less likely than likey. they might call him an arty [censored], and he's difinately moody, but he is also a genius imo.

drumming was sensational for anyone let alone a 50 yo.

we'll have some ufc to talk about in a few days and then the countdown to 127......pumped.