View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Draw!!

What a great night of footy, two ripper games. A draw and a match decided by one point.

Wish there were more close games in footy (well except when the Dees are playing).

swans fans went feral - mcphee speared a pass to mcveigh who goaled late in the piece, but mcphee was over the boundary line when he kicked it. Ump out of position (suprise suprise) to see though and the goal was counted. hee hee...

Also the swans fans went feral after the siren-- booing the song of the bumbers

Did any one go to the melb v geelong last year, i did, coz the cats coulve won it coz they kicked a point half a second after the siren, but yet melbourne shouldv won because we were 7 goals up

I was there - but was there not a goal that we should have been allowed? Or might have been a mark to Jamar on the line, but they paid it a point. Can't quite remember as i was tanked in the outter and delerious from jumping around like a lunatic.

yeah it was the mark that wasn't allowed to jamar... and i put my life savings on it he would have kicked...

robbery! thank god we don't have to play there this year. Although I do quite like the local footy feel of KP.

i know first game i go to at skilled we should have won grrrrrrrrrr......

terrible place for seating ect... i had to stand all bloody day they don't have enough seats for us alll....

I was at the game and there were a real sting to the match......

And the crowd was not impressed (and rightly so) with a lot of the controversial or just plain wrong umpiring decisions.

Roos warns crowds will turn off game

'Aussie Rules' turning Gaelic, says Roos

Roos didn't dispute that the Bombers were deserving winners after they emerged victorious in a nail-biting 11.8 (74) to 11.7 (73) triumph.

But the style of football Roos is certain rule makers would prefer to see is clearly not to his liking......

The umpires were helped from the ground by a significant security presence as hails of boos rained down from all around after a game littered with controversial moments.....

Probably not on the whole DD, but the new rules are frustrating a lot of long term fans and are certainly not helping in growing the game, especially up here which is where the AFL is trying to sqeeze out two ingrained sports, which for better or worse right now are perceived as a hell of a lot "tougher".

So maybe they will turn away, but I didn't certainly like some of the insanely soft free kicks I saw last night.

Seriously, you can bump into people on the train with more force than some of the free kicks awarded last night.

And from the Sydney press.....

Swans lose by a point

Roos resisted commenting specifically on the umpiring out of fear of the AFL's zero tolerance policy on criticising the officiating, however, he was confident that if he was going to give the umps a serve the angry Swans fans would have chipped in to cover the fine.

"I reckon I could've collected $10,000 from the crowd,'' Roos said.

Roos said he had never seen an SCG crowd turn that nasty as they booed and jeered the umpires and Matthew Lloyd when he collected the Marn Grook trophy after the game

Probably not on the whole DD, but the new rules are frustrating a lot of long term fans and are certainly not helping in growing the game, especially up here which is where the AFL is trying to sqeeze out two ingrained sports, which for better or worse right now are perceived as a hell of a lot "tougher".

So maybe they will turn away, but I didn't certainly like some of the insanely soft free kicks I saw last night.

Seriously, you can bump into people on the train with more force than some of the free kicks awarded last night.

And from the Sydney press.....

Swans lose by a point

Roos resisted commenting specifically on the umpiring out of fear of the AFL's zero tolerance policy on criticising the officiating, however, he was confident that if he was going to give the umps a serve the angry Swans fans would have chipped in to cover the fine.

"I reckon I could've collected $10,000 from the crowd,'' Roos said.

Roos said he had never seen an SCG crowd turn that nasty as they booed and jeered the umpires and Matthew Lloyd when he collected the Marn Grook trophy after the game

With regards to the McPhee decision - That kind of thing does happen a bit, unfortunate it ended in a goal, but the swans wouldn't be so [censored] if they'd been on the other end of it.

The thing that sucks for them is the Buchanan goal that shaved the top of the padding on the post - why is there padding 12mt high? If the padding wasn't there it would have certianly been a goal.

Ah well, suck it up swans.

Doesn't make Roos' comments about the state of the game and where we are heading with it wrong though.

when sydney lose i smile. when sydney lose in controversial circumstances I giggle hysterically and get light headed. I hate the team the scg and the crowds are the worst in the comp. Barry hall is a thug who gets away with far too much pushing, great to see the umps onto him last night. sucked in sydney the afl look after you too much