Posted

Have a close look at the article where he describes who are the 4 "powerhouses" in the competition. Dons, Pies, Blues and us.

I don't know if I should be honoured or embarassed that this guy puts us in such lofty company. Probably embarassed, since he's the only one.

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,2...561-661,00.html

Posted
Have a close look at the article where he describes who are the 4 "powerhouses" in the competition. Dons, Pies, Blues and us.

I don't know if I should be honoured or embarassed that this guy puts us in such lofty company. Probably embarassed, since he's the only one.

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,2...561-661,00.html

Dappa you seem to have a MAJOR image problem, and unfortunately I don't think you are alone.

I find it extremely annoying that your perception of OUR club is less than it SHOULD be. :angry:

Why shouldn't we be considered a powerhouse of the competition?

It seems to me that the more Melbourne supporters look up to clubs like Collingwood, Essendon and Carlton, and place them on a pedistel, the further we are to attaining that status within our own ranks, let alone the broader football community.

I believe we are every bit as worthy of that status, afterall WE ARE THE MELBOURNE FOOTBALL CLUB.

It's probably a subconscious thing but I noticed that when relaying Joffa's statement you mentioned the other three clubs before US when we were the FIRST team that came from Joffa's lips.

"The powerhouses of the competition are Melbourne, Essendon, Collingwood and Carlton – and if one of those sides were to disappear, I think the AFL would be a very very big loser.

It's time that you and other Melbourne people with the same inferiority complex did your own pre-season and TRAINED yourself to believe we are every bit at worthy. BECAUSE WE ARE!!

Go Dees - MFC - My Football Club

Posted

Toad Well Said

No, F'n Well Said.

The Demons may not be winning Premierships, but now three years in a row, up there and getting better, better list, better chances, better finances and stability. If we can maintain that for a ten year period, we will be more than a powerhouse of Victorian clubs, we will be of the AFL

What this space, 2007 will be another great year and step towards the Holy Grail.

Dappa, do you have your membership yet?

Posted

Powerhouse may be in the sense that those four teams have won the most flags.

While Richmond may have a bigger fan base than us, we are in the top four in terms of the most successful on-field clubs.

Just a pity it's been a while between drinks!

Posted

What's with all the patronising?

I have a feeling this thread was much more about taking the [censored] out of Joffa, than ganging up on fellow supporters.

Besides, being a powerhouse club is not just about how many premierships you've won. It's about money, power, supporter base etc...

We barely break the 25,000 members barrier, we don't have a training ground or designated headquarters, we haven't got big sponsorship deals and we also haven't won a flag since 1964. It's very reasonable, even for Melbourne supporters, not to see our club as a powerhouse.

Posted
Isn't the 4 powerhouses of the AFL Collingwood, Essendon, Adelaide and West Coast?

I think he means the 4 powerhouses are of victorian clubs

Posted

First of all, Jaded, as usual, has hit the nail on the head. This post was intended in an ironic sense, but also, if you're that way inclined, as a bit of fun prophecy. In other words, as far as football opinion goes, first come the fans, then come the media. But since you replied Toad...

Our supposedly foremost football critic in Caroline Wilson (along with some others), has said time and time again that the financial powerhouses of Victorian football are the Pies, Blues, Dons and Tigers. Believe me, it pisses me off no end but I can't blame her for thinking this, at least in 3 cases. If you think we're anywhere near being as strong as Collingwood or Essendon, then you need to go to the footy more. The Tigers have done absolutely nothing to keep their fans happy in the last two-and-a-half decades, and yet are still believed to be a strong club by many, and are NOT on the CBF. As far as the Blues go, you'd suggest they're gone from the top 4, but since they're in such bad shape there is certainly no reason to elevate someone into the top 4 just for the sake of it. Financially and success wise, there are really only a top 2. The Dees do a great job with the resources we have, but it's a statement of fact when I say we are weaker than the Dons and Pies. If you don't agree, then you haven't been following our club as closely as you may think. Ask Neale, he'd say the same thing.

Some points you raise.

Dappa you seem to have a MAJOR image problem, I find it extremely annoying that your perception of OUR club is less than it SHOULD be. :angry:

I think I'll decide what MY perception of "OUR" club will be. Ask around, you'll find that I'm not alone. Don't mistake pessimism on my account for a lack of belief in MFC. I reckon, from what little I know about the inner sanctum, that we're on the right track. But we have a VERY long way to go. It's easy to be all high and mighty when your club is building to something while already making and winning finals 3 years in a row. Let's say we win 3 in the next 10 years, what then? Look at the Blues. Look how quickly they went backwards. What I want to see is financial security so that I can see the MELBOURNE football club (in red and blue) running around when my kids are 50.

Why shouldn't we be considered a powerhouse of the competition?

Because we're not! We have one of the worst records of any club in the last 40 years!!! We MAY be considered finals material, but we're bottom half of the eight. We're behind WC and Sydney right now on the field, and probably behind Adelaide and Freo depending on your point of view. I'm not saying we can't get to the top 4, or even 2, but 2007 hasn't started yet, and even if we win the first 11 rounds, we could very easily (given our draw) go badly after that. Off field, we have the smallest amount of assets out of any club in the AFL by a long way.

