BLOODY FOXTEL (again)

Posted

Of course they showed the same game live (at least in Sydney) as Chanel Ten - the Swans dreary encounter in the wet.

So I pull down the cone of silence until 8pm for the Melb game.

Would you believe it, at 3 quarter time some [censored] Head with an inane grin from Foxnews comes on in the break and announces Melbourne were big winners today...... talk about annoying!! I have written to Foxsports, but expect to be completely ignored. After all I am just a paying customer.

Channel 7 was showing it in Melbourne and it had 3 minute ad breaks instead of the one ad <_<

Channel 7's Sunday footy coverage is as bad as I've ever seen. Delayed to 3pm (for no good reason) then has ad breaks in the first quarter of 5-6 ads. They apparently realised they had stuffed up and wouldn't finish the game by 6pm so there were almost no ads in the last quarter and a half. Then, to add to their incompetence, nothing after the match - no coach press conference, no analysis and not even the song.

I thought they had improved their Friday night coverage, but the Sunday telecasts are abysmal.

FitZ - I noticed the long ad breaks for seven as well as usually when watching the recording I fast forward them for a 12 second count but it was more like 25 seconds. However they didn't do it after every goal so maybe it evens out during the match.

Kryton I don't know how you can watch a replay of the match and not know the results first- that would kill me to watch knowing I could just check and see first and know whether to relax and enjoy and avoid going through hell for 2 hours.

I've got more of a beef with seven than foxtel. Seven takes foxtel's feed up here and play it at the same time as foxtel are showing "their" game. Seven's game was the dees game and that should have been broadcast if they honored the media agreement.

Seven have severely over committed themselves on Sundays this year (V8 Supercars, Footy) and are treating the afl viewing public like second class citizens. I'm sure there would be a huge uproar if the V8 supercars were shown on delay, or instead of showing the supercars, that showed the racing that was already on Foxtel because it it didn't rate well and the foxtel race would rate better.

This must have been the forth sunday match this year that hasn't been shown because of a Sydney or Brisbane 1pm game and seven using the foxtel stream to bump the "designated" dees game (admittedly we have had a few sunday games this year). They don't even bother with their own commentators or graphics. At least I can watch the game at 8pm on Foxtel

this is getting ridiculous up here in qld. In the first 6 or 7 rounds, I was only able to view 2 and a half live melbourne games on free to air or foxtel due to doubling up of lions games. There was an article in the courier mail on saturday detailing that the problem has been solved and they were opening up 518(main event) when Lions games are on both free to air and fox, but they forgot to realise that up here, they prioritise swans games as well, and i had to wait til 8 again to watch a replay of a game i knew the result, when i also wanted to watch the soccer. Absolutely f*** :angry: ed

The Melbourne Carlton game was played here in sydney on Channel 7 at midnight :angry:

I recorded part of the game, then i realized afterwards i only had a little bit left. That was annoying, but i got to see some of the game

I think the problem we got here in NSW, QLD, and ACT is that we live in another code's territory

Channel 7 is an absolute disgrace. They’ve been doing the same thing all year with their Sunday arvo game. It just baffles me how you can’t show an entire match of footy in 3 hours and leave 5 minutes at the end for an interview and the players singing the song. That’s around 60 minutes of ads.

Friday night was pathetic too. TD’s a sell out so what possible reason do they have to show the game on delay? NONE! Game doesn’t end up starting till 9pm and finishes after 11pm.

I think the problem we got here in NSW, QLD, and ACT is that we live in another code's territory

But as I understand it one of the biggest reasons Channel 7 (and Channel 10 as a partnership) actually won the broadcast rights over Channel 9 is that it is a hell of a lot more capable of showing the games free-to-air into the northern states, thus increasing the promotion of AFL into its weaker markets.

This is of course because Channel 7 is not committed to another code of football, which the AFL is in direct competition with.

But in truth nothing has changed, it may even be worse given the number of individual games being broadcast on two different networks at the same time. And Channel 10 is not innocent of that particular crime either with them doing the same thing when they want a Swans game to go into Sydney.

Nine (& Ten) had a good system in the previous broadcast rights period in that they would telecast the home team into the home state on free-to-air (Channel 10 still commit to live'ish Swans games into Sydney when played on Saturday nights). But this would happen even if Foxtel had the rights to that particular game.

They obviously sat down and negotiated the terms and conditions like civil human beings not egocentric (which is quite contradictory given I am talking about Nine) maniacs. There was never the same game broadcast on both networks in previous years. But we still put up with games being shown at midnight weekly.

The improvement is that Foxtel now has the live rights to the Friday night game (here), and does four games a weekend, but the free-to-air coverage is criminal.

Of course a lot of this cross game broadcast issues stems directly from the fact that Channels 7 and 10 had their head up their arses during the whole media rights negotiation with Foxtel, who they absolutely needed to help pay the bills, and the unfortunate reality is that we are the ones who are paying the price.

I agree..what a disgrace... Channel 10 and foxtel both showing the Swans game live in Sydney and the Demons-Blues game ignored.

Similiar in WA.

Poor old Demons fans had to sit through Sydney versus Freo on both 7 and Foxtel.

I thought it was WA only due to the "parochial" nature of the local TV coverage.

Of course they showed the same game live (at least in Sydney) as Chanel Ten - the Swans dreary encounter in the wet.

So I pull down the cone of silence until 8pm for the Melb game.

Would you believe it, at 3 quarter time some [censored] Head with an inane grin from Foxnews comes on in the break and announces Melbourne were big winners today...... talk about annoying!! I have written to Foxsports, but expect to be completely ignored. After all I am just a paying customer.

yeah i agree

This has been happening all year........ Sunday game same on 7 as on Fox, its a bloody joke..

I ended up just streaming the game with MMM cause i hate not knowing whats going on, itried to watch the replay but it clashed with the soccer..

Cant understand how the Afl allows the same game to be shown on Fox aswell as 7..

Maybe we should write a combined letter to the Afl voicing our concerns, especially considering that the dees get heaps of sunday arvo games year after year..

• Author
This has been happening all year........ Sunday game same on 7 as on Fox, its a bloody joke..

I ended up just streaming the game with MMM cause i hate not knowing whats going on, itried to watch the replay but it clashed with the soccer..

Cant understand how the Afl allows the same game to be shown on Fox aswell as 7..

Maybe we should write a combined letter to the Afl voicing our concerns, especially considering that the dees get heaps of sunday arvo games year after year..

I will be writing to the AFL - for what it's worth. Also correction to my original post it was Ch 7 not 10.

To keep the cone of silence on I keep myself occupied! Funny enough I am more [censored] about the idiot sports news giving the ending away than the double up, but only marginally!!