It's probably a subconscious thing but I noticed that when relaying Joffa's statement you mentioned the other three clubs before US when we were the FIRST team that came from Joffa's lips.

Yes, it's subconscious. I mentioned us last for a little bit of dramatic effect. It's not a surprise to hear a footy traditionalist reel off the other three clubs. It is to hear our name, however.

It's time that you and other Melbourne people with the same inferiority complex did your own pre-season and TRAINED yourself to believe we are every bit at worthy. BECAUSE WE ARE!!

Oh, it's time is it? DO NOT make the mistake of telling me how to follow my club, sunshine. YOU made the mistake of reading too much into a post that was intended to make you smile. I have NO inferiority complex when it comes to the demons, and I realise we have as rich a history as anyone. There was a time when there was no "top 4." There was only a "Top 1." MFC was, in living memory, considered the most powerful football club this country had ever seen. And this wasn't the MFC supporters that thought this. EVERYONE believed it. Times have changed Toad. If we win 5 flags in six years again, if we're feared by other clubs, If we begin to dominate footy at the MCG AND the Dome for MANY years, not just one, then maybe people will start talking about us in a better light. You're kidding yourself if you think we're feared as a club. We're on the way, yes, with Brock, Bate, Jones, Bartram and others, but we're not there yet. We're hardly in the middle of a dynasty like the Lions of 2001-03, WC and Swans of 2005-06, Roos of the 90s. We could be at the beginning of one, sure, but until I see some food on my plate, I'll believe what I see, and I've seen only the embryonic stages of sustained success.

Go Dees - MFC - My Football Club

No mate. It's not your football club actually. Look, I can't say I don't admire your love for MFC. But I think you'll find, if you ask those who know me here and in real life, that I take MFC very seriously too. You'll also find that I haven't told you to calm down and take a serious look at where the club is, with the rose-tinted glasses off, have I? Like I said, you're free to follow the club in whatever way you see fit, and I'll follow it in mine. For what it's worth, I reckon there have been a few hiccups along the way in our history that have come about because of the naivity of MFC followers and members. If we really were as strong as you say we are, why aren't we making GFs? Why haven't we won one in 40 years? Why did we miss finals for decades? If you'd just asked, I would have told you that I reckon there's no reason why we CAN'T be strong again, but we have to find a number of ways that we CAN be. And for what it's worth, I reckon the clubs need your breed of supporter as much as it needs mine. However, don't mistake my tone for lack of passion. I moved down from Sydney this year PURELY to be here for 2007.

What's that supposed to mean? Am I less of a member if I haven't put in my $200 yet? You give me a good reason why I should tell you whether or not I've purchased it yet and I'll tell you.

Posted

Dappa it's good to see your passionate.

But you also missed the point of my post.

My claims are NOT made looking through rose coloured glasses.

I just wasn't taking a view of the sum of relatively recent on or off field sucesses and failures.

FWIW

All clubs are going to have their ups and downs both on and off the field and their membership is going to build and wane over time. But what seems to remain regardless is the esteem the club is held in, or the stigma attached. This can be very hard to shake if it is not desirable, and even harder to develop when it is deserved.

I believe we deserve the the tag of powerhouse, even if it doesn't fit that comfortably at the moment.

I did get a smile when I read your post becasue a bona fidi, die-hard, one eyed, Collingwood zealot sees our club as a powerhouse. It was just dissapointing that you don't.

It is what people THINK about our club, the PERCEPTION of what our club is and what it stands for that I was trying to suggest some people need to tune up and sprook a bit more. :rolleyes:

Posted

Like I said. There is so far one person (outside of MFC) who claims we're a powerhouse, and if you ask me the word of a toothless filth fan means little if anything at all. This thread was intended only really as a joke. Simply because Joffa makes me laugh, mostly because of how ridiculous he and his celebrity are.

I'm certain that what people "think" about us, and what their "perception" is will change when we see some REAL change for the better. Change being winning a flag, or at least threatening to. But I see what you're saying. If you take a long hard look (a very long hard look), you'll see that many of the most Jaded demonlanders actually do more to spruik the club on here than your good self. Those of us who come on here claiming we're the next big thing will only end up with egg on their faces IF we come up short. Now I, as much as the next man, have more faith in the current list than I've had in my life with the possible exception of one period of time. But the sad fact is the club's had a number of good players come and go and done little about it. Are we changing our soft image? Yes. Are we winning more games? Yes. Are we winning finals? Yes. Are we building? Yes. Are we there yet? No. Will we get there? and this is the important one... maybe. It's the best I can do Toad. Call me a fence-sitter, but I reckon there are a number of current sides out there who are MUCH stronger than us in 2007. Unless we beat all comers and win the premiership while we have the chance I'm afraid your "powerhouse" feelings are all for nought. By gee I hope you're right though.

Posted

i like Joffa, people like him are good for the game. wish the demons had more supporters half as passionate as Joffa.

As for the powerhouse comment, a powerhouse team is, in my opinion, a team that does atleast one of the following on a consistent basis:

1) win a premiership

2) average over 30,000 members each season

3) Fills stadiums